Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

South Mecklenburg High

Public | 9-12 | 2515 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

I love SMHS. My daughter attended this school and graduated in 2013. She had a packed load being fully involved at this school. The Principal is the BEST!!! Dr. Furr is a wonderful communicator. She is friendly and approachable. She ensures that there is clarity concerning "all things South Meck". The phone messages keep parents informed about happenings at the school. The entire staff, teachers, support, and office workers are concerned about the well being of the students. There is so much offered for every student to get involved. With the high numbers it would seem easy to get lost in the crowd. It's not, because at SMHS, they are family. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone moving to Charlotte, NC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

A score of 6 does not accurately indicate the quality of the education at South Meck High. It should be closer to an 8 or 9. Of the three main public CMS high schools in South Charlotte (an affluent area of the city), South Meck is the most ethnically and economically diverse which is actually a good thing for students. If you compare it to Providence and Ardrey Kell (relative new school) you'll note that the diversity is simply not there and they have their own issues to contend with. Kids can thrive here and get into their college of choice if they work hard and focus on academics.


Posted May 23, 2013

I was concerned about this high school when we moved to South Charlotte because it was rated lower than the other, newer schools near us, but I have to say that both my children have done well and the parental involvement (PTA), the principal and the quality of the teachers has been outstanding! No complaints here. Great school comparable to any in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

southmeck is wonderful. my kid loves to go to school . she has a 4.0 average and plays basketball. they treat all there students the same and that is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

I am currently a student at south. It is a good school because you can get a good education there if you try. There are quite a few teachers that still care (a miracle considering the failures that are currently running the school system). However, I have noticed that the school is on a downward slide. A few years back we lost a great principle, and a lot of the more affluent population moved to Ardrey Kell. Also, we will be gaining a lot of inner city kids from the recently deceased Wadell.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2009

Dr. Furr is just what the Dr. ordered.. Keep up the great work! Go SOUTH!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

As a former student, I have to say I loved this school. There were high AP scores and lots of class options, not very many cliques, and great sports teams (though not football). Several of my teachers actually inspired me to become a high school teacher myself. In comparison with some of my friends' experiences, I think I was very lucky. I hope it hasn't changed with Mrs. Yates gone!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2007

I went to this school and graduated in June 2006. Though I got a decent education, it was based more on my own attitude and direction. There are more lousy teachers than great ones, and I hate to think what it's going to be like without Mrs. Yates as principal. The school is very old and not well maintained.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 5, 2006

As a former student of South Mecklenburg I was very happy with the education I received there. Many extracurricular activities, sporting teams, clubs and academic programs were made available. And the teaching staff there is wonderful! They were always open to giving extra help when it was needed and they knew how to challenge their classes. I would recommend this school to any parent looking to give their child a great education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2006

My son is currently a freshman at South Meck. After doing research on this school before we relocated to Charlotte - I was sure that I was putting him in a school with superior teaching. Our experience so far has been less then satisfying and the quality of the teaching staff, as well as his guidance Councelor is below average. My only saving grace is that next year he will be attending the new school Ardrey Kell and we can say goodbye to South Meck..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

I am a parent of one child who just graduated. High SAT score, accepted at several prestigious universities, and so on. It was a very good (and fun) experience at South Meck. We currently have another child attending South Meck, who appears headed in the same direction. Though the facility is showing some age, South Meck has a number of great teachers, many good ones, and can be a quality school for any child who is committed and has parental involvement/support. Those are the keys--not whether it's a new facility, has more/less money, lots of computers, or some flavor-of-the-month magnet program. I would recommend South Meck HS to any family that is involved and wants a good public education experience for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

I am not a parent, but I am a former student of SMHS. I graduated 4 years ago and have nothing but great things to say. I am getting ready to graduate from UNCW and can honestly say that if I hadn't had the help, guidance and encouragement of the teachers, and staff at SMHS, I couldn't be where I am now. You shouldn't so harsh on the school, you have no idea what is actually like. The school is old, there are going to be some run down classrooms, air conditioners that may not always workthings happen, things break over time. There are so many opportunities that students don't take advantage of, and that's no ones fault but their own. I was involved in sports, clubs, events and those are the things that help make us who we are. Bottom line: it's a great school. Quality should far outweigh Quanity.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 15, 2004

School over 40 years old. The condition -very bad, mildew, carpet, mats, ceilings. Broken air conditions, equipment etc. Student enrollment capacity 1800. School well over- 2400 capacity stated in 2003-2004 by SMHS Student Newspaper. Enrollment of Classes/subject interests- impossible. Teacher conferences are not encourgaged by Dist/High Schools'. Student attendence problems- late or otherwise. Serious learners are grouped with less interested learners whom do not have an interest/goals tofuther academic enrichment. Cause and affect heavy class cheating, behavior, classroom distractions, low standards, prisonlike-micromanagement. Affecting serious learners to force failure, accdemically/ socially. Classroom time fast pace-28 credits on correction of skills and answeres vs instruction/learning atwhich much time/money is drilling for EOG's- test results. Distroying learning curriculum- skills, holding students accountable. State Policy/regulations- targets guidence to Exit HS without learning appropriately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Hi my son attends this school. You will never imagine the chaos that is there. This is a very bad choice. But you can't expect a perfect place in a unperfect world. My son used to attend West Meck, that is a 'bad' choice. I moved near the airport, so now my daughter attends Olympic, she is a junior. That is a better choice. You have got to expect some things to happen so I dont down Olympic very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have one son who attends South and one who has just graduated. Words cannot express the hard work, support and effort exhausted by the staff at this school to assist these students in reaching their goals as well as acknowleging their talents and helping them create goals. This school posses outstanding top of the line qualified staff. As a parent all you have to do is ask any staff member for any type of assistance and they will exhaust every effort to help you. I could never say thank you enough for all that this school has done for my children and all that they are continuing to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

471 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

513 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
90%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

408 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

659 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

517 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

663 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

644 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

94 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

424 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students24%
Female21%
Male26%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracial23%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students26%
Limited English proficiency16%
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students60%
Female65%
Male55%
Black42%
Asian81%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial80%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students62%
Female68%
Male55%
Black46%
Asian71%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial61%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Academically gifted87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 52%
Black 28% 26%
Hispanic 24% 14%
Asian 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Maureen Furr
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (980) 343-3607

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8900 Park Road
Charlotte, NC 28210
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-3600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Keys of Carolina
Charlotte, NC


Manus Academy
Charlotte, NC


Manus Academy
Charlotte, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT