Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-9
Private
Charlotte, NC
Students enrolled: 175
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Omni Montessori School 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
The children at Omni skip into school - they literally cannot wait to be there. The teachers are all incredibly dedicated to providing an authentic Montessori experience for the students. The administration supports the teachers and the parents, always striving to improve upon an already fabulous school. And the parents are equally committed. In essence, Omni is a thriving community where children and adults alike love to learn.

Omni Montessori School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Not only is the level of homework just right, it is meaningful and allows children to be children.


Omni Montessori School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Omni guides its students to learn from mistakes made. The focus is on the process as opposed to the product.

Omni Montessori School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Within each classroom at Omni, respect for self and others is a cornerstone of the community.

Omni Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
The students at Omni look outside themselves. They discover that they are passionate about endangered animals, those less fortunate, etc. The students themselves will design fundraisers for their causes and carry them out. At a very young age, these students learn that they can make a difference in the world.


Omni Montessori School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Omni provides a wonderful atmosphere for children to grow and learn. They taught to be independent and to love learning. The staff is amazing and I'm so proud to have two children in the school.

Omni Montessori School 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
This school was a disappointment in many ways. From the staff to the administration and beyond. Unfortunate because The Montessori Philosophy is wonderful.

Omni Montessori School 3

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
We had our child there for almost three years in the primary classroom. While we were there, the head of the school changed bringing a HUGE improvement in the school. He is a great head of the school and great teacher. The teachers however are the same. Very prepared on the method, but less on handling diversity and sometimes way too invasive on private matters. This has been pretty difficult for our child. Also, I have witnessed some quite unprofessional behaviors of teachers, who think of learning disabilities in normal children because they don't behave as expected. Glad it was not with us, however. Hopefully the head of the school will change that as well. The parent involvement is for sure a lot. Unfortunately, it is pretty difficult to get connected with people.


Omni Montessori School 1

Posted December 13, 2011
- a student
I attended Omni Montessori for 4 years. I enjoyed it, academically, but socially it is not the best place to grow up. Omni is very obsessed with labels. In the Upper Elementary and Adolescent programs, students judge others easily based on clothes, parents, etc. My parents divorced while I was still a student, and they lost many friends because of it. Parents at Omni are shallow, rude, and narcissistic. I had to deal with rude adults many times as a child. Also, Omni plays favorite families. A family that helps the school very much (financially, of course) yet has a child with strong behavioral problems is totally ignored, creating an unfortunate environment for other students. I am overall disappointed at the fake-ness of the parents and the students. Also, the quality of the teachers has greatly deteriorated in the past five years. I wouldn't really recommend this school to anyone unless they were looking at Primary. Montessori was originally intended for early education. NOT high school. If your child is a preschooler that would benefit from an alternative teaching style, this may be the place for them. An older student? Less so.

Omni Montessori School 5

Posted May 04, 2011
- a parent
As of the 2010-2011 school year, Omni does offer an outstanding afterschool program. Our family has been at Omni for 10 years and it is an outstanding environment for children age 3 through 9th grade. I hope they add a high school program soon!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Omni Montessori School
9536 Blakeney Heath Road, Charlotte, NC  28277
Last modified Omni Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades K-9
Omni Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top