Advertisement

Providence Day School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2014

PDS has almost zero tolerance for any kind of learning disorders or slow development in children. Even after your child has been accepted to the school, once there has been any learning issues discovered with your child, he/she will targeted by the lower school to get rid of and transferred to a different school. It is truly unbelievable. The majority of the lower school students are required to go to Speech therapy, OT therapy, or handwriting therapy because PDS thinks there are all of these issues with these children. Ask around before you drink the Koolaid of PDS. Not worth the money or the stress. Be forewarned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2014

Providence Day School has tools in the classroom to help children with learning and attention issues. They are cognizant of the differences in each child's learning styles. They also work with an occupational therapist who works with children during the school day. The counselors are all well versed in challenges with learning and attention issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

I have gone to PDS for 9 years and I am very sad to say that it has not been a good experience. It is incredibly conservative in it's policies, and some of the teachers teach in a way that is more in line with conservative politics than actual facts. There is a mindblowing lack of diversity. PDS refuses to show support for LGBTQ+ students in fear of angry parents. The school is nauseatingly biased toward families that donate to the school. The math and science programs are very good, but it is almost not worth it due to the lack of diversity in race, sexuality, and class. It makes it hard to gain an accurate worldview when going to a school that is almost completely comprised of white, wealthy, conservative students.


Posted November 29, 2013

I have been a PDS student for 7 years. There is pretty much no diversity. Not to mention there is a lot of bullying and such that goes on, but unless you are directly involved with it, you would have no idea, and the school covers it up so nobody actually knows what's going on. The theater program used to be good, but it's been totally changed and now it's horrible. Some of the teachers are nice and good at teaching, some are just nice, and some of them aren't nice or good at teaching. There is a lack of parent-teacher communication, and teacher-student communication. The actual education is okay, but not really worth the money. The students who have wealthy parents who donate to the school can get away with anything. Please please don't send your child to this school.


Posted April 10, 2013

PDS clearly stated in their website that "Financial aid decisions and admission decisions are made by two different committees. Applying for financial aids does not in any way affect a candidate's selection For admission to PDS". Apparently this is NOT true!!! The associate admissions director is also the financial aid director. Our daughters are applying for 9th and 11th grade and both are truly academically outstanding with high GPA (A+ average), 99th percentile national test, PSAT as a Sophomore is qualified as a commended scholar, mature and well rounded students with leaderships and variety of talents and activities, outgoing and did well on the interviews with the Upper School Director. We were told that they are outstanding students and it's a lost for PDS for not able to offer admissions to our daughters because their Upper School is full. It is hard to believe that PDS can't make room for two outstanding students. Clearly, they won't make room because we applied for financial aid. The title of the person who made the decision is the Assistant Admission/ Financial Aid Director. They got accepted to two other prestigious schools. One thing PDS is right is it is their LOST!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

Our son had a hard time with private school testing coming from UCPS (which are good). He was a year behind academically but interviewed well. Enrollment came with the suggestion for a math tutor. A child can be lonely & unsure when starting in a new school. PDS assigns student mentors, class orientation events, and parent outreach for us, to help with the transition. Private schools can exceed the cost of a State University; the investment is worth it. Financial aid is available. PDS prides itself in diversity, sevice, & variety of activities. Students are encouraged to think for themselves, iniatiate clubs & projects. Staff is involved in a plethora intra & extra-curricular activities. Parents aren't forced to do anything, however if you are not engaged with your children, no matter where you go, it can hinder their development. We're amazed at the leaps our son displays every year. In academics: Went from average- honor roll- headmasters list, but most impressive is becoming a community & global thinker. MS Sports has a no cut policy so all kids can participate. Now he excels in HS athletics from school programs & his own initiatives. WE ARE GRATEFUL FOR PDS AND HIGHLY ENDORSE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

PDS has been exceptional with working with us and my son, who had a difficult time learning to read. Other private schools in the area ask you to get private tutoring, which can really add up especially when you are already paying private school tuition. PDS implemented a program to help those children that didn't learn to read at the same rate and they understand that every child is different and will learn at their own pace. I would highly recommend PDS!!!! Both of my children have absolutely loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

To the comment made on February 25th - 2012, I too agree with the parent that wrote down that PDS does view students in a very narrow minded view. And NO they do not accept any children that are not perfect. We had applied back in the fall of 2010 and was not accept, the reason, our child do not pronounce her words perfectly, thus the admission personnel labeled her problematic, and declined her. I have heard endless stories about PDS and their need for perfect from other parents , that PDS requires already taught children. The Giselle Test is very outdated; this what PDS weighs in evaluating entrance. Avoid PDS, it would be good advice to take.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

I totally disagree with the parent who is advising other to avoid PDS. Our child has been there 6 years and I would highly recommend the school. One reason we chose it is because of the more down to earth feel and diversity compared with other area private schools. It sounds like this parent's child was not admitted and his/her views are based on that decision. Yes, they do evaluate children on whether they will fit in and I suspect they have a good idea of which potential parents will cause issues as well. They are not looking for cookie cutter children and do have students with learning/social issues who are doing quite well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2012

I have seen a variety of better to do schools in other parts of the U.S. and internationally, which is sad to say that I would never in my right mind recommend Providence Day School. They are prejudice, expecting all potential students to be perfect, already taught, and an admissions staff that is living in an era not in sync with today. If you are new to the area, I would highly recommend any other school, unless you fall into their "cookie-cutter" mentality, and your child is perfect; it would also help that you are able to donate large sums to their treasure chest. It s a real shame, but the core of the problem lies with the admissions office, furthering their ignorant philosophies on potential candidates. From my direct experience, "PLEASE AVOID THIS SCHOOL", I say this to avoid your child being viewed under a microscope for all flaws, and you having to seek approval to see if you are good enough-in their "opinion". Being "bullied" and a "prejudice" mentality from this school is not something any sensible person would advocate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

I have been attending PDS for about 5-6 months. I have a lot of friends, great classes, teachers and have found myself being accepted. 1 month into the year I was elected Student Council. This school is amazing, and, unlike other schools, does not judge based on social status. I am thankful to my fellow students who have accepted me. GO CHARGERS!


Posted November 5, 2011

This school is great. I have gone here for only 2 years, yet I already feel right at home. Everyone is so nice and accepting. I don't understand how anyone couldn't like this school.


Posted October 17, 2011

Providence Day provides an exceptional education. We have three children at PDS and each of our children love this school! The teachers make learning fun and are always available for help if needed. The teachers have high expectations and provide a fast pace for the classrooms. Discipline issues are rare but handled quickly. PDS is a great school for students that are motivated and want to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

I am a student of 8 years, and would not recommend this school. There are teachers who have been at the school since it's humble beginnings, who have warped the goal and mission of the school. Money, social status, and your last name control who are in your classes, whether you make a team, and whether or not you can get elected as a class official. Every year, the teachers seem to already have a first impression of you, from your former teachers, or from the PTA (Parent-Teacher Association). Students who have gotten in trouble in the past are scrutinized, and badgered to the point that they cannot stand being in the school anymore, and begin to not care about school or to hate it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2011

PDS is not a nurturing environment. If your intelligent child does not have all the "ideal student characteristics" you can do one of two things. Contribute large sums of money or leave. Do not believe you can discuss issues with the Administrators it will label you as a non-cooperative parent. Once labeled that, your child will be scrutinized by teachers to find any and all behaviors that can be used to eject your child from their program. Ask how many students have been asked to leave the school for issues other than safety, drugs or alcohol related infractions. Know that grading varies from teacher to teacher in the Middle school and watch closely your child's behavior as relates to confidence and worry or stress related behaviors. Do not believe that the rule book is applied fairly according to the list. Do not faithfully trust that things are as they seem to be. Watch closely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The school has a great causes as in donating to Haiti in a fun way, and helping out JH Gunn, a less fortunate school. I love the school and have gone to PDS since TK or when i was 5 years old, ready to be a lifer! The teachers are loving, respectful and very caring. The students get along very well, and are a whole new little family. I know that this school is amazing because the years always go by so fast, and i always want it to slow down a bit more everyday so it will never end! PDS is definately a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2010

Amazing school. Teachers that really care about the students. I have three children attending and everyone is performing and over achieving. Best investment I have made in my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

Providence Day connects to the 'whole' child - mind, body, and soul, with programs that combine the best in academics, the arts , community outreach and global awaeness. My 2 boys are in 10th and 12th grades this year and have been at PDS since TK and K, respectively. Our tuition dollars are one of the best investment we could have ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

They care about well-rounded education and help us reach our individual potentials. It feels like home.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2009

best school i have ever been to and they have some of the best teachers in north carolina
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 53%
Black 9% 32%
Asian 3% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5800 Sardis Rd
Charlotte, NC 28270
Phone: (704) 887-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Providence Day School
Charlotte, NC


Montessori New School
Charlotte, NC


Rama Road Elementary
Charlotte, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT