Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Charlotte, NC
Students enrolled: 657
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mountain Island Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Grades of Each Teacher by Year: K = C 1 = B 2 = D Hardly, any real consistency or high achievers here.

Mountain Island Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The amount isnt the problem. Its that its inconsistent or incomplete. Homework would come home regularly where word problems were incomplete, copies were faded or unreadable, missing pages, etc.


Mountain Island Elementary
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
No. we had to get a tutor to foster this in our child, especially this year. Her teacher really liked texting on her cell phone all the time.

Mountain Island Elementary
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
No discipline = No Respect. School lacks any form of consequences for bad behavior. 5-6 grades are outrageously mismanaged by school principals.

Mountain Island Elementary
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The school lacks a vision or culture of these merits. There were only a few examples of this during my daughter's 3 years at the school.


Mountain Island Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
These things start at the top and the new admin lacks all of them. Your child will have to rely on these from you only and the few bright spots inside the school.

Mountain Island Elementary 1

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The administration at this school has no vision or true management ability. The school's classrooms are always dirty. There is little to no discipline at the school. This school fails on so many levels. The teacher my daughter had was inconsistent, provided homework which was incomplete, was constantly on her phone during class time, and was ineffective as a teacher. The principal is not honest, caring, or competent. It seems she was given the post for some reason other than ability, merit, or experience. She is aloof, elitist and lacks any vision for the school. My daughter will not be returning here in the Fall and my youngest will never be subjected to its lack of everything. Thank God!

Mountain Island Elementary 5

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
MILA is a great school that deeply cares about the students. All 3 of my children attended and each had a wonderful and challenging experience.


Mountain Island Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
My child attended MILA from K-5th. We missed the opportunity to try the middle school by one year. We had a GREAT experience! They have an impressive PTA that strongly supports the students and teachers. I feel it is a welcoming school. There is a new principal and assistant principal--both began working there in 2014. Look on the website and schedule a tour!

Mountain Island Elementary 5

Posted April 18, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children attend Mountain Island Lake Academy and they LOVE it. This STEM school is becoming a K-8 school. This school has excellent teachers, leadership and academic programs. The PTA is amazing and the environment at the school is extremely welcoming. My kids have developed a passion for learning and are excelling due to the wonderful teachers at the school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain Island Elementary
7905 Pleasant Grove Road, Charlotte, NC  28216
(980) 343-6948
Last modified Mountain Island Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mountain Island Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top