Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lansdowne Elementary 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
I have two children at Lansdowne and I cannot begin to explain how great it has been watching them grow. One of my children has learning issues and his teachers have been so nurturing and caring with him. They definitely have his learning at the forefront of their minds at all time. The teachers have an incredible amount of patience and they also seem to engage the students in ways that I cannot. If you are school shopping, I highly recommend this school!

Lansdowne Elementary 5

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
Lansdowne has been my childrens school for 5 years and we love it! The teachers are great, they respond to emails, phone calls, concerns, etc. The administration team is phenominal! We have had issues with my daughter's attention/focus and met with the right people at the school and got things taken care of. Teachers know most students even if they have never taught them. PTO is really active and involved. Supplies that are needed in the classrooms are provided. I LOVE the diversity of this school and how much it teaches my children about tolerance. I can't say enough about the school. The IB program is a great way to start their education.


Lansdowne Elementary 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Lansdowne. It's his home school for which I am so grateful. His teacher is understanding and super-sweet. I love their bucket-filler/bucket-dipper concept. They encourage the kids to be "bucket fillers" not "bucket dippers", and they award one kid in each class every month for excelling at that. Last month the theme was "respect"; this month is "commitment/enthusiasm". They have seasonal beautification days so everyone can help tidy up the garden. They have a map of the world in one of the hallways with pictures of the kids on whatever country their ancestors came from. They encourage diversity and acceptance and respect and every other wonderful quality I want to see in my child. They have an incredible PTO. I haven't met one person, whether they be an employee, a parent, or a child, who hasn't been bright and cheerful and friendly. I can't wait to send my next son there too!

Lansdowne Elementary 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
I have had my children at this school for 7 years and my children and I have continued to be very happy here. I am relocating to a different state and have just recently had to rely on the ratings of schools to help me locate an area to live in. It is different living in an area and knowing the dynamics of the school than looking at the ratings. I wanted to post for those that are in my situation. This school feeds into East Meck high school which I have had several parents go before me and reaffirm this too is a great school. Lansdowne has an amazing teaching staff and strong administration. They continually strive to maintain our IB status and grow. The PTO is so strong and a bunch of great people that give endless hours & effort to make the school a better place.

Lansdowne Elementary 1

Posted April 17, 2013
- a parent
Pulling my son out of Lansdowne coz the new teacher can not even understand my child. It's the school I've known for years when my older children went to. Goodluck w/ your child, Parents.


Lansdowne Elementary 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
I think that Lansdowne has great teachers that take the time to understand my child. They really try to teach more than the basic curriculum. My son's tteacher challenged him and encouraged him to grow in every way possible. I am very happy to send my son to Lansdowne and I think the new principal, Brian Bambauer is great!

Lansdowne Elementary 5

Posted January 11, 2012
- a parent
My son has been at Lansdowne for 4 years now, and the only complaint I have is not with the school itself but the district administration. We have had 3 principles in 4 years. All of the principles have been very good, very qualified, and excellent administrators. However this instability of leadership can be disheartening for parents and students. The staff and teachers at Lansdowne are top notch. Looking forward to my 2 othe rsons going to school there as well.

Lansdowne Elementary 5

Posted April 20, 2011
- a teacher
Lansdowne is not only a great school, caring for each child but a great place to work. The adminstration truly cares about each staff member and child. In these critital times in our district, Lansdowne's adminstration, teachers and parents, work hard to make sure each student reaches their potential.


Lansdowne Elementary 4

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
Lansdowne is an excellent school. My son has attended there for the last 3 yrs. Every school has it's faults, especially during these trying times. For the parent that gave them a low rating because of the student to teacher ratio, welcome to CMS (public schools) and budget constraints. Before the constraints, they had assistants in most rooms. I really think the rating was unfair, given the one reason. Not sure if you had other reasons but parents/newcomers rely heavily on community ratings and you just cast a shadow unfairly on a very, very good school.

Lansdowne Elementary 1

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
We are pulling our kindergarden student out of Lansdowne (CMS school district) because of the high student to teacher ratio. We believe even with the best teachers, it is very difficult to educate 24 "K" students without an assistant.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lansdowne Elementary
6400 Prett Court, Charlotte, NC  28270
(980) 343-6733
Last modified Lansdowne Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lansdowne Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews.