Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Piedmont Open Ib Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 942 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2014

As a current senior in high school, I can say that the three years that I spent at Piedmont were priceless. Middle school is a time of change and self discovery. It is where you transition from a child into a young adult. I can say with full confidence that I would not be who I am today without this school. It is where in a seventh grade English class I discovered my passion for marketing, which I will be pursuing at college in the fall. It is where I not only made friends, but found a new family. It is where I was able to express myself as a lead in the musical production of Bye Bye Birdie. It is where I became the person that I am today. Four years removed and about to start an entirely new chapter of my life, its influence is all around me. I still get together with my best friends from Piedmont despite the fact that we go to four different high schools. I still sit in my IB Diploma Program World Literature class and think "that's a Milligan word". It is a part of me that I would never trade or change in any way. The experience of attending Piedmont Open Middle School is one that I feel unbelievably fortunate to have had.


Posted December 12, 2013

Be careful for one of the 7th grade math teacher there. She is uneffective and the majority of her students are failing her class. My child tells me storys on how the children in the chidren do not understand and she says "what is there to understand" when they asks questions. I've been to the principle and her boss with no resolution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

As a Piedmont IB Middle School graduate, I can say that these three years I spent in there have been the best years I've had. Now, a Myers Park ninth grader I look back on how my middle school won all those awards, and accomplished each goal they put out. Piedmont excels in academics as well in sports. They have a great football program a great basketball program, and a great soccer program. But must of all, they have a great set of teachers and a great staff and faculty. Piedmont teachers care. They will get you on the right path to success.


Posted September 12, 2013

Piedmont truly is the most amazing school ever. I am an 8th grader currently and I'm in love with it. There is literally nothing wrong with Piedmont. The teachers are phenomena, lt takes learning to a whole new level. I am not the only one who thinks. We have one a ton of blue ribbon national awards recognizing Piedmont as a school of the NATION. If your child wants to get in my word of advice is that you can't slide by at Piedmont. We only take the best and we make the best. Piedmont is the best thing that has ever happened to me. They made this the best time of my life, I will never forget Piedmont


Posted August 18, 2013

This is a very rigorous school, which is what you want. I have had 4 kids attend this middle school and all of them came out of this school very well prepared for any high school in the state. Some parents who do not want there kids to have a very rigorous middle school program or who's child is not ready for this level of rigor sometimes have a hard time when their child is being challenged and their academic abilities are being stretched. I say stick with it, that's what school is all about , challenging a child and encouraging academic growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2013

Piedmont IB Middle is an amazing school. The IB program challenges students to think outside the box and to explore more. Academics is a big focus at Piedmont. The teachers are amazing and do their best to teach students in the most fun way. Piedmont exposes you to new things, good and bad. Piedmont also has an amazing Science Olympiad. Overall, I would recommend Piedmont to any middle schooler because it is the middle school to be at.


Posted October 31, 2012

I am a former student of Piedmont after changing school it is probably the best PUBLIC School you could got to especially for 7th grade however the learning is severely messed up by the population of students who cause trouble and misbehave.


Posted December 21, 2011

I am currently an 8th grader at piedmont and i have to say it is the best school ever. The teachers (shout out to Mr.Milligan, Mr.Reddig, Mr.Booth, and Mr. Parkins) are amazing and do there best to not only prepare you for life but offer you emotional and academic support in any class no matte what subject they teach. The administrators do a good job, and Ms.Delany (the counselor) is the best lady you could ever meet. She is very understanding and never judgemental. She is the most trustworthy person you could ever meet. Entering Piedmont I had many friends whom i had known since the 3rd grade and now i have many many more!! The diversity among the students has offered me many personal experiences in other cultures and not just the regular old page paper some schools might assign. I love Piedmont and i wish I would never have to leave!!! I have met my best friends here and conquered so many challenges here!! -Tierra F. (A Student)


Posted December 14, 2011

im not a student yet but im planning to be ! my bff goes there so im exited!


Posted June 9, 2010

I am an 8th grader and piedmont is the best school ever. I am leaving to go to high school, but i will never forget piedmont


Posted April 22, 2010

I absolutely love the IB curriculum and rigor that Piedmont IB Middle School provides for the students. I did not realize how beneficial this type of learning was until my oldest left Piedmont and went to a high school that was not IB. It was then that I saw how much of an advantage he had over his peers. So far, three of our four children have attended Piedmont with hopes that the fourth will make it in too. This school has the best faculty and staff that any parent or student could ever ask for. I hope they win the $20,000, it would help to ensure that this school continues to produce excellent students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

I am a student (6th grade) currently attending Piedmont, and I think it is wonderful. All the teachers are nice and you learn everything. Piedmont Rocks!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

The school offers so many opportunities so succeed. I am now in highschool, and find myself missing many of the freedoms that we had in middle school. The students have the opportunity to gain the teachers' trust, and to gain more freedom. Shoutouts to Mrs. Witte, Mr. Reddig, and Mr. Parkins. They are amazing, and were so encouraging and really helped me learn a lot above and beyond the norm. -Katy


Posted May 3, 2008

I'm a seventh grader at this school and I love it. When I first came here in the 6th grade,I barely knew anybody but the people are friendly here and the teachers are really fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

I am a 1st time parent at Piedmont and I do love the school. We have had an unfortunate incident and it caused a little disappointment for a moment but with the help of the teachers, principal, counselor and staff everything was taking care of.Everyone enjoys teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

I think that piedmont is one of the best schools I've ever been at. I was there for all three years after moving elementary schools twice in a year. my Piedmont classmates embraced me with open arms. students blend- there are almost no cliques. The administration is a little hard to deal with, especially since Ms. Gardner became principal. I'm a rising ninth grader but I still speak with people I became great friends with at piedmont. We always make plans to hang out, no matter where they live. Sometimes I wish I could have continued into high school with my POMS peers.


Posted January 15, 2007

In stead of the usual 'Piedmont is Great' review, i decided to actually talk about what happens within piedmont's walls. First off i have to say that the teachers are spectacular. At least 90% of the teachers can change your mind about their subject in the first month of their class. The same goes for parent involvement and extracurricular programs: Excellent. However, there is a catch to this otherwise spectaular school: the administrators. They are certainly not all bad. They are excellent when they are administrating. That is, before they actually start dealing with the students. They have a semi-impenatrable 'Everything is Perfect' attitude that makes a bullied child need to expend more effort to get the administrators to make an investigation than to avoid the bully or deal with them in there own way. There would be fewer fights if Piedmonts administration were to look farther that their reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2006

I'm a rising 9th grader, and I must say, Piedmont is awesome. The teachers are wonderful, and they know exactly how to solve every problem you might have, and how to make the classes more challenging, and fun! The school is also like a huge loving family, if somethin bad happens, everyone reaches out to lend a hand. I personally saying absolutly loved my years at Piedmont, and I will never forget the connections I made there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 27, 2006

I go to Piedmont Middle School not and I'mm a rising 7th grader. I didn't know anybody that went to Piedmont but by the end of the year I had a million friends to love. My best friend told me that she loves Piedmont and you know what....I do too! This year I hope to do the great sports at Piedmont.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2006

I am a rising 8th grader at Piedmont and I can not wait to go back to school. I am so excited to meet all the wonderful 8th grade teachers everyone loves. both my brother and I went/attend the school and love(d)it! - Meghan
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
Black55%
Asian-95%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial75%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted92%

Reading

All Students70%
Female72%
Male67%
Black62%
Asian-95%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial83%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students70%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted94%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Female61%
Male65%
Black53%
Asian-95%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial77%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted92%

Reading

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Black67%
Asian-95%
Hispanic77%
Multiracial85%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students75%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Academically gifted90%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Female61%
Male71%
Black58%
Asian-95%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial70%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Academically gifted92%

Reading

All Students68%
Female71%
Male64%
Black59%
Asian-95%
Hispanic71%
Multiracial80%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Academically gifted88%

Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Male85%
Black76%
Asian-95%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial90%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students82%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
-95%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students-95%
Female-95%
Male-95%
Black-95%
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantaged-95%
Not economically disadvantaged-95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students-95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English-95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant-95%
Academically gifted-95%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 68% 26%
White 15% 52%
Asian 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jacqueline H. Barone
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (980) 343-5557

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1241 East 10th Street
Charlotte, NC 28204
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-5435

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




One7 Academy
Charlotte, NC


Metro School
Charlotte, NC


Student First Academy
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT