Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
204 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charlotte Islamic Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
All present and previous teachers deserve a big thank you and maybe that is not enough. We all need to work to support them and give them what they need to succeed in the classroom.

Charlotte Islamic Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
The qualified teachers are the cornerstone of the academy. What they give and sacrifice for their students is truly inspiring.


Charlotte Islamic Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
The homework load I have seen is not taxing and is equal to the student grade levels.

Charlotte Islamic Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
Students are challenged to give it their all and to not give up pursuing their objectives.

Charlotte Islamic Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
The students have a deep understanding of what it means to respect teachers, those older than them, adults, and scholars.


Charlotte Islamic Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
The students in the academy are encouraged to empathize with those less fortunate and give from their own savings.

Charlotte Islamic Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
Students in the academy are instructed and held to a higher standard than your average public school.

Charlotte Islamic Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
The Academy has a great Islamic environment, qualified staff, top-notch academics and the new changes are looking good.


Charlotte Islamic Academy 1

Posted August 17, 2015
- a student
Charlotte Islamic Academy is by far the worst school in the area. If you're looking to enroll your child in this school I recommend you not, especially if they are in 6th grade or higher. The school is very expensive and you're not getting you're money's worth, not to mention tuition does NOT include uniform, textbooks, or school trips. Teachers are rude and unorganized, sleep in class, sometimes don't even show up. When teachers are absent, they're so low on staff and actual teachers with degrees, they get the principal, janitor, or any graduate from the school to babysit the class. Haram this, haram that. "Cover up!" "Your hair is showing" "Put your sleeves down" "Your nails are too long, go to the office to cut them" "Your hijab/abaya is see-through" "No skinny jeans" "No tight anything" "No button down abaya" "You have nail polish on, come to the office with me" "Your hair is showing for the 2nd time, go call your parents to take you home" "No wearing pajamas under your abaya" "No colored hijabs" "No mismatching socks" ?? While the boys are wearing shorts and tank tops outside, the girls have to wear black long abayas and a hijab out in 80 degree weather. Sexism at its finest. No air conditioning in the summertime, no heating in the winter. In the winter, we don't go outside, we knit for a grade, oh and what are the boys doing upstairs? watching movies. How does that make sense and why is that okay? They pull all the girls aside and lecture them about being modest and covering up and that if your arms or hair is showing, it's going to "distract the boys" I think the boys can care less if my ankle is showing or not. The food that is served at the school gives you stomach pain afterwards and on more than one occasion I found hair pieces in my food. All in all WAY too many rules especially for a school in America. Most of the students have lived in America all their lives where there's much freedom to be and express yourself and then their parents think an Islamic school is great for them and it's like their living in Saudi Arabia from how strict this school is. The only good thing I have to say is that Mr. String was the only good teacher who actually taught you and let you speak your mind and let you have an opinion.

Charlotte Islamic Academy 5

Posted January 19, 2015
- a parent
We multiple children enrolled in the Charlotte Islamic Academy and we are LOVING this Academy. The teachers are cooperative, caring, qualified and show interest in our children's education and well-being. Our children are excelling in math, reading, and Arabic/Islamic studies. We feel the Academy environment improves their manners and behavior. Pricing is 75% cheaper than other Charlotte-area private schools! We have seen the Academy make great strides and improvements, and we hope for this Academy to progress and become the best in town. If you are really interested in enrolling your child in the Academy and want an honest opinion, call up a PTO or a parent and ask him/her about the Academy's performance and their experience.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charlotte Islamic Academy
4301 Shamrock Drive, Charlotte, NC  28215
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews.
Last modified Charlotte Islamic Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top