Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 35 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


Independence High 5

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
Independence High School is a work in progress. The Principle is very capable and has made significant strides in improving the school from top to bottom. I expect to see the GreatSchools Rating rising steadily.

Independence High 2

Posted August 26, 2013
- a community member
I currently attend this school and it is horrible. They have told us the school is not only infested with bugs, but also MICE. Many teachers don't care about if the students understand the information being taught. The administration has always been rude to me personally. The environment does not feel safe because there are so many rough kids. Overall independence is NOT a good school.


Independence High 5

Posted July 17, 2011
- a community member
I graduated from The Big I way back in 1970. It is a wonderful school and always has been. Times change and students in Charlotte-Meck sometimes have to travel a long way to school. This is a very diverse student body. There are a lot of teachers there who graduated from Independence and that should speak volumes As times change everyone has to adjust. Overcrowding occurs and new schools are built. Sometimes that splits up friends, but Independence has always seemed to come out at or near the top. The football team is coming back. They were undefeathed for many years (7 to be exact) and both of my children went there. I am glad to say we are alumnus of The Big I.

Independence High 1

Posted June 15, 2010
- a student
this is a horrible school i went there and I'm happy that I'm leaving there and getting transfered. every time you call the school they will always transfer you to a voice mail as if the people in the front office don't know a thing. like they can't even answer the simplest questions. also when you leave a message you hardly ever get a call back. independence has brought too many many bad things to me and it was only my first year there.

Independence High 5

Posted January 07, 2010
- a parent
This School Is A Great School The Principle Is great. The teachers are great and the Safety of this Is school I great to I recommend It for parents who wanna enroll there kids In a high school


Independence High 5

Posted January 06, 2010
- a student
I go to independence high school and this is my last year in high school! i have been going to independence since i was in the 9th grade and i loooovvvve this school! the teachers taught me so much that i have never knew! the best teachers at independence i think personally are mrs. lipp, mr. starnes, ms. lee, ms. currence, ms. apsega, ms. frank, ms. noto, and ms. davis even though she isnt teaching anymore! but other than that it is a great school and a safe one!!

Independence High 5

Posted November 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Independence High 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Independence High 4

Posted September 24, 2009
- a student
As a member of Independence Student Council I would say that this is a really grest school. We have our problems just as any school has. The student- body is really active in the community and has a lot of school- sprit. We currently have an over populated student body. However, by next year a new school will be compleated and more students will leave our general population. A school that typicly revoled around our great football team is now trying to become more active in other extracuricular activites. Overall Independence is a great, diverse school, and I'm proud to be a Patirot!

Independence High 5

Posted June 29, 2009
- a teacher
Not only did I graduate from Independence, I cam back to teach there. The reputation of Independence has always been one of mediocre achievement...that is we've always been in the middle of the pack for test scores, etc. That is all changing. Four years ago they added the Academy of International Studies which is associated with The Asia Society and The Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. And last year, our math scores (geometry) were second in the county (only behind Myers Park). There are fierce rivalries with nearby schools. They are mostly healthy but some of the rhetoric against Indy is fueled by the fact the our students are as affluence as nearby high schools...and we had an undefeated football team for 7 years straight. This is a great school staffed by some of the most talented and caring teachers you will ever find. Many teachers are alumni of Independence...that speaks volumes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Independence High
1967 Patriot Drive, Charlotte, NC  28227
(980) 343-6900
Last modified Independence High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Independence High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews.