Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Dear Parent/Guardian: Thank you for visiting Winding Springs Elementary on the Great Schools website. If you are looking for a school community that is committed to serving the individual needs of every child, you have found a great school. Please feel free to contact me with questions or to schedule a visit. "It's a great time to be an Eagle!"
June 19, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Winding Springs Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Hobbs, Mrs. Slocum, Mrs. Derossit, Mrs. Johnson, Mr. Cherry and also the speech therapist miss jones. They show there enthused to be at that school to teach, more than willing to help, and very determined to get students to their goals.

Winding Springs Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
There are only a select few who actually seem to want to be there to better the babies. The teachers are not showing any care for children because most are to busy chatting in halls, absent or just teach things without explaining and when asking for help they refuse by saying you already learned that....


Winding Springs Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
They give my child one weeks worth of homework yes, however it is normally all about math and none on science, or spelling and etc..

Winding Springs Elementary
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
When a child that loves school now dreads to go to school i don't call that determined....

Winding Springs Elementary
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
They do not believe in disciplining the children who fight with other children and disrupt class. How can they though when the staff isn't respectful..


Winding Springs Elementary 4

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
The African American lady that works at the front desk is the worst (what ever she suppose to be) person that could work in the school system. You call and she ask like you slept next to her the night before. You come to the school and ask a question or tell that you are there to pick up your child and she look at you like you're speaking another language.. Overall beside that, the school is awesome! I love how they are helpful and really look out for your child as it was there's. I wish my daughter could stay all the way through 12th grad but unfortunately, she have to attend middle school which is a hard thing coming from elementary school!

Winding Springs Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 23, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. B kindergarten teacher and Mrs. Lopane 1st grade teacher. Because of them my daughter is successful!

Winding Springs Elementary 2

Posted August 28, 2015
- a parent
Front office staff not very helpful or organized so far this new school year. I was having issues with my child's bus not showing up all week and was pretty much given the run around and no one was able to get this resolved as of yet!


Winding Springs Elementary 5

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
WSE is amazing! The principle Ms. Presley is kind, caring, and very present in the hallways. My son has been attending this school going on 3 years and we have never had issues. The halls are quiet, classes are well managed and every staff member is kind and highly competent. WSE es incre ble! El principio de la se ora Presley es amable, cari osa, y muy presente en los pasillos. Mi hijo ha estado asistiendo a esta escuela va en 3 a os, y nunca hemos tenido problemas. Los pasillos son tranquilas, las clases est n bien gestionados y cada miembro del personal es amable y muy competente.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Dear Parent/Guardian: Thank you for visiting Winding Springs Elementary on the Great Schools website. If you are looking for a school community that is committed to serving the individual needs of every child, you have found a great school. Please feel free to contact me with questions or to schedule a visit. "It's a great time to be an Eagle!"
Posted June 19, 2014

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winding Springs Elementary
6601 Horace Mann Road, Charlotte, NC  28269
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (980) 343-5140
Last modified Winding Springs Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top