Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 69 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Independence High
Grateful to: Parent

Posted August 21, 2016
- a community member
Principle LeGrand. He is new to Independence but I feel that there is accountability and the overall feeling that he wants to make our school great.

Independence High
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 21, 2016
- a community member
My children have had awesome Teachers who have assisted with tutoring, college prep and overall encouraged my children to be there best.


Independence High
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted August 21, 2016
- a community member
Overall this is true, there are a few administrators that can use additional training. I have heard of a few cases where students seem to be targeted but I have not experienced that with either of my children. The key at Independence is to be involved.

Independence High 4

Posted August 21, 2016
- a community member
The Teachers make Independence a great place to have your child. The Teachers email, support the athletic program and keep up with the progress of your child. Teachers offer tutoring after school and make recommendations for the following grade.

Independence High 5

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
I have lived in the Mint Hill Community for 15 years, my son attended Independence High School and was an honor student and athlete. Most recently he graduated with excellent academic achievement and is now attending UNCC. The parental and community involvement is fabulous, the teachers and staff are wonderful and the academic achievement ranks up at the top.


Independence High 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
My husband and I love Independence High School! My daughter was in honors classes and her counselors at Independence helped direct her path and now she is in 11th grade taking college classes along with CMS classes. We really appreciate all of the hard work of the teachers and staff it really makes a difference.

Independence High
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
The teachers hold the students to a high standard and expect the best from them at all times.

Independence High 1

Posted July 30, 2015
- a community member
I teach at the school and it's dangerous. The principal has little control over discipline. We had four teachers physically assaulted last year. One student was attacked by another with a broken beer bottle. The faculty doesn't feel safe and the students shouldn't either!


Independence High 4

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
I really think the school has been great for our children! A few areas to work on possibly being required to be a CMS staff member to be involved with the sports team as a coach or assistant. I have witnessed some questionable behaviors out of an assistant who sells sports equipment out of the truck of his car at a cheap price. We walked away while other kids purchased athletic wear from an assistant (non-employee) of a winter sports team. This was in all new packages as if it has been taken from somewhere else. Don't think administration would have approved had they known. This seemed to be authentic wear from a professional sports team. Not sure it's paints a good image for the school or its Coach.

Independence High 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
Great school, fantastic Principle and engaged parents are making Independence an excellent High School in Mint Hill.

Nearby schools

Independence High
1967 Patriot Dr, Charlotte, NC  28227
(980) 343-6900
Last modified Independence High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top