Advertisement

The Fletcher School

Private | K-12 | 213 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $275,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

Fletcher has a dedicated staff and they truly care and cater to the children in their school and help their students to learn. They have great facilities as well. Fletcher has a defined student criteria that they work with which is important to understand. If the child does not fit in their criteria they do not accept them. This is not that the child is bad, they are just focused on the children they can best serve. It would be nice if everyone had such a clear vision of whom they could serve best and followed that vision even if it costs them money..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

I was sorely disappointed with the admissions process at Fletcher School. After submitting the application and hefty $300 fee required to accompany it, we were not granted a basic classroom visit for our child to determine eligibility. The admissions director indicated that she spoke to one of our child's therapists to support her decision, but when I followed up with the therapist, no conversation had apparently taken place. Overall, it was a disingenuous experience which left a bitter taste in my mouth. I would not recommend this school to others. (Sorry, I cannot accurately measure the other 2 areas as I have had no experience with the teachers and parents personally.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

I have heard wonderful things about this school, however, I have been very frustrated about my son's transition. His teacher doesn't seem to understand all his learning difficulties and is very quick to discipline him for things that are outside of his control. I thought it would be an understanding place for my son, but the public school teachers have been much kinder and more understanding. Not sure if we will return for another year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2012

We hoped this school would be the perfect fit for our son. Unfortunately, we were flabbergasted by comments made during a recent visit by a key member of the staff here. The comments were insensitive to children, specifically kids with more significant learning and social issues. I have tried several times to elaborate on this and each time, great schools does not accept my review. I wish I could be more specific regarding the comments. Suffice it to say these comments made me feel sick inside and convinced me to never ever reconsider this school despite its unique nature for kids with learning disabilities. The staff sure seemed sweet but quickly turned on me. I would encourage anyone to dig deeper and ask lots of questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

We are very happy with Fletcher -- my son has attended (for 5 years) since 1st grade after struggling for several years in preschool, transitional kindergarten and kindergarten. He finally started to get his self-esteem back in 1st grade when he transferred into Fletcher. Small class sizes and a lot of repetition has remediated his reading completely. He has other learning issues (esp. slow processing) and they are very patient with him. I love the school so much -- don't know how it compares to other LD schools, but I know it has worked miracles in our lives. Fletcher has also increased its sports and after school options for the kids. It's a wonderful family environment. Lots of compassion here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

This is a very good school for LD children and their parents. Our son attended a similar school in another city. We refused to relocate to other locations due to the lack of learning support offered at Fletcher. While not quite meeting the standards of our previous school, Charlotte parents are lucky to have Fletcher. As is the case at any school, some teachers are better than others but the Administration is outstanding. Our son was able to 'mainstream' into a private middle school with very little difficulty. He currently maintains a 3.2 GPA at local private college prep school and participates in various school activities. Bottom Line - there are better LD schools but they are few and very far between.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2004

This is a rare gem of a school. Fletcher provides skill building for children with learning disabilities, in an environment where children are able to build self-esteem and confidence in their unique abilities. They are somewhat limited in their approach, using only Orton-Gillingham as a remediating tool. However, the 6x1 class size and highly sensitive staff provide solid skill building and confidence for the children. Parent teacher conferences and performance reporting are comprehensive and highly individualized--not boiler plate. We were very fortunate to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 53%
Asian 1% N/A
Black 1% 32%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Hispanic 0% 11%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (704) 364-2978

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8500 Sardis Rd
Charlotte, NC 28270
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 365-4658

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Fletcher School
Charlotte, NC







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT