Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Back Creek Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 230 students

 
 

 
 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $118,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 26, 2013

This is a school where your child is treated as an image bearer of Christ. Students are held to high standards inside and outside the classroom. As a parent of a lower school student, I appreciate the daily recess and do not mind the little technology, we have enough of that at home! What the school does has is used intentionally to supplement the curriculum. The class sizes are lower than public school, and often parent volunteers or part time assistants are used to pull smaller groups. The athletic department is trying hard to grow and involve all middle schoolers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Please do your research before you decide to put your child in this school. Many children that leave this school have to be tutored to catch up with other private school peers in the same grade level. They say all the right things to make you think they care about your child and your child's education but the actions by administrators and teachers show you the truth. Beware of wolves in sheep's clothing...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

In response to parent review March 25: Classrooms are highly efficient which is made even more so because of the wonderful parents who love volunteering with their child's class, vs viewing it as a chore. It's great because I know the parents of my son's classmates and know he gets extra attention if he needs it. I don't particularly care where that help is coming from... Music & Arts teachers may have left for whatever reason, but this school is traditional-style, meaning arts&crafts time can stay in pre-k and summer camp. Yes, I love the cutesy collages my kid likes to do, but honestly I put more importance on math and reading/writing skills. No more spanish is no big deal. Honestly, an elementary education in foreign language does not mean "proficient". No computer or technology? Good. Too much electronics and gadgets at home and elsewhere anyway. I'm sure my teaching skills are sufficient enough in explaining the basics of Google when research projects come into play. ALL teachers are great and "what they have" is way more than most have, and everything they need. Never been to CMS, huh? My son has flourished here academically and socially. Love BCCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

We are guilty as charged. Latin replaced our Spanish program. We have hired volunteers that started as classroom moms. Call us and we will put you in contact with many of our parents who are also employees. Second, employees come and go. Our two part music program is curricular and music lessons. Sometimes music lesson teachers stop offering lessons. Our classroom music teachers are more stable unless they violate school policy. We have fired a music and an art teacher for violating school policies. CPU and technology education is consistent with developmental phase. We have iPads in 8th grade down to keyboarding in 4th, 5th and 6th grades. We always ask for money. We are privately funded and not publicly funded. We are Christian. During Christmas we banded together to help two parents save their home from foreclosure by raising a Christmas fund in the amount of $1,000 cash, $1,000 in grocery cards, $1,000 in clothes donations, and assorted other gifts and donations directly to the family. Finally, we spent $18,000 on playground equipment. This money was given by one family and earmarked for this purchase by the family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2012

Parents have to become teachers and volunteers for classroom to function. Spanish program dropped. Music & Arts teachers leaving. No Computer or Technology Education. No vision for future. School is always demanding money for this, that and the other. Most of the teachers are great, they do the best they can with what they have. Money spent on playground equipment rather than classroom improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

Great, if your child doesn't have ADHD. The teachers label these children, as they have mine. Then, they get treated differently. They tried to push me to medicate my child. You'll enjoy it if your child doesn't have special needs, it isn't fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2009

My son started TK this year at BCCA. I have been incredibly impressed with the compassion and caring demonstrated by ALL of the staff as well as the information he is learning. I have noticed such a change in him already! The tuition is reasonable and I know my son is in a safe and loving environment. Can't beat it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Back Creek is a good foundational school for my child. My child has made many friends and is doing well with the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

Back Creek Christian Academy is an excellent school for all grades. The school has great focus on academics as well as the teachings of Jesus Christ. The class sizes are small and the staff all operate on the same principles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

I couldn't think of a better place for my child to begin her educational journey. The teachers are impressive, extremely caring and supportive. The classroom size is small, and my child really benefited from the one on one attention. The classical education emphasis is impressive. The tuition is extremely reasonable compared to other larger private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2006

School is about seven years old. New and growing rapidly. This is my children's second year at Back Creek. Strengths: Absolutely wonderful principal! Diverse, warm, capable teaching staff. Some great families, but some not as involved as other schools we've been part of. Active parent teacher fellowship, prayer group, opportunities to serve in cafeteria, library, etc. Reasonable cost. Biblically-based, Christ-centered, dynamic, and friendly!! Our middle schooler is thriving, thanks to the classical curriculum and teamwork among the middle school staff. The school's attitude toward making improvements is commendable. They consistently try to meet every student's need. Weaknesses: The one thing that drives me crazy is the lack of clear communication from the school. But they are trying! They are just going through growing pains. Back Creek is a great school! The classical curriculum is superb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

BCCA is a good school. Most of the teachers are wonderful and we have been very happy with the academic programs and the sports programs that we have participated in. Several parents are very involved and help whenever the school needs them. More need to be involved. The principal seems to have more of a heart for the middle school than the lower elementary school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 27, 2005

This is a wonderful place for any child. I have never seen teachers and parents get so involved in your childs learning experience. The teachers and parents care for your child as if they were their own. Everyday you see parents on the campus praying, serving lunch and even tutoring. There is a weekly chapel held in the old sanctuary for all students with singing and praising God. There are weekly spelling tests and bible verse tests for all grades. This school offers soccer, chess, basketball, cheerleading, and violin lessons. Also every Christmas there is a bell recital held by the Middle School students. I can't say enough about the overall education your child will receive at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2005

I love the Christian classical education provided at Back Creek. There are two kindergarten classes with 13 students in each class. Both teachers work very closely together and the classes work like a family unite. My son has learned more in 61 days there than he would after an entire school year at the CMS public schools. I have been more than happy thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 53%
Black 32% 32%
Hispanic 3% 11%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Step team

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Janet K. Ballard
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Step team
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • cafeteria and library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Greystone Charter School
Public Schools
Other Christian Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1827 Backcreek Church Rd
Charlotte, NC 28213
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 549-4101

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Dream Children School
Charlotte, NC



Newell Elementary
Charlotte, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT