Advertisement

Omni Montessori School

Private | PK-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $250,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2013

We had our child there for almost three years in the primary classroom. While we were there, the head of the school changed bringing a HUGE improvement in the school. He is a great head of the school and great teacher. The teachers however are the same. Very prepared on the method, but less on handling diversity and sometimes way too invasive on private matters. This has been pretty difficult for our child. Also, I have witnessed some quite unprofessional behaviors of teachers, who think of learning disabilities in normal children because they don't behave as expected. Glad it was not with us, however. Hopefully the head of the school will change that as well. The parent involvement is for sure a lot. Unfortunately, it is pretty difficult to get connected with people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

I attended Omni Montessori for 4 years. I enjoyed it, academically, but socially it is not the best place to grow up. Omni is very obsessed with labels. In the Upper Elementary and Adolescent programs, students judge others easily based on clothes, parents, etc. My parents divorced while I was still a student, and they lost many friends because of it. Parents at Omni are shallow, rude, and narcissistic. I had to deal with rude adults many times as a child. Also, Omni plays favorite families. A family that helps the school very much (financially, of course) yet has a child with strong behavioral problems is totally ignored, creating an unfortunate environment for other students. I am overall disappointed at the fake-ness of the parents and the students. Also, the quality of the teachers has greatly deteriorated in the past five years. I wouldn't really recommend this school to anyone unless they were looking at Primary. Montessori was originally intended for early education. NOT high school. If your child is a preschooler that would benefit from an alternative teaching style, this may be the place for them. An older student? Less so.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2011

As of the 2010-2011 school year, Omni does offer an outstanding afterschool program. Our family has been at Omni for 10 years and it is an outstanding environment for children age 3 through 9th grade. I hope they add a high school program soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

My daughter has attended Omni Montessori for 4 years. She loves her school and so do we! The academics are great. By the time she 5 was multiplying and dividing, She was also reading very well and writing in cursive. She is in first grade now and loves being in a new classroom with 2nd and 3rd graders. IT is a TRUE montessori environment so she gets to choose her work and move around the classroom, they work a lot in small groups so she really learns how to work well with others. She has incredible focus and concentration. If you are searching for an AMI certified Montessori program - this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

Excellent school, dedicated loving teachers, outstanding academics. Lack of afterschool care make very difficult for working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

Omni is an extraordinary school. Passionate teachers, caring community, superior academics, unique life experiences for the students. Our family has been at Omni for ten wonderful years. I can't imagine a better place for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

I love this school. The teachers are passionate about teaching and the parents are dedicated. I wish they had after-school care. The lack of this care makes it difficult for wroking families to remain in Omni.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2008

We didn't even get to experience the school. My 2 3/4 years old daughter was not excepted. She wouldn't sit still on a stool for 20 min. and keep her hand in her lap. These are the instructions we received from the teacher before the interview: 'Don't touch anything. Keep hands in lap while listening.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2006

I am very impressed with this school. My daughter is 7 and this is her first year at Montessori. Usually children begin at 3-4 years old. I told the staff about her learning and attention problems and they were very willing to work with her and help her develop good learning styles. Her teacher is patient and understands kids all develop at a different pace. They focus on the childrens' strenghts and help to develop their weaknesses. Wonderful supportive environment but kids must learn to work independtly with supervised guidance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

Our experience with this school has been excellent. We have a 3 year old who started this year, and a 7 year old in his second year. The system is very different from other CMS schools. Kids need to be able to work in a less structured environment where they must learn to be self-directed and responsible for the work they do. This is a great life skill, but does not come easily to every child. The advantage is that kids develop core skills in the context of their own special interests. They choose their own work, and the topics they want to explore. We have found the teachers to be very perceptive about the strengths and capabilities of both our kids. The school wants each kid to excel, and they have high expectations of the children. We think the schoold is terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2004

Our experience with our AMI school has been very poor. His confidence in himself has undermined in nearly every way by his teacher/head of school. This woman seems to be pathologic in her zeal to diagnose not only our son with various learning dysfunctions/disorders/processing and sensory delays but several other students in her classroom. According to her expertise, our son has gross motor skill developmental delays (he is a star basketball player on his team, a great baseball player, ice hockey, tennis and has coach references stating this diagnosis is absurd. The teacher calls conferences monthly that last an average of 2 hours per session. Yet, we are told our son is improving steadily. When told we must go back to work/family she continues to expound on her latest reading insights into childrens develpment delay issues. Why can a child not just be a child and learn at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 53%
Black 18% 32%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 4% 11%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9536 Blakeney Heath Rd
Charlotte, NC 28277
Phone: (704) 541-1326

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kids R Kids School
Charlotte, NC


Hawk Ridge Elementary
Charlotte, NC




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT