Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Charlotte, NC
Students enrolled: 2,515

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Mecklenburg High 5

Posted June 04, 2014
- a student
I'm a student at south meck and i love it. the principale is great and so are many of the teachers. South Meck has been a safe and great learning experience for so far.

South Mecklenburg High 4

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
South Mecklenburg is diverse and safe. My children have plenty of opportunities for honors and AP courses, extra curricular activities including band, theater, chorus, many clubs and service organizations. This is not a school of rich families, but it is full of good, hard-working students who care about their school and their community.


South Mecklenburg High 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
South Mecklenburg High School was just rated by US News & World Report as the 7th best school in North Carolina and the 2nd best school in Charlotte! -- That ranking is well deserved. The school has evolved into a dynamic, multi cultural comprehensive high school with academics suited for all levels of ability. For the strongest students, the access to Advance Placement and challenging course material is unmatched. (Many of the neighboring high schools limit students ability to take AP courses.) At South Meck, the school is Student-Centered, meaning that the faculty and administration work with students and their families to craft an individualized program that is best suited for that student. In fact, South Meck is highly flexible and will work with students to make sure they have the most appropriate and challenging courses, even if that means making adjustments to a students schedule. (Something unheard of at Providence High School!) Perhaps best of all, the school's multicultural student body gives students an opportunity to live and learn in a real world environment, amongst people from different backgrounds and upbringings -- a truly wonderful thing!

South Mecklenburg High 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
South Meck has quietly evolved into an amazing school and has some important advantages over other high schools in the area. e.g. In addition to a huge number of advance placement and honors courses, South Meck has a number of specialized/unique programs including: 1) A world lang. magnet, 2) Project Lead the Way accredited courses in engineering and bio med, 3) Access to ALL NCVPS online classes 4) the new IDEA Academy which emphasizes Innovation, Design, Engineering and Art studies. Best of all, the staff/teachers/administration are flexible and work with parents and students to ensure that students get the courses that best fit their needs. (Even if that means making a change to a students schedule!)

South Mecklenburg High 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
This school is great. It's teachers are really nice and caring. The teachers try there best for every student to understand.


South Mecklenburg High 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
I love SMHS. My daughter attended this school and graduated in 2013. She had a packed load being fully involved at this school. The Principal is the BEST!!! Dr. Furr is a wonderful communicator. She is friendly and approachable. She ensures that there is clarity concerning "all things South Meck". The phone messages keep parents informed about happenings at the school. The entire staff, teachers, support, and office workers are concerned about the well being of the students. There is so much offered for every student to get involved. With the high numbers it would seem easy to get lost in the crowd. It's not, because at SMHS, they are family. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone moving to Charlotte, NC

South Mecklenburg High 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a community member
A score of 6 does not accurately indicate the quality of the education at South Meck High. It should be closer to an 8 or 9. Of the three main public CMS high schools in South Charlotte (an affluent area of the city), South Meck is the most ethnically and economically diverse which is actually a good thing for students. If you compare it to Providence and Ardrey Kell (relative new school) you'll note that the diversity is simply not there and they have their own issues to contend with. Kids can thrive here and get into their college of choice if they work hard and focus on academics.

South Mecklenburg High 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
I was concerned about this high school when we moved to South Charlotte because it was rated lower than the other, newer schools near us, but I have to say that both my children have done well and the parental involvement (PTA), the principal and the quality of the teachers has been outstanding! No complaints here. Great school comparable to any in the area.


South Mecklenburg High 5

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
southmeck is wonderful. my kid loves to go to school . she has a 4.0 average and plays basketball. they treat all there students the same and that is a blessing.

South Mecklenburg High 4

Posted May 09, 2011
- a student
I am currently a student at south. It is a good school because you can get a good education there if you try. There are quite a few teachers that still care (a miracle considering the failures that are currently running the school system). However, I have noticed that the school is on a downward slide. A few years back we lost a great principle, and a lot of the more affluent population moved to Ardrey Kell. Also, we will be gaining a lot of inner city kids from the recently deceased Wadell.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Mecklenburg High
8900 Park Road, Charlotte, NC  28210
(980) 343-3600
Last modified South Mecklenburg High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Mecklenburg High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top