Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-6|Private
60 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Anami Montessori School is celebrating 30 years of excellence in education. Recognized by the Association of Montessori International (AMI), Anami prides itself on offering an authentic Montessori education within a small, nurturing environment. As a parent of nine years and now a staff member, I value the fact that Anami Montessori School has intentionally remained a small school where the focus is on the child and where we truly get to know every child and parent. We invite you to visit our school to schedule an in-class observation or attend one of our monthly open houses.
November 05, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Anami Montessori School 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a parent
What a wonderful place for children and families! As a very satisfied parent of 2 children that currently attend Anami, I am really surprised to see the recent review that does not ring true for us at all. Our children have been respected and loved, and our family has been welcomed and valued since the moment we came to the school. Both the staff and administration are dedicated and passionate about their roles and truly put the needs of each child first. If you are a parent looking for an authentic Montessori experience for your child, Anami Montessori School is worth the visit!

Anami Montessori School
no rating

Posted November 05, 2015
- a school leader
Anami Montessori School is celebrating 30 years of excellence in education. Recognized by the Association of Montessori International (AMI), Anami prides itself on offering an authentic Montessori education within a small, nurturing environment. As a parent of nine years and now a staff member, I value the fact that Anami Montessori School has intentionally remained a small school where the focus is on the child and where we truly get to know every child and parent. We invite you to visit our school to schedule an in-class observation or attend one of our monthly open houses.


Anami Montessori School 2

Posted September 18, 2015
- a parent
I was a parent at this school for a year and what we observed was a lot of turnover in staff and kids. Overall the school was okay thanks to our child's primary teacher but in a school of what seems like 30 children the director never made an effort to introduce herself to me or my husband nor seemed very friendly but gladly cashed our tuition checks. The class sizes are very small with little peer group for all age groups. Montessori philosophy encourages community but this school seems to talk the talk but doesn’t walk the walk. We found a school that embraces the community feel and their school mission and doesn’t just use it as a sales tool on their website. I wish we would not have signed a contract we would have pulled our child mid-year. After two children and many attempts to like this school our family finally pulled the plug. My child had to constantly rebuild his bond and trust with new teachers in the endless cycle of teachers quitting. When I brought this to the attention of the leaders they were defensive, made excuses and were rude; this proved that they had no respect to us as parents. The extremely high turnover rate shows us how many problems the management has. How can those teachers perform their best in such an insecure working environment coupled with bad leadership? It is shame that the management does not have a decent manner and acts unprofessionally to both parents and teachers.

Anami Montessori School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
Where to begin? I feel this school was an answer to our prayers. My child is in one of their two primary classes (ages 3-5) and he is excelling beyond our expectations. What makes Anami so special isn't just the fact that they are adherents to the AMI Montessori philosophy....it's their teachers and staff creating such an incredible environment in which the children thrive. My son is radiant when I pick him up each day as he gets into the car the children are literally calling out to one another that they will miss each other. The children are loved, safe and are "learning the love of learning". What more could a parent ask for?

Anami Montessori School 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Anami is an in credible school. I have three children enrolled there and they have never been more excited to get up in the morning and get to school. Every day my kids come home excited about something new they've learned and since taking them out of our local school system (CMS) and getting them into Anami Montessori the change in their enthusiasm toward learning and going to school has been notably improved. I didn't know much about the Montessori method of teaching/learning before but it has proven to exceed my expectations in every way. Great people - great school.


Anami Montessori School 5

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
I love Anami! Both of my children attend this school and they love it! What more can you hope for as a parent? The teachers are amazing; and we have been very happy with how much they care about the kids. In montessori, the children will stay with the same teacher for several years, therefore they are able to develop a close relationship with each other, which I think is really special. I look at the older kids and am very impressed. I think that says quite a bit about the quality of the school. The kids, for the most part, are really great. However, if there are any problems that do occur between kids, the staff is all over it. They do not tolerate ugliness or bullying whatsoever. That brings me comfort to know my children are being cared for in addition to being taught. It is a small school, so it is a tight-knit community. I do feel that the parent community can be a bit cliquish. That is the only down-side I can mention. But I suppose that doesn't have a lot to do with my children's education. So I am very happy and satisfied with Anami Montessori! 5 stars!

Anami Montessori School 5

Posted May 25, 2006
- a teacher
What an excellent school. As a former educator, I give this school my highest recommendation! In every regard, they are superior and provide every opportunity for exceptional student growth and development!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Anami Montessori School
2901 Archdale Drive, Charlotte, NC  28210
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (704) 556-0042
Last modified Anami Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades K-6
Top