Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


44 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Independence High 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
Great school! My oldest son graduated in 2005 and my youngest son will graduate in 2015. I have always been greatly satisfied with teachers and advanced placement classes. My oldest son was really prepared when he went off to college.

Independence High 5

Posted July 24, 2014
- a teacher
Independence is a great comprehensive high school that meets or exceeds growth each year. The principal and staff have a clear vision and work hard to meet the needs of each student.


Independence High 5

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
My son attended Butler for 2 years and then was re-assigned to Independence. What a blessing. It is an awesome school with well rounded programs and academic offerings. My daughter currently is a senior and we have had a great 3 years at Indy both in academics and athletics. We love Independence and will miss it next year when she moves to the university of her choice.

Independence High 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
Indy is a great school with great teachers! We have been so happy at the school.

Independence High 5

Posted July 23, 2014
- a parent
We love Indy and believe that the small town feel of our community reaches into our school. Our son had a successful freshman year and is looking forward to sophomore year.


Independence High 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
Independence High School is a work in progress. The Principle is very capable and has made significant strides in improving the school from top to bottom. I expect to see the GreatSchools Rating rising steadily.

Independence High 2

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
I currently attend this school and it is horrible. They have told us the school is not only infested with bugs, but also MICE. Many teachers don't care about if the students understand the information being taught. The administration has always been rude to me personally. The environment does not feel safe because there are so many rough kids. Overall independence is NOT a good school.

Independence High 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from The Big I way back in 1970. It is a wonderful school and always has been. Times change and students in Charlotte-Meck sometimes have to travel a long way to school. This is a very diverse student body. There are a lot of teachers there who graduated from Independence and that should speak volumes As times change everyone has to adjust. Overcrowding occurs and new schools are built. Sometimes that splits up friends, but Independence has always seemed to come out at or near the top. The football team is coming back. They were undefeathed for many years (7 to be exact) and both of my children went there. I am glad to say we are alumnus of The Big I.


Independence High 1

Posted June 15, 2010
- a student
this is a horrible school i went there and I'm happy that I'm leaving there and getting transfered. every time you call the school they will always transfer you to a voice mail as if the people in the front office don't know a thing. like they can't even answer the simplest questions. also when you leave a message you hardly ever get a call back. independence has brought too many many bad things to me and it was only my first year there.

Independence High 5

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
This School Is A Great School The Principle Is great. The teachers are great and the Safety of this Is school I great to I recommend It for parents who wanna enroll there kids In a high school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Independence High
1967 Patriot Drive, Charlotte, NC  28227
(980) 343-6900
Last modified Independence High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Independence High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews.