Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy 4

Posted May 28, 2016
- a parent
The chance they give students to be challenged, awesome! Accelerating the work level without students skipping a grade, awesome! Children skipping grades is not good scocially.

Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a parent
The grading system is too vauge. There is no rubric students don't know what they need to work on more or less. Students don't get the chance to fix their mistakes to make their work better, they are very complacent.


Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy 3

Posted April 04, 2016
- a community member
If your child is 'gifted" in math and science, then Scholars is a good option. When our son began at Scholars in 2006, the school was smaller, well-rounded, and embraced the education of all types of gifted students. But over the years, there has been a definite push for the school to move in the direction of math and science. I wish we would have realized this sooner and not kept him there for middle school.

Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a student
Firstly, let me say that I'm a Scholars alumna who attended all the way from kindergarten through eighth grade. It was an interesting experience, and I think that I'm better off for having gone to Scholars. The thing that has benefited me the most is definitely the accelerated classes. I'm already taking Chemistry, English II and Pre-Calc (which is mostly Algebra II review, ugh) as a freshman, much to the surprise of some of my classmates. I'm actually finding high school rather easy, even though I'm in the IB (International Baccalaureate) program. The intense (and occasionally superfluous) workload at Scholars certainly makes 9th grade standards seem lax. Other than a homework load that suffers from spasmodic bouts of absurd excessiveness, the other thing I disliked about Scholars was the social atmosphere. Although it was gratifying to be with peers who were (generally) equally as committed to academics as myself, the unrelenting torrent of utter "geekdom" could get tiring. As an extension of this, the academically oriented atmosphere generates a lot of competition and a huge amount of arrogance in those students who consistently achieve high marks. Furthermore, because of small class sizes and little introduction of new students, the social situation quickly becomes stagnant. If you want to learn how to make new friends, don't go to Scholars. All in all, Scholars is a decent school with rigorous standards when it comes to the amount (and generally quality) of work one is expected to do, but it students generally suffer from sever social awkwardness by the time they manage to free themselves from the quagmire of nerdiness that is Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy. TL;DR Scholars was usually academically challenging, which I appreciate, but I shed no tears when it was time to graduate. I shed like negative five tears (which isn't physically possible, but just go with it for the sake of the metaphor).

Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 25, 2016
- a student
I'd like to say "thanks" to Mr. Havner. He was a really good teacher, and I loved all the in-depth discussions we had in class. Also, he got my class to shut up for more than five consecutive minutes, which is really impressive, no joke.


Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted January 25, 2016
- a student
Sometimes, you get so much work that your brain (figuratively) leaves you a resignation notice and squeezes out of your ear to vacation in Malibu. Sometimes you get no homework at all. Most of the time, it's the former rather than the latter.

Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a student
Scholars makes its students determined. Without determination, you crash and burn. Or it makes you resigned and vaguely stressed. Frankly, I'm not sure which category I fall into.

Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a student
Scholars students tend to be disrespectful, arrogant and oblivious to the fact that they embody those qualities. When everyone tells you that you're a special, brilliant, gifted, clever little snowflake, it's bound to happen.


Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a student
The environment at Scholars is very much "every man for himself", at least among the students. Everyone wants to win, and winning means getting a better grade than everyone else. Then rubbing it in their faces. Excessively. It's actually pretty fun. Just kidding! Maybe.

Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted January 25, 2016
- a student
All in all, Scholars isn't a big place for lying or cheating. The students generally consider cheating the "unintelligent" way to get a good grade and prefer to study instead. Considering the utter lack of street smarts that Scholars kids have, I doubt they'd be able to pull off cheating anyway.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy
5225 Seventyseven Center Dr, Charlotte, NC  28217
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (704) 503-1112
Last modified Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top