Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eastway Middle 1

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
After being in a wonderful school my daughter had to move to this school, which I am very disappointed that my own daughter listen to some teachers who have a very bad way to talk to several students being this a very bad example for students and leaves teachers in a very bad reputation.Even the school environment is very bad.

Eastway Middle 1

Posted August 20, 2011
- a parent
Academically, the school ranks in the bottom ten percentile of all North Carolina middle schools. I enrolled my child there and she was a victim of much bullying. At the end of the school year she was pushed and broke her leg so I have taken her out and placed her in a new school for the upcoming school year. When I sought to address that my child was being bullied, the principal was very rude to me. I was completely appalled by the lack of professionalism. My daughter was miserable the entire time that she attended the school.There were little if any incentives to engage the students in learning and the principal constantly treated my daughter and other children of the school as if they were all criminals. I would not recommend Eastway Middle school to anyone.


Eastway Middle 1

Posted August 01, 2011
- a teacher
The school is horrible. The principal Anne Brinkley tries to bully and intimidate students into learning. When they didn't respond in 2010-2011, she took 67 of them to the cafeteria and had them sit for just a week with no instructional activities at all. That of course didn't work so she started pulling students from electives. Later she even started taking them to the School Resource Officer and threatening to press charges against them. She had close to 100 students lined up outside his office where they were guarded. What's worst is that Brinkley blames everything on the teachers for not being able to keep the students engaged in learning. She is known to threaten the jobs of the teachers right in front of students. Brinkley went as far as to threaten to write teachers up for writing referrals because in her mind the referrals were a sign of the teachers inability to engage the students in learning. Brinkley has turned working at Eastway into an absolute nightmare that can not end soon enough.

Eastway Middle 5

Posted May 28, 2011
- a community member
i am an rising 6th grader at eastway middle and i believe that eastway is the best!!!!!! i can start by saying that the teachers and staff or not just encouraging but inspiring at that .second if you give it a chance you would see that and the help you work on your self esteem so all the rude and hurtful things yall say upon our school are wrong we will rise above and beyond yall sterotypes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! EASTWAY! YOU KNOW!

Eastway Middle 1

Posted December 10, 2010
- a teacher
If you are able, move to a different school. The administration does not care about the well-being of the students. I am a former teacher there.


Eastway Middle 0
no rating

Posted December 06, 2007
- a parent
I would rate them three stars out of ten. Why? Because of the constant changing of teachers and faculity every year just about is not a good thing. Enough teachers are not keeping the childrens interest and making it fun at all in their study curriculum. To much on the dress code of uniforms verse the teaching.

Eastway Middle 1

Posted November 06, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Eastway Middle 5

Posted June 08, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Eastway Middle 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2004
- a parent
My son attended Eastway this year and did exceptionally well. I transferred him from one of the top schools in the district because he was having a difficult time. He is a child with disabilities and his IEP was never followed. He had a couple of good teachers and a great Assistant Principal at the other school but he was continuing to fail and stayed in trouble. At Eastway his grades have gone from D's & F's to A's, B's and some C's. But most importantly, he feels cared about. The teaching staff went beyond to make sure his needs were met. The EC staff made it mandatory for his IEP to be followed, and the Principal and the Administrative Team worked with his father and I through any problems he was having with discipline. Hats off to Eastway for a job well done!

Eastway Middle 5

Posted June 09, 2004
- a parent
The parent that previously reviewed Eastway Middle School, must be speaking of an entirely different school. My son is a student at Eastway and has been for 2 years. I took him from another middle school(James Martin Middle)because of his performance. He was failing and his self-esteem was decreasing. He came to Eastway with D's and F's and within a couple of weeks, he was making A's and B's. The teachers were so supportive and kind and help him to improve his self-esteem by motivating him and encouraging him to be all he can be. Since being at Eastway he has gone from 1's and 2's on his EOG's to 3's and 4's. He is so much more confident in his ability because of the teachers ability to have him strive to be his best. The Principal as well as the staff has always been wonderful and encouraging.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eastway Middle
1501 Norland Road, Charlotte, NC  28205
(980) 343-6410
Last modified Eastway Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Eastway Middle Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top