Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newell Elementary

Public | K-5 | 753 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2011

What in the world?! Are these people writing school reviews on the same school that I went to? Newell is an amazing school and I miss it so much! When I first moved here from out of state, all of the kids were nice to me and I met a lot of new friends. Teachers want to teach. Of course not all of Newell's teachers are excellent, but then again, what schools have all excellent teachers? As I progressed at Newell, I was placed in TD or Talent Development, an academic program that the school offers. There's always lots of on-stage plays for students to enjoy. Lots of rewards for academic progress. One program at the school, AR (accelerated reading), was very fun for me because we had a racetrack around the school as we gained more and more points for reading books and answering questions. You got invited to a AR party in the gym for being far on the racetrack. You are also very involved with administration, too. Whenever I had a concern, the principal would ask me personally about it and help me with the situation. The principal had a relationship with all of the students, which helped us throughout grade school. Field trips were always the best, too. Newell is just full of memories!


Posted June 8, 2010

My son atteneded this school for one year and it has taken a full school year with an extremely great teacher and different school staff to get him back on track. He was not prepared or taught anything that he needed for him to pass the EOG for 4th grade. The office staff administrators and teachers are all there just for a paycheck. His teacher was not even a teacher she was in some program that has partnered with the CMS system. I also agree if this is your home school go magnet as we did or home school. Do not allow this school to damage your child educationally. This is onr of the schools in the CMS system that they really need to do a 100% overhaul from Principal to janitors!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

If there was a rating below 1, this school would have gotten that rating from me. My recommendation is to home school if you have to, but keep your child away from this school. No one at the school cares about the children, and having my son there for the 6 months he has had to go has been a nightmare. I am so glad that next year he got into a different school......we would have moved to a different area otherwise. I guess if you don't care about your child's education or well-being, Newell is the school for you. Communication is non-existent without an act of God, and even when there is communication it is spotty. All the staff at that school (bus drivers included) should be fired for the way they act. (1-2 exceptions) Maybe with new staff, a new attitude, and some commitment, this school could improve. Maybe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

I am very involved in my child's education. I am able to provide my time to a variety of classes within the school and able to attend events (after school hours). So far, I am very happy that I decided on Newell and the principal is very involved in the welfare of each and every child. It's still early in the school year and I was able to establish a foundation a week before the first day of school. The K-grade level teachers are great and I am pleased to have meet and worked with a few of them during my volunteer time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My child was allowed to start school at 4. Curriculum created just for him. Principle, k5 and 1st grade teacher along with TD have worked hard on making sure they provide child with enough stimulation. I am so happy with the decision we made in enrolling him in Newell. I don't think he would receive the one on one attention he gets now anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

My son has only been attending this school for the first year and I find that the teachers are not compassionate. I also find that the classes are too big and the teachers have no patience with the kids. To me, its just their job and their hearts are not in it for the children. The principal lacks responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

In the beginning of the year the teachers and staff gave an illusion of being very involved & concerned but as the time progresses they continue to fall short of basic teacher duties like checking over class work. Since my child is neither bilingual or behavioral problem it seems my child is falling through the cracks. My child is continuously being made to suffer because of the other students and parents none compliance with the teachers instructions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2003

From my experiencew, if your child does well academically and isn't a behavioral problem, they tend to be ignored. I prefer my child to be challenged, but the teachers are out of energy by then and can't be bothered. Very bland teacher spirit throughout. Plan to be a visible parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students37%
Female39%
Male36%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiency42%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students24%
Female28%
Male21%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students25%
Limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female55%
Male42%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiency39%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students30%
Female35%
Male26%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students52%
Female54%
Male49%
Black48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students55%
Limited English proficiency38%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students26%
Female27%
Male26%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students27%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students43%
Female42%
Male44%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students43%
Limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 14%
Black 39% 26%
White 4% 52%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jordy L Sparks
Fax number
  • (980) 343-6792

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8601 Old Concord Road
Charlotte, NC 28213
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-6820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Plaza Road Academy
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT