Advertisement

Providence Christian School

Private | PK-K | 55 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $281,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 30, 2009

PCS is a Pre-K through 8th grade school with a rich tradition of academic excellence. Small class sizes, loving teachers, and strong academics are what a student experiences when he or she comes to PCS. PCS is made up of approximately 200 students in Pre-K-8th grade. If you read anything that concerns you, please do not hesitate to email or call me or drop by to talk about it. PCS is a wonderful school of which I am pleased to serve as Head of School.

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2009

'We looked at a lot of schools for our three boys before settling on PCS. We sought a school that we were confident would provide not only excellent academics, but also a high-level of physical, emotional, and spiritual care for our children. We have been at the school for three years, and we have not been disappointed that we chose PCS.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

We are a middle class family. Each year we have to re-evaluate the financial investment along with the academic goals that we set for our children s education. No private (or public) school is perfect and we look forward to the addition of more extracurricular activities and more academically advanced courses at PCS. In these economic challenging times, the decision to faithfully remain at PCS the past 3 years has been made easy because of the teachers, staff, and parent volunteers. PCS is a safe and blooming environment with wonderful traditions as well. Our sons are learning to be more like Jesus, to be persons of character. The teachers model this to them and we know that at some level, it is sinking in, along with the ABC s and fundamentals to higher education. We joyfully support PCS because our boys are thriving, learning, praying, making friends and being challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

We have been at PCS for many years and have been very pleased with the loving christian environment provided by the teacher's and staff. Academics have been good but feel some students could be challenged more. PCS is a great Christian school to attend with having smaller classroom sizes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

My children go to this school and I love it! The teachers are very caring individuals and take on personal outreach to let parents know how children are progressing and my children learn so much more in the smaller classroom style settings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I have been associated with the school for 3 years and have been blown away by the love and concern the teachers show for the students. They challenge the students with high expectations and the students reach them because of the loving culture. You don't have to believe me, but you can see for yourself with a daily tour.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

I sent my children to the school for MANY years thinking that they had and maintained a high level of cuurriculm. However, after leaving and going to the public system, I discovered that my children were behind. I also now know of other parents who had to have tutoring for their children after leaving PCS. If considering this school, you will want to see in writing the curriculm and how it compares to that in the public system. I will give kudos to the Shirley language and the loving teachers. However, 'Buyer Beware!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2009

Great school! I am proud to have my daughter in this excellent christian school for the last four years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

I have been involved with Providence Christian School for three years and would challenge those to take a close look at the school. Students are being accepted who are not performing on grade level and require extra attention from the teachers. PCS has gone from expecting high expectation from students who are average achievers. The teachers work very hard for very little compensation. Good teachers have been forced to leave because the pay is too low. The tuition is low compared to other Christian schools but one needs to ask how the staff can continue to work when their cost of living increases but not their salary. PCS is a good small Christian school, but they are not the top rate education providers they say. Things have changed since they achieved blue ribbon status five years ago.


Posted December 12, 2007

My daughter has been attending PCS for 4 years and has absolutely loved it. She is getting a top rate education as well as nutured in a loving environment. I can not say enough about the staff and their committment to education, children but mostly to their calling as ministers in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 53%
Black 3% 32%
Hispanic 2% 11%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • US Dept of Education Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award in 2004

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jack Exum
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • ACSI
  • NCSA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4906 Providence Rd
Charlotte, NC 28226
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 364-0824

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lansdowne Elementary
Charlotte, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT