Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greenway Park Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 600 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

Greenway park is a wonderful school. Both of my daughter's go to school here and love it. My oldest daughter has been going here since 2nd grade and is now in 5th grade. Though the teacher's here have been wonderful, I must give two thumbs up to 5th grade teachers, Mrs.Faulkenberry for Math/science and Ms. Beltrum for English/social studies because they both have been phenomenal! Both teachers must Love their jobs because it shows by how much time they invest in each child to ensure that they understand each subject. My daughter was struggling in school the last couple of year's and this year she is on A/B honor roll. My youngest is in kindergarten and has learned so much already and has also made A/B honor roll!The office staff have always been very pleasant and The school counselor is always on top of any issues that are going on. The teacher/parent communication is 100%. This school gets my vote.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

This is our first year at Greenway Park and I'm very disappointed with their staff!!! Front desk is horrible!! They never greet you, almost 99% of the time they ignore you for at least 7 mins. It seems like they feel bother by you. Example today, I was called in to pick my son up he did not feel good. Previously I have been coming in multiple times to eat and seen other kids have been sick with the same thing my son had. So I asked the front desk while I was waiting on my son to get to the office if there is something going around...if other kids have been experiencing the same symptoms and before I could finish my question this lady rolled her eyes made a smart comment just plain rude and just went off. It seemed like she was offended by my question. Just another horrible situation we have experienced this year with their staff. We have never seen a school that has so many people in a building that do not like/love or even enjoy what they do for living! One positive and only thing we enjoyed at this school is Mrs. Wright!! She loves and is very good with her kids. The only reason we actually want to finish this school year with them. She gets a 5 star!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

Greenway Park is an EXCELLENT school. Don't be fooled by test scores or the location of the school. There is a very active PTA also. A+!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

my daughter startded pre-k this year so far the school and teachers has met my expectation she look forward every morning going to school thank you greenway park elemantary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

i was skeptical at first being new to the whole school environment and everything. However, the rating for greenway park is way too low. My son is in kindergarten there and is doing so well I am so proud. The staff in the office are wonderful and his teachers are very involved and care so much about all of their students that I am now in the process of trying to enroll my 4 year old in the bright beginning program their for this coming school year. From one proud parent to all you others out their, I see the news as well CMS does get a bad rap on the news but there are some dedicated teachers and staff out there you just have to believe in your child and be involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

My son has been going to this school since PreK...and now he is getting ready to go into the 6th grade...Greenway Park is the best school I can think of, they give you a warm feeling when you are there. Principal Gray is the best as well. I will enjoy seeing my daughter going to this school as well now. Jennifer White
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

My son is a student here now 2 years. He enrolled as an EC student and within 4 months was transferred into mainstream classes.Principal Gray along with her staff are outstanding. As a parent you always feel welcomed. More importantly, the best interest of the child's education is definitely exercised at Greenway. I highly recommend Greenway and applaud their awesome vision for our children's future. I am proud to apart of Greenway's Panther Pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students25%
Female29%
Male23%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic12%
Multiracial30%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students29%
Limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students36%
Female47%
Male28%
Black37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students42%
Limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students28%
Female22%
Male33%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students29%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female34%
Male33%
Black21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students35%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students40%
Female36%
Male44%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities7%
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students28%
Female32%
Male24%
Black30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students33%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students26%
Female32%
Male20%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students31%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant26%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 26%
Hispanic 30% 14%
White 15% 52%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Paula Jane Rao
Fax number
  • (980) 343-5064

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8301 Monroe Road
Charlotte, NC 28212
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-5060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT