Advertisement

Charlotte Christian School

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2012

I have 2 children at CCS. We have been CCS parents for 7 years. There hasn't been one moment when I have second guessed our school choice. The feeling of family and comadrie helps the children feel supported and guided through the difficult academic standards. Every one of my children's teachers are open and available. I could not recommend CCS more highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

What a great school to send your child for a wonderful academic education, as well as social, emotional, spiritual, and athletic learning/training! We are truly blessed by the experience our 3 children have at Charlotte Christian School. The teachers are fabulous, loving & nurturing. The staff are very instrumental in assuring our children succeed, with necessary encouragement to perservere. We could not be happier at this institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

My child had never enjoyed school, ever. He attended a summer camp program at Charlotte Christian and was so welcomed and encouraged by his experience that he asked, no begged, to be allowed to transfer to this school. We were skeptical until we went thru the admissions process and met the staff. It wasn't long before we realized what a truly awesome place this is. The kindness, respect and welcome families and their students recieve at CCS is the way all Christians should behave, what a shining example they are to everyone! After 4 years there I still feel the same way. LOVE LOVE LOVE the spirit of CCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

we were treated very poorly by the admissions department at this school we were moving to charlotte and were assured by the admissions department that our child had a spot at this school. i even asked admissions should we be pursuing other schools just in case our child is not accepted they said absolutely not. once we moved here they turned us away. this was devastating to us because we did not want our child in public school. we had to scramble to find another private school for our child. i would never want another family to go through this experience. this happend during the schoool year the admissions departmenttold us we were lucky to get this news by phone and not by letter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

Our family is in its 4th year experience with Charlotte Christian Lower School. We have 3 children now attending and cannot say enough great things about the principle, teachers and campus. The faculty and staff are continuously seeking innovative ways for the children to learn and thrive for succes in academics, as well as social, spiritual & emotional development. It is a wonderful, nurturing environment and keeps our children enthusiatic & wanting to go back each day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Charlotte Christian School gives all it's students a love for Christ, confidence to meet the world and an academic foundation that allows them to do whatever they desire to do in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2008

My son recently completed his freshman year at CCS after attending CMS public schools. I was not only very worried about him starting high school but also transferring in as one of the 'new kids'. Needless to say, my fears were unwarranted. Within no time, my son joined a sports team and made many new friends. He came home after only 4 weeks at his new school stating that the teachers really seemed to care about each and every student. The secretary remembered my name and my son's name after my first visit to the main office and parents were very welcoming. All of my son's classes were challenging and because the school is not overcrowded, my son had many opportunities to participated and try out a variety of new activities. I found the guidance department and administration to be responsive and helpful to questions regarding my son's future college plans.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

Our son just graduated from CCS, having attended there since 3rd grade, with the exception of one year spent in the CMS public school system. We have found CCS to offer a loving environment in which the teachers genuinely care for the educational and spiritual welfare of each and every child. Finally, compared with other private schools in the area, it is an outstanding value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

i love charlotte christian and have been attending since 5th grade so i have experienced what it is like. in no way in my experience has charlotte christian catered to the 'children should be seen and not heard' quote. as a matter of fact debates are encouraged in all classes i've been involved in. they offer so much including missions trips senior trip the annual trip to windy gap, extra curricular activities and an amazing sports program. the reasonable student to teacher ratio allows time for students to meet with teachers when necessary. things to look forward to are the 8th grade week long trip to washington, windy gap, homecoming, prom, senior trip to breckonridge, harvard model congress in boston and so much more including the privilege to worship God at school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2006

Charlotte Christian School is the best educational experience my family has ever had! Every single person working there is enthusiastic about their job, whether it is classroom teacher, nurse, coach or secretary. They treat their students with the upmost respect and set a wonderful example of how to treat others by example. This it TRULY a Christian school - no one is preaching hell fire and brimstone. The kids are being taught biblical principles, but no one religion is emphasized. In fact, about 100 different churchs are represented in the student body. My son has loved going to school since transferring there, and his grades have never been better. He will be very well prepared for college in a few years. I cannot recommend this school highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

My child is in the elementary school at CCS. The academic program is excellent. All material is presented w/enthusiasm and hands on activities are incorporated as much as possible. For example, my child's 1st grade class published an Easter Alphabet book. Each child was responsible for submitting a page for the book which included a drawing and copy for the letter of the alphabet assigned to him. Through this process they learned about the publishing process, practiced their handwriting and composition skills, art skills, etc. How awesome is this? This is just one example of many I could relate. The extracurricular activities abound at all age levels-too many to list. If you want a top private school, safe w/challenging academics but w/a loving atmosphere for your child, CCS is for you! Excellent Administrators-Teachers-Families-Volunteers, all working together. The most sincere review comes from my child, she loves going to school & learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2006

Personally i believe CCS is a great school. I have been going to CCS for 10 years now and i plan on graduating from there. If want an enviorment where your child can grow and be encouraged in his/her faith along with getting a great education then CCS is the place for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2006

Communication and oppurtunities abound at CCS. So, if a parent is not aware of their childs progress, it is the parents neglect. Parent participation last year was greater than 70% on this nearly 1,000 student campus. As any successful parent knows, a student cannot achieve without nuturing, discipline, encouragement and steadfastness. Teachers, assistants, and principals available by e-mail, voice mail, conferences, 'parent coffees', and practically anytime one has a need. All the amenities one would expect of first class school. Swimming and tennis facilities, theater, band, dance, junior and varsity sports, discovery center with oodles of programs such as after-school and saturday SAT prep; also after school tutoring for core subjects--most with no additional fee--by the subjects teacher for continuity of learning. Clubs and fundays are plenty. If only there were more than 168 hours in a week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

After attending public and another private school in Charlotte, Charlotte Christian is a breath of fresh air. The relationship between students and teachers is far superior to any school we have attended. The students are truly respected and in turn they respect the teachers. Another plus here is the academics. If your student needs a regular class, honors or AP...you have that choice. At one of the competeing schools, a regular class was absolutely not regular. An honors class was more like AP. The competition was high stress. At CCS you do get a better choice of electives. For example, CPR trainning to sports medicine to anatomy. The families that attend are genuine. It is the friendliest of all the shools we have been involved with. Everyone is included to help with developing the school, not JUST the largest contributers. The religion is taught with everyone in mind
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

This school caters to old saying that 'children should be seen and not heard'. It does not take in to consideration that children in adolescents have special problems and needs. Being a Christian school, I was terribly disapointed after my child entered middle school that he was treated with such disrespect and disregard.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 53%
Black 9% 32%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 1% 11%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7301 Sardis Rd
Charlotte, NC 28270
Phone: (704) 366-5657

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cyzner Institute
Charlotte, NC





Lansdowne Elementary
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT