Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Mecklenburg High

Public | 9-12 | 1820 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

This school has some really good classes. They prepare you for college and helps you on your career.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2013

I had 3 kids go to this school... each were different, none ever had teachers that cared much unless they did something wrong. I found it very hard to communicate with anyone there and I am a very involved parent. I would not recommend y ou sending your kids there at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2013

i sent my child to west mecklenburg he had i horrible past with a c average but after the 1st quarter his grades were rising and excellent they are hands on and amazing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

I graduated from West Mecklenburg High School class of 2011. I can say that I would not trade my four years spent there for anything in the world. If you enter West Mecklenburg with the a positive attitude and spirit then the sky is the limit and there is nothing that you cant do. Many people complain and form opinions about the school before they enter the doors.Many have a warped and very negative idea about the school.Considering the limited supplies and resources the school is provided with, a majority of the staff does an excellent job with what they are given. Most of the parents who complain the most, are the parents of the children that are unruly and cause most of the problems. Some people complain and do absolutely nothing to better the school. With all these complaints, I bet none of those complaining could name one thing they did to help! I love West Meck because it taught me to work hard to accomplish my goals regardless of my surroundings. I am in college, in the honors program at my university, and am attending on a full presisential scholarship! That is what West Meck did for me! I love my school and when I am wealthy one day I plan to give back to it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2011

I have a daughter who attends West Meck and I have to be honest that I was a little worried about her transferring from Myers Park. However, I am a very involved parent and my daughter is a very well manner, respectful, and intelligent student. So with those qualities, partnered with support from her teachers and staffs, my daughter had an excellent Freshman year 2010-2011. This coming school year I am expecting great things again. Parents and students who constantly complain should step back and look at themselves and reevaluate their participation and involvement at the school. You can not blame the teachers/staff for your child's performance if you as the parents are not standing behind your own child and if the students aren't giving 100%. Education starts at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

It appears from me, based on some of these comments, maybe the school, teachers and staff are not the problem. It is the parents and kids. Some of your spelling and grammar is terrible. How much time did you folks spend teaching your children the basics and following up on homework? Not much I would guess.


Posted June 29, 2011

I had two sons that atended this school. this school is the worst. It seems like the prinicple and staff does not want to help the kids suceed. My son was bullied my gang members EVERY DAY. My husband went to the school on many occasions to speak to the priniciple and she act like she did not have time. I called and she could not return any calls. she basically trasnfered me to someone else to handle the situation and nothing was done. the kids continued to bother him and my son never got anything done. this is the worst. DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS TO THIS SCHOOL. HAWTHORNE IS MUCH BETTER
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

I have a child that attends WMHS and she is a senior this year (thank god), the first year i have to say was horrible, but now everything is ok, i make contact with her teachers, counselor and i encourage her as well to have some type of communication with them, she will be attending WInston Salem State after she graduates.As a parent we should not blame the teacher for our kids failure at school, we must accept some type of responsibility and move forward from there, I encourage all of the parents to keep in contact with the teachers via (email, phone call, visit the school).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I have two teenagers at this school and I have hated it since day one. There are several quality staff members, but the majority are just filling a seat. It's so very sad how schools have changed and the opportunitys we had 15yrs ago our kids wont ever have in CMS. CMS as a whole is horrible and West Meck is a prime example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

i am a student who went to west meck. i think that this is the most worst school i've been to. too many students that dont want to learn.the teachers are to mean anact like they dont care. i would not send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

I have had two kids attend West Mecklenburg H.S and if I had any advice about this school. Do not send your child there if your seeking a quality education. This school needs to be completely restaffed and redirected. The formal principal there would never make time for parents. The academic standards there are not challenging and most of the kids just slid by, The only reason why we did not remove our kids is because they were upper classsman. My child will soon be attending NCCU. This would not have been possible if it was not from outside sources. I must say that The staff at West Mecklenburg H.S is not part of my child success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2008

since this year, west mecks test scores have risen to an impressive extent. i have just completed my first year as a freshman at west meck. i have to admitt that i was skeptical at first but now i see that all the bad things you hear in the media is not what makes up the school. we have great athletics and clubs. west meck actually has one of the best debate teams in the district, which im proud to be apart of. although, i would agree that i would be more academically challenged at another school i still feel that you can only get out of the school what you put in. as for the disrespectful children; thy were mostly upperclassmen and will soon be gone as the new generations of student who care about thier education are starting to shine.students/parents of WM who complain only make urself look bad
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2008

I am a student who has been attending West Mecklenburg since April 1, 2008. Before this time, I went to South Mecklenburg and had a much more positive experience. Parent reviews are saying how great West Meck is, but they do not attend the school like we, as students, do. They do not see all the negativity we do or hear the same things as students. The students are very disrespectful of authority and each other. The administration is not supportive and the principal is not easily accessible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2008

If you are involved in you child(ren)'s education, this is a great school. It has a small town feel for those who want to be involved. The staff is mostly first rate. They are very willing to help with any issue, and always put the student first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

I am a Black student and I am currently in the 10th grade at West Mecklenburg High School. When I first moved here to Charlotte, I heard a lot of 'bad media' about how bad the school and students were, etc. But being the person that I am, I didn't judge the school or its students before actually attending. The first few days, I was happy to be there since the school I went to before going to West Meck was mostly white. However I later learned that the students were very disrespectful which made it distracting for me to learn. Many of the administrators were not very helpful and had bad attitudes. A few of the teachers were very good, in the upper classes (AP) that I took. The students there hate when they're stereotyped against but their behavior makes others have the negative opinions about them that they do.


Posted August 4, 2006

I have all good experiences with the principle councelors registar. my child will be a new student at wm. the above leader have shown their compassion,perservence and commment to all stundents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2006

This school is out of control. Most of the time they don't know where the students are nor do they care. As long as they aren't causing them any problems. There are some excellent teachers, they just get lost in all that's below par at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

West Meck is a good school. Unfortunately, you only hear about the bad things. There's good and bad in all schools. WM challenges your child(ren) with the AP class however they are not 'forced'. Main problems at West Meck is low parental involvement and the bad media we get. I have three children at West Meck and they love it. Like anything else in life you get out what you put in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

The violence and crime that goes on at this school is down right scarey. The attitude of the School Board and all associated with it, compounds the issue. It is not a well supervised and safe enviroment for your children. The teachers, some of them are okay. If your child is a good student they will try to force them into all AP classes, even if that is out of their league. This school is not concerned with 'real' student success, but what makes them look good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

West really is best, the best kept secret in the system. It is a great school, with outstanding faculty and staff. Everybody has been so helpful and the principal is excellent, he makes himself very well-known to the students, which makes me feel good. It is really sad that people are unwilling to give the school a chance simply on what 'they've heard'. If they actually ever stepped foot in the school, they'd see that it is a truly great place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

510 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

367 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

617 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

479 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

512 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

477 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students13%
Female13%
Male12%
Black12%
Asian13%
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students14%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English14%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant13%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students31%
Female29%
Male32%
Black25%
Asian25%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial63%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities21%
Non-disabled students32%
Limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students38%
Female43%
Male34%
Black34%
Asian34%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial65%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 26%
Hispanic 17% 14%
White 11% 52%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Eric Ward
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (980) 343-6079

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7400 Tuckaseegee Road
Charlotte, NC 28214
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-6080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT