Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Christian Preparatory School

Private | 8-12 | 85 students

Teachers creatively teach students based on their individual learning styles.

 
 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2013

We love this small private high school, which features small class sizes, extremely caring teachers and staff, and a interesting and often quirky student body. What most impresses me is the demonstrated desire by the staff to constantly learn and grow as teachers. Every summer the teachers participate in staff development around a particular need they see in their students. During the school year this pays off for students and their families as the school implements new ideas based on their research and--this is so important--their students needs. In the three years we've had a students there we've seen her develop academically, emotionally and socially. Now we have a second child at the school. Financially this is not easy for us--but the difference it makes for our kids is worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

We are so grateful (and relieved!) to have found a school that our son wants to go to every day and where he feels successful. The teachers make an effort to teach the material in a way that engages the students and considers their individual learning styles and interests, without all the unnecessary pressure and load of homework at most schools today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

I have watched Trinity grow over the past several years and I have seen nothing but outstanding performance from both the staff and the students. I have seen young adults with no hope for an academic future find a place at Trinity that both accepts and nurtures their individual learning style. The principal has a clam kind heart and his vision is to see young adults succeed. I highly recommend sending any child to this school and know that they will be given the chance to achieve wonderful things.


Posted April 27, 2011

Trinity is a wonderful school with small classes and knowledgable, attentive teachers. The administration keeps parents informed and encourages us to be involved. The principal is a gem of a man who is loved by his students and is a firm, but fair disciplinarian. Trinity has been like family to us, where my son has been able to flourish and grow not only academically, but spiritually, and personally as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

My son attended Trinity after being expelled from his previous school. Trinity Prep provided the supportive and structured environment we didn't know how to give him at home. We've become better parents and better Christians thanks to Trinity. They went out of their way to get to know him as an individual and to address his academic needs personally. Before he went to Trinity, our son didn't want to go to college, now he's on the Dean's List.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2004

Trintiy provides a warm, individualized, safe student environment with an emphasis on Christian. Classes are taught despite the subject from a Christian perspective, providing insight into values as well as the scholastic material. All students participate in group activities and projects giving them a sense of belonging and bringing out their particular qualities. This environment builds selfesteem and encourages students to do their best. Material is presented so that if it is not immediately mastered it is discovered and addressed. Trinity has been a blessing to our Daughter. We are now looking forward to college.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 100% 53%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Black 0% 32%
Hispanic 0% 11%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation NC State
High Point University
University of NC Campuses
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Anime club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:15 pm
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • NIPSA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Hands-on
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Kiwanis Club
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Golf

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Anime club
  • Game club
  • Key Club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
NC State
High Point University
University of NC Campuses
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7516 East Independence Blvd
Suite 100
Charlotte, NC 28227
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 569-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT