Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sharon Elementary

Public | K-5 | 799 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

Sharon elementary is a one of the nice School. My son is going to this school. I am very happy about him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2014

Sharon is an excellent school. I have three children there now and they love going to school. The teachers are amazing and truly care about the children. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2013

Sharon Elementary is a nice school with high standards. The teachers are caring and try to make learning fun for my 2 children. The principal is very professional, and she works with the PTA to keep all parents interested in the school and informed of events. I love Sharon Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

The teachers are amazing. The principal and office staff are horrible. The principal is uncaring and rude. Should never be in charge of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

The new guidance counselor should not be allowed to work in the school system. She is unable to do her job, and doesn't seem to care about the children at all. The principle is into numbers and popularity. You had better have a lot of money to fit in the parent groups. Make sure your child has no disabilities. They do not help children with disabilities at this school. They do nothing about bullying. The principle can actually be somewhat of a bully herself. But they have a wonderful Music program. Mr. Brown gives the school a good name going beyond the call of duty to make the program great. Other than the Music program this school is highly over rated.


Posted November 20, 2013

We are new to the area and my child just started K. The year did NOT start out very good, as if I didn't already have enough to worry about as a first time mom to a K student. Our teacher is great and sends email communications 1-2x per week, the principle is very responsive, and overall I have no complaints about the actual school. We feel like young parents here (31 and 32) and most parents already know each other as do the students, so it can be difficult adjusting as a "new" family. PTO is very active, but again very cliquish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2012

This is a wonderful school, with excellent teachers and the parent involvement is amazing! I would recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

Most teachers are great and try hard. But after 5 years and dealing with the administration, we are done with this school. Their lack of action and follow through is the worst I have ever seen. My son was bullied in 5th grade and received same punishment as child who bullied. Completely unacceptable. Trying to teach my children that being smart and different is okay but it is not being reinforced by the school. The vice principal is useless and does not enforce discipline fairly. Very tired of this school and happy to move to middle school. Until there is a change in leadership I would look for another elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

My son has been singled out repeatedly as aggressive after being bullied, pushed, hit, punched, ect ect. He is young and in Kindergarten. We have almost no issues at home with him but at school he's considered overly aggressive. He is the sweetest kid and is very sensitive. After multiple suspensions for defending himself we are finally having a conversation with the school principle / vp and counselor to discuss his needs. Very unprofessional staff, undermining principle and complete lack of regard to the CMS code of student conduct. He's 5 and defended himself but was still suspended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2010

we have just pulled our daughter who is in kindergarten out of this school. They allowed my child to walk outside of the school unattended and yet tried to blame her for it when she did what she was told to do. Now they hold her hand and only hers everywhere she goes because they say she wonders, yet I have never had an issue with that. The staff there is great but the principal is very undermining and primitive when she has spoken with us. She grabbed my daughter by the arm in one dealing when she first started school and took her from us and lead her to class while my daughter was kicking and screaming. No one has done anything about this and yet I have been as high as Peter Gorman. The only thing we were told was that there was a problem with us (parents) and that we were not allowed to walk our daughter to class anymore. I have gotten not one phone call for bad behavior and all praises from her class and report card but yet she wonders but that only came up after we filled a police report of child neglect against the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

Teachers and principal are great. Students are great. Parent participation is tremendous.


Posted April 16, 2010

Sharon has great teacher that lead the children to be model citizens with good manners and behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2010

I have dealt with Sharon in several different ways for the past few years. The staff is outstanding, and the care they have for all of the students is felt throughout the school. I have never been in a school with more a more sincere group of teachers. They care about each other and spend time getting to know each other as well as their students. When you walk in and you are welcomed to the 'Sharon Family,' you really are welcomed to a special new family. Every school has its cliques and parents that feel they are the 'elite,' but the staff tries to keep this to a minimum and definitely keeps it out of the classrooms. I love walking into a classroom and seeing students of all levels and walks of life working together in harmony. It makes you feel so welcome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

I have friends who moved just to be closer to Sharon! It truly is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2004

Sharon is a great school. It encourages creativity and challenges its students. The school provides numerous extracurricular activities including a very active choir, Odyssey of the Mind teams, and clubs. Each grade presents one full production each year. These are full fledged musicals with costumes, choreography and singing to rival any professional company. If your child is a think-outside of the box kind of kid, consider Sharon.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities50%
Non-disabled students71%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students69%
Female76%
Male65%
Black17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students73%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female82%
Male70%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students80%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female53%
Male55%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted90%

Reading

All Students67%
Female71%
Male63%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students71%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Academically gifted93%

Science

All Students64%
Female66%
Male63%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students68%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 52%
Black 14% 26%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4330 Foxcroft Road
Charlotte, NC 28211
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-6725

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Philips Academy
Charlotte, NC


Selwyn Elementary
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT