Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Charlotte, NC
Students enrolled: 882

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 4

Posted June 26, 2014
- a teacher
As a teacher at the school, it is an amazing place for teachers and students. Many students are transported from surrounding neighborhoods making this not a true "neighborhood school." There are many challenges students face and the staff works hard to address them and demonstrate growth. There has been a transformation happening with new leadership and many new teachers. The most powerful thing that can continue to ensure this school's success is more parents being involved in the school. Research shows that when parents are involved in their child's education the school and it's students are successful. If you are new to the area I encourage you to visit the school. You will see incredible work from dedicated staff and highly engaged students. In my 17 years of teaching this is one of the best environments for learning for kids.
1 person found this helpful

Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
This "school" would not have been on my radar as a place to send my child. We moved into the area from another state. If I had insight into the events that were to come for the year I would have immediately transferred my child elsewhere. While some staff members are pleasant, there are others there for whatever reason because they are not contributing to the teaching environment. I visited my child's class on different occasions and was not welcomed by the teacher. They say they have no toleration for bullying but no disciplinary action was taking after my child reached out to some staff members. If your child(ren) must attend this school, make sure you continuously make suprise class visits and ask plenty of questions about the happenings in class.
1 person found this helpful


Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 1

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
This school needs to be revamped from the top down. Adminstration and staff need to be coached on how to be sensitive to their students needs as well as how to resolve issues with parents. My children ended up at this school by default. Every attempt I made on trying to relocate them was blocked. Every situation was dismissed by administration because the teacher is "a good instructor". I am very unhappy with this school and am moving far away from this district before the start of the next school year.
1 person found this helpful

Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 4

Posted July 10, 2013
- a parent
My son attended this school from Kindergarten to 4th grade. We are currently relocating to another state. I believe as long as you stay involved in your child's school you will get great returns. My son is an amazing reader and the teachers have always been hands on and communicate well. With that being said, I am putting this review because I see I'd like to share to any parent that's looking at this school as a possibility. Average school, pleasant staff- stay involved. Join PTA - attend as many school events as possible.

Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 3

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
this is a wonderful school really attentive to the needs of the students and parents.....thank you again for what it's worth!!!!!!


Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 5

Posted October 01, 2007
- a parent
Thank you Nathaniel Alexander Elem. for accepting my child for who she is. It is hard to find a wonderful set of staff that cares for the child and the parents. And her learning assignments are amazing, especially when I see the results! Thank you!

Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 4

Posted March 11, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 4

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Nathaniel Alexander Elementary 5

Posted July 24, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nathaniel Alexander Elementary
7910 Neal Road, Charlotte, NC  28262
(980) 343-5268
Last modified Nathaniel Alexander Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nathaniel Alexander Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top