Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcalpine Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 503 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2007

McAlpine is a wonderful school. The new staff has brought great things to the school and it is stronger than it has ever been. We love it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

I love McAlpine Elementary School. There has been a great turn around at the school and it has been for the BETTER. We wouldn't want to go anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

Obliviously some of the negative comments made previously are from parents who do not know sound educational practices when they see them. ALL children are challenged and given the opportunity to grow and learn in a fun environment at McAlpine - not just the 'smart' kids. My neighbors complain about the way their children spend their recess and lunch time - IT IS SCHOOL! They can play and talk to their friends all afternoon at home. I am glad that my child's teacher in the field with her class playing games as a class. And lunch time- if we really want our children to compete globally, we should be discussing how can we get more READING, MATH and SCIENCE time, not when can the kids talk to each other. I am proud of the direction my daughter's school is moving in! Keep up the good work, McAlpine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I have a third and second grader at McAlpine. Although we did loose a lot of teachers last year, it has been for the better. The staff is fresh and open to creative teaching. For example, the librarian had a pumpkin decorating contest where each class dressed a pumpkin as a book character and the children had to write clues to help the other children figure out who the book character. There has been lots of emphasis on science this year while maintaining a strong focus on math and literacy. The children are grouped by ability which has helped meet the needs of my children. The principals door is always open and the office staff makes you feel welcomed. Parents are very involved and their assistance is welcomed by the teachers. I have been extremely pleased with McAlpine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I love this school. We are slated to rezone next year and I have the option to stay because of a rising 5th grader. We are definately leaning to staying at such a great place. We truly feel at home here and love the families and the teachers and the staff. I am impressed with my children's teachers and the level of education they are receiving. the teachers are zoned in on my child's needs and abilities and place them where they get the most for thier level. I have 3 children currently at this school and cannot say enough great things about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

I couldn't agree more that McAlpine is moving in a 'downward direction'. After experiencing non-responsive administrators, outrageous student conduct and substandard science and math curricula, we had little choice but to move our children to private school. We had very good teachers and can understand the mass-exodus that has occurred. McAlpine has become a day-care for troublemakers who disrupt class at the expense of its higher-performing students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

Very poor communication with parents and staff, principal makes promises he does not keep. Mean lunch staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

A school that was once great, consistently moving in a downward direction as poor administrators run it into the ground. Poor discipline, non-existent communication with parents and staff, and cronyism have crippled this school. 21 teachers left at the end of this school year - does that tell you something?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I've had a child at McAlpine every year since 1999. It has been a great school for my family, with a focus on what's important... the kid's education. My older children have been well prepared for middle school and high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

We couldn't be happier with McAlpine! Both teachers - K and 1 - have been well matched to our educational philoposhy. Rather than being drilled on worksheets and overloaded with homework, our daughter is just learning to love learning. It's almost a Montessori philosophy, although not executed with a Montessori methodology. I particularly love the approach to early literacy, where all the 1st graders are divided into groups according to their ability and they spend part of every day with that group. What a great approach and a good use of time and teaching effort. And my daughter loves having more than one regular teacher. I have nothing but wonderful things to say - McAlpine is highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2006

Mrs. Hector is an awesome teacher! My son learned so much from this creative and caring teacher. We love her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

Excellent! Kids had a wonderful year. Kindergarten teacher Ms. Pyner and assistant Mrs. West exceeded all our hopes, they did a great job! Kids enjoyed going to school and learned a lot. There was also lots of participation from parents. Went to school every day but never met the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students57%
Female64%
Male52%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female64%
Male42%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students49%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female53%
Male31%
Black14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female68%
Male48%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female54%
Male63%
Black18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students63%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students66%
Female70%
Male60%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students80%
Female78%
Male83%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students82%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 52%
Black 16% 26%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9100 Carswell Lane
Charlotte, NC 28277
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-3750

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Endhaven Elementary
Charlotte, NC


Manus Academy
Charlotte, NC



Manus Academy
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT