Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jay M Robinson Middle

Public | 6-8 | 1068 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

After two years, I continue to be impressed by Jay M Robinson. The teachers blend the right level of educational rigor, compassion, fun and life skills that is really needed for this age group. Let's face it: Middle School can be a tough time for kids, and yet the teachers and staff at JMR have been able to create a team environment for the kids, in which they strive to learn and do well at school. My daughter looks forward to going to middle school! We have participated in the band program at JMR, which is simply amazing. The band graduates have created a reputation of excellence among the local high schools. And, for that matter, I've been told by counselors at Providence and Audrey Kell (the two high schools who receive students from JMR) that these children consistently outperform students from their other feeder schools. They are simply more well-prepared for high school than their peers. I would highly recommend Jay M Robinson to any family looking for a school focused on academic excellence, creating life-long learners and interested in nurturing global citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

After five years, our family is a high school family. My final assessment: mixed. Their emphasis on "rigor" (particularly fourth quarter, when EOG pressure amps up) caused a lot of stress for my two children and many of their peers. An entire night of homework following a seven-hour school day is excessive; pressure on the students to be the top of the heap in CMS, similarly so. As a result, self-destructive behaviors are more prevalent among the student body than even the school may know. As I barely saw administrators, I cannot offer an informed opinion. In the plus column, I found the majority of the teachers communicative and willing to work as part of a team when issues arose. However, the Math department is this school's weak link, with a couple of outstanding exceptions. I don't feel either of my children received a good math education at Jay M., because the foundation for understanding the subject wasn't laid. Nonetheless, I believe Jay M. is the superior public middle school in South Charlotte.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2013

Any accolades this school gets are a direct result of the students that attend. The faculty and school policies are an absolute joke. There is no sense of achievement and a very negative atmosphere.


Posted March 16, 2013

Horrible! I am a former student at Jay M Robinson and went there from 6th to only a half of my 8th grade year. The school is not very welcoming and the teachers don't use student feedback on surveys to appeal to all students at their pace, skill, and learning standards. My 6th grade year was fine but the kids are NOT WELCOMING to people who are new and starting their first year. It is sort of like a challenge as the students in the upper grades are "the top" and "the boss". The teachers also won't take the time to help you understand a subject. I have been to all my teachers' tutoring and all they do is give us review worksheets instead of teaching us. Most of all, the students are OVERALL VERY RUDE. There was recently a new student in my 8th grade year, I payed close attention and it was obvious that no one helped her around. No one pays attention to student talents or other features that make the students unique. The principal isn't involved AND THE BULLYING GOES WAY TOO FAR! I hated it so much I switched schools during the year to a CMS magnet school and it is way better. Popularity showdown + major bullying instances + no interactions = Jay M Robinson Middle School.


Posted November 15, 2012

My child "graduated" from JMR 6/2012. JMR is a tough school aimed at preparing kids for high school. My daughter has an IEP (Individualized Education Plan due to diagnosed learning disability) and the staff worked with her to meet her needs to be successful. She is now at a charter high school because of the overcrowding in classrooms in CMS. JMR prepared her for the level of high school work and she is ahead of her peers in her study skills and abilities such as writing an essay. The high level of parent involvement in this public school and their children's education makes for JMR generally being a satisfactory and safe learning environment. The vast majority of capable teachers are truly interested in seeing their students excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

My son goes to jm is a honors student there for 3 years in his final year is a honor roll student a and b student the school is really a good lower end middle school not all but seems to me teachers are paycheck hounds not all but good amount of older staff there.But then again the administration will not change this maybe if they could they would but not likely.The old line is you get out of school what you put in not what the teachers are putting in
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

Wow!! The previous poster is way off base about this incredible school. JM Robinson is not an unsatisfactory school. The teachers and staff go out of their way to meet the needs of all students. It has not been easy these last few years in CMS...budget cuts, new teacher appraisal instrument, Pay for Performance, etc. The teachers at this excellent school focus on student success and create a nurturing environment for the entire school community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 30, 2011

looks like most of these reveiws are dated, time for an up date. JMR has some fantastic teachers, unforunately they are under an adminstration that couldn't care less if they tried. The general strategy is to simply push the kids through with no regard for personal needs or learning styles. Parent engagement is 'encouraged' until a true issue needs to be addressed then they simply delay dealing with the problem or try to brush it under the rug. If your child is highly motivated and would be a high achiever in any environment, you may find this is the school for you, otherwise be prepared for 3 years of disappointment. The local demographics have more impact on how this school is rated against others than anything the adminstration is doing. If you are looking for a school that excells in getting as many kids through with little concern for personal differences and needs, JMR is your place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

We are very happy with JM Robinson. The teachers are engaged and enthusiastic. The physical plant is outstanding. The students are hard working and generally nice kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

We just moved from Florida and my son was in a private Catholic school in an upscale area of South Florida. He just started 6th grade and let me tell you, this is no joke. The teachers are great, the workload is plenty and he is working hard to keep his grades at the honor level. I am so happy we picked this school and hope to have a wonderful three years here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Everyone works as a team!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

jay m robinson is an amazing school!!! i mean the teachers are great and make learning easy for us students!!! but now im not a current student in jay m (sadly!..) because i have moved here to to florida. and trust me the middle schools in florida are like trash compared to jay m, and other middle schools in fl. so all u parents out there who have ur kids going to jay m thats the greatest dishison u probably made for them! oh and by the way i used to be excited to do work in jaym and go to school but over here its all just so wrong!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 22, 2008

its just an amazing school evryone is so friendly and is always happy to help!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2008

I can not say enough good things about this school! The teachers are unbelievably dedicated and kind! They truly make the children enjoy learning in a very challenging environment which amazes me! My normally very shy child is excited and happy to go to school ,has made made many nice friends,and doesn't even stress about getting up in front of the class for assignments! We were so worried about the middle school transition but it has been seamless...actually it has been better than elementary school ever was! Three teachers have truly been more than fantastic and need to be mentioned...Mr. Vanderhill,Ms. Merkle,and Ms. Klingler!There is not enough space here to to speak the praises they deserve! Feel confident if your child will be attending this school.You will be more than happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

I take exception to the statement of Jan. 6. As a parent who has had one child go to Robinson and one currently attending, I find the teachers there and the administrative staff to be very friendly and helpful. Teachers really go out of there way to be helpful. The adminstrative staff, especially the principal, are very approachable and available.As far as parents being welcome, I feel that parents are encouraged to be part of Robinson . Parents must check in and receive a visitors badge to be in the school. As a parent, I am glad to see that. It dicourages anyone from walking around at will and is one thing that keeps Robinson safe. There is excellnt education at all levels. I am most pleased with he quality of education at Robinson, and I feel that my children have been and are being given excellent preparation for the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2006

As a parent who has had one child go thru Robinson and has another child there currently I have found the school to need improvements in several area. The administration and some staff members are not helpful, friendly or even interested in children. The principal is so busy with politics downtown that she is rarely at school and certainly not engaged. Parents are not welcome in this school. On the other hand, the teaching staff for the most part is outstanding and inspires the children. I know there are several who have made life-long impressions on my oldest. The course work is tough but prepares the kids for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

Outstanding school! The Principal and administrative staff are top-notch. The teaching staff is highly qualfied, with close to half the staff having either a Master's Degree or their Board Certification. Overall the students are well-behaved, and come to school ready to learn. There are numerous activities in which students can become involved. In short Jay Robinson Middle is one of the best schools in the Charlotte/Mecklenburg School sytem.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
>95%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male81%
Black64%
Asian-95%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students88%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female81%
Male78%
Black67%
Asian92%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled students83%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male75%
Black51%
Asian-95%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial60%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students84%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students78%
Female81%
Male74%
Black54%
Asian93%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial60%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students85%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students84%
Female87%
Male81%
Black61%
Asian95%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities32%
Non-disabled students89%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male73%
Black71%
Asian87%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities15%
Non-disabled students86%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Black85%
Asian89%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities53%
Non-disabled students-95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
-95%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students-95%
Female-95%
Male-95%
Blackn/a
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged-95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students-95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English-95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant-95%
Academically gifted-95%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 52%
Asian 11% 3%
Black 11% 26%
Hispanic 6% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Kathleen Fox
Fax number
  • (980) 343-6947

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5925 Ballantyne Commons Parkway
Charlotte, NC 28277
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-6944

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT