Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Charlotte Latin School

Private | K-12 | 1338 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $250,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2010

Latin is probably the best school, academics-wise, that you could go to in Charlotte. The college admissions program is great and starts early. It's fairly competitive but not in a destructive way, and they don't publish class rank. You are generally friends with people who make the same grades as you. Socially, it's a small school. Everyone knows everything about everybody, and everyone's talking about it instantly. You get used to it. It's hard to start Latin as a freshman (I've been here since kindergarten) because it's very tight-knit. Focus on fitting in at first; don't try to start drama or anything to set you apart. The last issue I'll address is the honor code, which is a huge deal. No one cheats and it's a big deal when someone does. You just drop your backpack going to lunch and there aren't locks on lockers. It might seem weird to new students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2010

This is the best school you can go to. I still go to Charlotte Latin and I love the involvement and friendliness of the teachers. The subjects and things we are able to do are amazing and I have been so blessed to be able to go to this school. I don't think there is a school out there that can have more than CLS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2010

I graduated from CLS in 2009. I can honestly say that Latin taught me unbelievable principles and showed me the best thirteen years of my life. The teachers, students, and parents all feel like family, and the opportunities I was presented with were unbeatable. You would be hard-pressed to find a school as wonderful as Latin.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2010

One of Charlotte's top schools. Top scholars in state and state reknown athletic programs. Where Charlotte's brightest and finest send their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

Amazing teachers who care about each student as individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

We moved to Charlotte in 1998. Our 6th grade son was accepted into Latin and it was the best thing for him. His 6th grade math teach caught a reading disability that would never have been found. My two daughters were in Catholic elementary schools. We liked the MACS system, but found Latin to be a better fit. The sports and extracurricular were an integral part of the mix. All three kids were accepted at great colleges and all went to their 'first' choice. It was expensive but well worth it. Parents at the school are really dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

I attended Latin K-10. Leaving was devastating, as it was all I'd ever known. The facilities are beauitful-such an incredible campus. Excellent teachers. Definitely tough curriculum. My whole family is a huge Dr. Fox fan (he was the previous headmaster.) Latin has instilled in me lifelong integrity and honor. Great sports and fine arts programs. If the student body were any smaller, the diversity would be really compromised. Can be tough socially and academically (very competitive atmosphere at times) and the parent politics gets old, as w/ all HS and private schools, but if given the opportunity to do it again, I'd do it all the same. I feel very blessed to have the foundation I've been given at CLS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2009

Charlotte Latin is by far the best school in North Carolina. More students here earn top scholarships than any other private school. The facilities are also the best in the state. Best students, best families, best staff and best administration. Where you go if you want the finest education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

Incredible school! I have three children at Latin. Caring teachers who are highly educated and are truly there for the students. Students are responsible, respectful and held to high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

i love this schol i went here and it was great and a lot of my friends still go there


Posted November 7, 2008

We have a 3rd grader that has been at CLS since kindergrarten. The school is fantastic. The teachers have always been open to dialouge with the parents on any issues. The cirriculum is challenging but not over the top hard either. Just the right mix. The Headmaster instills values from the top down that impacts students AND parents. For example, they are aware that cliques can form even in these early years and they stay on top of potential social issues and nip in the bud. Including calling parents in to discuss things if necessary. They expect excellence without creating pressure for the student a perfect balance. Highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

Our three children were educated at Charlotte Latin and I feel like the school helped us raise them! There are so many positive comments I could make about our family's time at Latin. Most importantly, the values that we instilled in our children at home were reinforced at school. Administration and faculty were readily available to our children and to us. Highly recommend CLS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

After watching siblings attend this school, I can tell that it has a great social atmosphere. However academically, this school is pretty much on the same level as a public school. It all depends on what you want to pay private school tuition for- but if you're expecting something more than you'd get at a good public elementary like Beverly Woods, you're going to be disappointed.


Posted April 4, 2008

Charlotte Latin not only has great teachers, but it also is a welcoming and caring environment. I am a student at Charlotte Latin and although the classes are fairly difficult the teachers are always willing to help the students, no matter what. When new students come to the school, the other students are always eager to meet them. My grade is about 100 students, which allows everyone to know each other. I love my school and I look forward to going to school in the mornings.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2007

This is, by far the best private school on the east coast. The faculty is great, and fair. And all of the students follow what is called the Honor Code.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2005

Charlotte Latin has given me fabulous preparation for the demands of college. The faculty are enthusiastic about their jobs and moral values are highly stressed. The extracurricular activities are vast and appeal to all sorts of talents. Whatever your child enjoys, it is sure to be nourished and appreciated by the faculty. There are roughly 100 students per grade who had known eachother for their entire lives (CLS is a PK-12 school). It is hard for a student to hop into CLS during middle or high school and break into this tightly-knit social group. Some students have to cope with an unsatisfactory or nonexistent social life. Some even left for these reasons during my time there. My recommendation is to put your student into the school atleast by grade 5, so he or she can become close with 15 to 20 of their peers in the same year. It would help greatly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

I am a student at Charlotte Latin. I have been there my whole life (since Pre-K) and have loved every minute of it. Latin has given me so many opportunities and room to shine that I know I would not have received at other schools. In addition, the I have found mentors in many of my teachers. The teachers go beyond just giving you a great education in the classroom, but become your trusted friend. I would strongly recommend Latin to any student and I know that my parents feel the same way.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 53%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Black 3% 32%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (704) 846-1712

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9502 Providence Rd
Charlotte, NC 28277
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 846-7299

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Mckee Road Elementary
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT