Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Zebulon B Vance High 4

Posted August 17, 2013
- a student
Vance High School is changing for the better (at a slow pace I admit) but the communities are still trying to keep stereotypes and rumors alive without any evidence. The school is becoming a place where students are still to take control over their education and their lives.

Zebulon B Vance High 3

Posted February 03, 2013
- a student
I love Vance high school I love my school . There isn't anything wrong with Vance . It's just that students come just to come with out any care about others time or education . Not only that but it's who you hang around and who you know. If you come to school to learn and do what you are told then you should fine. It's all up to you ,!!!!!! In high school they teach you life lessons and that is exactly what Vance is teaching me


Zebulon B Vance High 4

Posted March 14, 2012
- a teacher
Vance is a great school. People shouldn't listen to rumors - come and Che k the school out for yourself. I am a teacher at Vance and we have good leadership now that focuses on instruction. There are high standards for students and faculty that cares. Vance is finally becoming the school it was meant to be!

Zebulon B Vance High 1

Posted March 03, 2011
- a parent
Vance's recent change in leadership has driven the majority of the "Rockstar" instructors away. Vance embraces "Minimum Grades", meaning, students can't earn lower than a 50%. . Administrators above the new principal say that, "Grading is at the principal's discretion...." These practices are not common knowledge. She has also rearranged the teachers, experienced / high performing teachers are placed with the lower performing students and vice versa. In some cases, advanced students are not being taught enough to even pass the AP exams. Vance has spent more time breaking up fights and increasing its percentage of school arrests (a 663% increase according to the news from last year to now) this year. The only major thing that has changed is the leadership. We have written and conferenced with her and those above her and still no help.

Zebulon B Vance High 1

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Zebulon B Vance High 0
no rating

Posted December 30, 2008
- a student
I am a senior at Vance and i love my school. i feel that vance can be a great school to thoese that make it great and get involved. i also feel that at any school a child can find bad things to do if he/she really wants to.

Zebulon B Vance High 3

Posted August 25, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Zebulon B Vance High 5

Posted July 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Zebulon B Vance High 4

Posted March 14, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Zebulon B Vance High 5

Posted February 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Zebulon B Vance High
7600 Ibm Drive, Charlotte, NC  28262
(980) 343-5284
Last modified Zebulon B Vance High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Zebulon B Vance High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top