Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I've read the comments posted on this site, and I've engaged current and prospective parents in meaningful dialogue during my first 100 days as principal. I am committed to improving the quality of our instructional program and school spirit this year and for years to come. With a new school building opening in the 2012-2013 school year, and a renewed effort to reengage our students and community members, McClintock will become the premier middle school in Charlotte. I encourage the readers of these posts and parents considering McClintock as their home middle school option to come by for a tour before making judgements based on hearsay. Please come see what the Mighty Scots are all about.
November 13, 2012

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


McClintock Middle School 5

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is involved in so many activities at this school I can hardley keep up. There is always going to be a need for improvement at any school and the principal and the administration at this school is working very hard at doing this. I have had a very positive experience!!

McClintock Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Williams is involved with everything that goes on with the school and with all the children and all his effort shows!!!


McClintock Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
I love the teachers at this school, my child can easily communicate with all her teachers.

McClintock Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
With all of the activities my daughter is involved in she does get a lot of homework, but they also give her plenty of time to complete it at school and at home.

McClintock Middle School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
I belive this school strives to bring out the best in all their students. No matter what level the child is on they continue to push for greatness.


McClintock Middle School 5

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
McClintock is our neighborhood school and we decided to send our daughter there. She is now a 7th grader there and she loves it! We are thrilled with the teaching staff and she has made wonderful friends. We have nothing but positive feedback to provide! Very happy with our decision to stay local.

McClintock Middle School 5

Posted May 27, 2014
- a parent
This school is wonderful. My daughter attended in 2013 and at first she was terrified by the rumors. She was transferred to Mint Hill Middle and she couldn't adjust there so I put her back in McClintock. She loved it there after all. Don't let rumors scare you it is better to know for yourself. We are glad that we gave it a chance.

McClintock Middle School 5

Posted May 21, 2014
- a community member
Fantastic school, changes have this school in great shape. Overall much better. Faculty is outstanding.


McClintock Middle School 2

Posted August 06, 2013
- a community member
I already know i'm going to this school and all, but it's scaring me that some people are giving real bad reviews on this school! I'm going to be attending this school with some friends and i'm only hoping for the best. Some reviews on this website says things like it's a school where the teachers don't really give homework, or the parents aren't involved with the learning of the children. And one that scares me plenty is that the kids get in lots of trouble and there are a bunch of fights! Urg, what is the truth of this school? Guess I( have to attend to find out this year. (2 week and 5 days till school) AH! ( my rating is based off of other views and research ).

McClintock Middle School 1

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
There is no money for books. My child did not receive a personal set of books to take up, so she wasn't able to study for tests. Also, the teachers do not assign homework. They occasionally send home a worksheet to be completed, but the kids never bring home graded assignments. The school doesn't involve the parents in their children's education. Also, the teachers and new principal have no compassion for bullied students. They allowed my child to be tormented all year and literally told her to "find away to cope". Overall, this school is a complete fail.

Nearby schools

McClintock Middle School
1925 Rama Rd, Charlotte, NC  28212
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. (980) 343-6425
Last modified McClintock Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top