Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Berean Junior Academy

Private | PK-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $107,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2012

My daughter has been at Berean for almost two years. During this time, she has excelled academically and I am pleased with how she has developed socially. While, I am VERY hands on with her outside of BJA, I give credit to the teachers who, I believe are instrumental in her development. The teachers are caring and the principal is very hands on in each student's development. They provide a great foundation and would recommend them to any parent that is in search of a Christian centered environment with great academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

My experience with Berean Academy has been great! The principal and staff are excellent with my children. I am extremely pleased with my childs academic level. I tutor my child outside of Berean to insure they are at there appropriate levels and have found that they are well above grade level. For peace of mind I would encourage every parent to do so. The key to best education happens when you feed your childs brain with the best at school as well as outside. I recommend Berean to any parent looking for the perfect balance of Christ centered based learning and great academics.,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

BJA provides an excellent Christian and loving environment for the children, but when it comes to academics, they are seriously lacking. They do not have the materials to provide the children with an excellent academic education. I had a child that attended BJA and had to place my child elsewhere, because of the lack of education. My child was seriously behind in grade level and had been with BJA since Kendergarten. If you just want a christian and loving environment, then BJA is the way to go, but if you also want strong academics, you may want to consider another school for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

My children has been a student at BJA for since pre-k, now in 6th grade, I do agree the environment is wonderful and my children are receiving christian education, the teachers are loving and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

My child was a student at BJA. The school provided a wonderful environment for learning and personal/spiritual growth. She now a junior in high school with a 4.00 gpa. I beleive that it is partially because of the foundation she recieved at BJA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

Berean junior academy is a growing school that offers superb education for my children. The teachers are concerned and value the education that each child recieves.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 32%
Hispanic 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 53%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3748 Beatties Ford Rd
Charlotte, NC 28216
Phone: (704) 391-7800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Berean Junior Academy
Charlotte, NC




Brisbane Academy
Charlotte, NC


Ranson Middle
Charlotte, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT