Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mountain Island Lake Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
Grades of Each Teacher by Year: K = C 1 = B 2 = D Hardly, any real consistency or high achievers here.

Mountain Island Lake Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The amount isnt the problem. Its that its inconsistent or incomplete. Homework would come home regularly where word problems were incomplete, copies were faded or unreadable, missing pages, etc.


Mountain Island Lake Academy
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
No. we had to get a tutor to foster this in our child, especially this year. Her teacher really liked texting on her cell phone all the time.

Mountain Island Lake Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
No discipline = No Respect. School lacks any form of consequences for bad behavior. 5-6 grades are outrageously mismanaged by school principals.

Mountain Island Lake Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The school lacks a vision or culture of these merits. There were only a few examples of this during my daughter's 3 years at the school.


Mountain Island Lake Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
These things start at the top and the new admin lacks all of them. Your child will have to rely on these from you only and the few bright spots inside the school.

Mountain Island Lake Academy 1

Posted June 30, 2015
- a parent
The administration at this school has no vision or true management ability. The school's classrooms are always dirty. There is little to no discipline at the school. This school fails on so many levels. The teacher my daughter had was inconsistent, provided homework which was incomplete, was constantly on her phone during class time, and was ineffective as a teacher. The principal is not honest, caring, or competent. It seems she was given the post for some reason other than ability, merit, or experience. She is aloof, elitist and lacks any vision for the school. My daughter will not be returning here in the Fall and my youngest will never be subjected to its lack of everything. Thank God!

Mountain Island Lake Academy 5

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
MILA is a great school that deeply cares about the students. All 3 of my children attended and each had a wonderful and challenging experience.


Mountain Island Lake Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 25, 2015
- a parent
My child attended MILA from K-5th. We missed the opportunity to try the middle school by one year. We had a GREAT experience! They have an impressive PTA that strongly supports the students and teachers. I feel it is a welcoming school. There is a new principal and assistant principal--both began working there in 2014. Look on the website and schedule a tour!

Mountain Island Lake Academy 5

Posted April 18, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children attend Mountain Island Lake Academy and they LOVE it. This STEM school is becoming a K-8 school. This school has excellent teachers, leadership and academic programs. The PTA is amazing and the environment at the school is extremely welcoming. My kids have developed a passion for learning and are excelling due to the wonderful teachers at the school.

Nearby schools

Mountain Island Lake Academy
7905 Pleasant Grove Road, Charlotte, NC  28216
(980) 343-6948
Last modified Mountain Island Lake Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top