Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rama Road Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
My student is completing second grade at Rama Road. Her experience (as in previous years) has been incredible. Mrs. Bishop has given my student the tools and skills to more than adequately prepare her for the next grade. She has a love for learning and school, which I attribute to the care and support she received from Mrs. Bishop.

Rama Road Elementary
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Behavior expectations are strictly enforced. Kids learn the rules and communication with parents is used to help reinforce expectations.


Rama Road Elementary
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Spends a lot of time teaching students how to be good citizens and people as well as academics

Rama Road Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
They treat all kids the same and support them in ways that meet their individual needs.

Rama Road Elementary 4

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
Great support, helpful with kindergarteners who are transitioning to school for the first time. Good communication systems.


Rama Road Elementary
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 06, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank the school counselor for supporting my son during the first few weeks of kindergarten; when the transition was a little hard for him. She was very understanding, warm, and consistent with following up with him to make sure he was adjusting better.

Rama Road Elementary 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I Love Rama! My family is new here to Charlotte and I have two children who attend Rama. Pre- K and 5th grade and I couldn't ask for a better environment for my children. Everyone is so delightful and helpfull.

Rama Road Elementary 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
I volunteered in a Rama Kindergarten class several hours each week for many months while my own children were still in preschool. What I found was a friendly, caring and highly qualified staff who work together (like a family!) in grade level teams to provide the most efficient and effective education for their students. When we later received a magnet lottery spot, we turned it down and have never ever regretted it. Soon after that, we were richly blessed to have Patti Denny become Principal. She has expertly motivated the staff and students to constantly grow themselves and be their very best. She truly cares about the future of each person in that building and has been a huge asset to Rama. I am especially impressed with how our teachers and Assistants break each class into small focus groups during math and literacy. This teaching model allows students who are behind to group together and spend more time mastering subject material, while fast learner groups are able to move ahead and continue being challenged. The diverse cultural environment at Rama is celebrated and has directly expanded students' understanding of other cultures. With SO many countries represented, International Day (with parade!) is my favorite day to visit and support our great school.


Rama Road Elementary 5

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
If you are considering schools for your child please take a tour of Rama Road ES. Our daughter is in 2nd grade and we are so glad we decided to make the choice to stay with our neighborhood school, despite getting a coveted magnet spot elsewhere. Rama has excellent staff, strong parental involvement, and growing support within the neighborhood. It offers some amazing opportunities for learning outside of the classroom including a full Science lab, an Innovations lab, partnership with Discovery Education, single gender classes and a single gender STEM club sponsored by Discovery Place, and TD opportunities for 1st and 2nd grade. Hidden in the state reporting numbers is the Student Growth Index which measure’s how well schools grow students over time. Currently Rama has a 6.2/Exceeded Growth (-2.0-2.0 scale) which places it in the 91st percentile for overall student growth. http://www.carolinaschoolhub.com/ 55% of teachers have advanced degrees and they are dedicated to meeting the educational needs of all of the children attending Rama.

Rama Road Elementary 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a teacher
SO very proud of our students and staff for EXCEEDING all growth goals for the 2013-14 school year when two neighboring magnet schools did not meet. Our 5th grade students grew their proficiency 30% points in science alone. OUTSTANDING!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rama Road Elementary
1035 Rama Road, Charlotte, NC  28211
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (980) 343-6730
Last modified Rama Road Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top