Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

4-12|Private
51 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Manus Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
Generally there was no homework (!), and if there was my fourth grader was given assignments that were geared for a first grader. Downright insulting!

Manus Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 30, 2015
- a community member
I am so grateful to my teacher Lesley, I have said in the other sections but seriously I am insanely thankful for all she did for me. My life was so messed up, I had no idea what was up or down at the time, and I came there even though for a short period of time and it was her kindness and helpfulness that truly made me start the recovery that I needed. So I don’t know if she will ever see this but I am so thankful, thanks to you I realized I could do the work, and I was more than capable. I remember I went back the next year when I was in college, and you offered to help me then to. No one else did that no other school would do that. Lesley truly cares and is an amazing person and I just want her to know that.


Manus Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a community member
if it hadnt been for this school i would of been a high school dropout/ now i am going for my second degree in college. so yes this school develops persistence and determination.

Manus Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a community member
again yes because thanks to Lesley my teacher i went from not caring to doing so well i finished my senior year early.

Manus Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a community member
Because the school helped me become a better person by be honest in my short comings and asking for help when i needed it. If a student needs help they are there to help and they show you ways to understand it and will stick with a student until they do get it.


Manus Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a community member
when i attended Manus Academy my life was in chaos, and Manus gave me a chance and because of their school i complete turned my life around. i had a great teacher named Lesley who helped me when ever i needed it. I went from a student who didn't care to a student who finished early and graduated despite the everything against me. Since leaving the school i have needed help a few times, and they have always offered to help me be it tutoring or if i just needed paper work done. i would recommend this school to anyone.

Manus Academy 1

Posted March 03, 2015
- a student
Miserable place. I don't even know where to begin.... The self-paced/mastery system sounds like a great idea on paper, but it can cause students diagnosed with LDs to fall unnecessarily far behind. The rules are ludicrous and way too structured, to the point where I swear those rules are in place to avoid lawsuits. It felt more like a prison than a school. I feel like the administration of Manus are more in it for the wealth than actually caring about creating an environment where students can recognize and achieve their full potential. Don't give these people your money. Avoid like the plague.

Manus Academy 5

Posted August 05, 2012
- a parent
Manus Academy was able to tailor education to my son's exact learning profile. It's great to bring your child to a place that assesses, tracks, and modifies the program to your child's needs. Roseanne and staff will advance your child where he/she can excel and work with your child 1:1 where he/she needs help. Expensive but worth the investment in creating life long learners.


Manus Academy 5

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
Manus Academy is awesome! Small classrooms with an excellent curriculum! My son loves this school!! He has progressed beautifully where he was drowning in public school. Great parent/teacher relationships!

Manus Academy 5

Posted January 11, 2009
- a parent
Fabulous school! Lots of one on one attention and good communication with parents

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manus Academy
6203 Carmel Road, Charlotte, NC  28226
Last modified Manus Academy is a Private school that serves grades 4-12
Manus Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top