Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mountain Island Elementary 5

Posted December 30, 2012
- a parent
Both of my children have attended Mountain Island Elementary. My daughter is currently there. I have only praise for this school's faculty, staff and parents. The atmosphere is one of community with everyone working together to ensure a positive learning environment for the children. The recent move to a STEM focus has been an added bonus to an already strong curriculum and emphasis on reading, the arts and academic experiential exposure. Parental involvement is high as evidenced by the high turnout in student productions, STEM night, school picnics and other activities. One of MIE's strengths is its diversity. All families, irrespective of socioeconomic or ethnic background work together to make this school a success. The SLT (School Leadership Team) which is a cross section of school administrators, parents and teachers work very closely to bring the most innovative learning tools and programs to the school well in advance of many of its counterparts. Its PTA is nationally recognized. My children have received an excellent education at Mountain Island Elementary. I highly recommend this school to other families seeking a quality education for their children.

Mountain Island Elementary 3

Posted April 06, 2012
- a parent
The facilities are nice and the wealthier parents funnel a lot of time and money into the school to try and maintain the prestige. However the dynamics and demographics have changed over the last couple of years. Bullying has become an issue and when reported to the teachers it is brushed off. The leadership is not as strong as it was. There needs to be a real program for accelerated students other than one teacher who pulls certain students every couple of days for sporadic work. I am not as happy as I was with this school...


Mountain Island Elementary 5

Posted August 03, 2010
- a parent
My child has been at MIE for three years and we could't be happier with the school. The teachers and administration are excellent and the facilities are top-notch. The very active and involved parents and PTA have funded so many great additions to the school including science labs, a nature trail and outdoor classroom and a wonderful AR program!

Mountain Island Elementary 4

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
I pulled my daughter out of this school. Leadership at this school is lacking. Personal experience with some teaching staff was extremely unprofessional. The principal is doing very little. I will NEVER send a child to that school. It is going downhill FAST!!

Mountain Island Elementary 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This school has seen quite a few changes in the last couple of years. They lost a very strong principal, and the new one has poor relations skills with both parents and staff, which has contributed to many leaving the school. With the boundary changes, the school demographics have also changed quite a bit, and the test scores continue to drop.


Mountain Island Elementary 5

Posted March 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mountain Island Elementary 4

Posted August 20, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mountain Island Elementary 5

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mountain Island Elementary 5

Posted August 11, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Mountain Island Elementary 3

Posted May 18, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountain Island Elementary
7905 Pleasant Grove Road, Charlotte, NC  28216
(980) 343-6948
Last modified Mountain Island Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mountain Island Elementary Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.