Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Quail Hollow Middle 2

Posted December 12, 2015
- a community member
This school has a blatant disregard for the opinions of students. Not only this, but the school will flat-out lie to both parents and students! A main issue is that the administration is apperantly incapable of realizing that the school does, in fact, have enough lockers for every student. If the school would use the thousands of dollars they gain every year, they would have lockers and better test scores. Teachers should be given the materials necessary to teach. I am dissatisfied with the school and administration and their incapabilities.

Quail Hollow Middle
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 25, 2015
- a community member
This school is very good except there are a few fights now and then. I graduated this from Quail and I have to say I had an overall good experience. My favorite is band. The band teacher cares so much about her students that you feel like family, this is very much not the case with all of the other teachers quit all the time.


Quail Hollow Middle 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a community member
My school is awesome!!:-D I like that we have PROPS celebrations when we earn our PROPS! I think our school could improve on the way some of the students and teachers behave. We can improve on the quality of food in the cafeteria for breakfast and lunch.

Quail Hollow Middle 4

Posted August 31, 2013
- a parent
Quail has a great friendship with Forest Hill Church. Together they have great family fun nights that are a great way for families to enjoy a free dinner and group activities for students and adults. The students get to enjoy their school in a different way. We love it

Quail Hollow Middle 5

Posted July 19, 2013
- a parent
Very good teachers and about the students like any other kids.Sadly i had to move and well my daughter had to attend other school which is the one that belongs to the zone in the zipcode were we live on now. She miss her school so much.


Quail Hollow Middle 3

Posted March 28, 2013
- a community member
Awesome I guess. I love my friends there, and the teachers are pretty cool, I wish they had more options for foreign languages. At the moment they only have French and Spanish. They're adding German for the 2013-2014 school year though, so I'm looking forward to that. This is my second year at Quail, and I would definitely change some of the stuff on the lunch menue, and some of the rules are kind of unfair. Like I really don't like how we always have to stay to the right side of the hall. It makes stuff so much more crowded. And I think there should be more in the way of the preforming arts. I am in orchestra and Drama/Shakespeare and I really wanted to join Men In Black, but that's only for band students. Either way, at pep rallies, the choir will sing, dance will dance, and men in black will do their thing. Either way, I kind of want to be able to do an orchestra performance or something, because band is like, all high and mighty, and no one cares about orchestra. Oh yeah, and the firewall is definitely annoying. I know that CMS doesn't want us viewing some stuff, but it's really annoying when I'm trying to do a project, and I can't look something up.

Quail Hollow Middle 3

Posted January 01, 2012
- a parent
New Principle is awesome! My daughter is in 7th grade and enjoys her school, just typical middle school kids there has been a few fights, however with the schools new principle changes have been made.. I do feel however the 7th grade dean needs to toughen up a bit,. I also I have found it takes time to get any sort of responses, on class schedule changes.. I am still currently waiting for a call back.. other then that the school is ok.

Quail Hollow Middle 4

Posted September 05, 2010
- a parent
I have found from experience with several CMS schools that strong and caring administration is they key to the school's success. Principal Sullivan is great and if you look at the historical performance of the school you can see she has made a positive influence. The school is diverse which probably helps it get more resources. The counselors and most teachers are responsive. Students are placed in core classes according to their level (standard, plus and honors). Teachers have to be flexible because this is not a school with homogenous kids all from the same backgrounds. So if your child doesn't fit into a neat box this is probably a better school than private or more homogenous schools.


Quail Hollow Middle
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
the school is great my child loves it he is in band he loves being in band and he is grting good grades!!!

Quail Hollow Middle 4

Posted December 23, 2009
- a student
the school is pretty good....many different type of people, not hard to make friends, & good programs

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Quail Hollow Middle
2901 Smithfield Church Road, Charlotte, NC  28210
(980) 343-3620
Last modified Quail Hollow Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Quail Hollow Middle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top