Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1423 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

very good school, I have sent all 13 of my kids here and they all love it.in fact, my eldest son even purposely got himself held back because he wanted another year there! 10/10
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Horrifying. Unless your child is in the "high" Honors classes. Check, bc there are two levels of Honors classes. These are quietly referred to as "high honors" and "low honors". Low honors is just the old Standard Plus kids, those who scored 3's on EOGs. I spent 2 days going to school with my son who wasn't doing homework (I tried many other tactics before this). What I saw in the class labeled as Honors was like a movie about an inner city school run by thugs.. Except this was real and as hard as the teachers tried to maintain control, these little darlings ran the 3 classrooms I visited. They were sitting on desks, disobeying teacher demands to sit in their seat, walking around talking, throwing things, and would NOT stop talking all during the lecture. The child seated next to me quietly said, "I wish they would just shut up" and put his head on his desk and just kind of shut down. When I approached admin, the quickest solution was to move my son, into the "high honors" class. The red tape required to remove an unruly child from the room or school, I was told, is monumental. Was informed teachers have learned if they discipline or seek help from admin, it backfires on them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

This school is terrible. I have personally seen two very violent fights where teachers stood by. The bullying is so bad that kids will act out simply to escape the classroom and the bullying. Teachers do very little to try and stop it. They have given up just as much as the students. Some of the students are so vulgar that teachers have been reduced to cursing and name calling just to be heard...and still they aren't heard for very long. I have sat in on classes, lunches, field trips and after school sporting events and at best, this school is a nightmare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2012

Personally, I am horrified by the amount of good reviews this school has, for example: this school often does not have good teachers while others try extremely hard, some do not even try to teach their children. Fights break out everyday in a competition to see who is the best, graffiti on the walls and even fecal matter smeared in the restrooms. My first year at this school was not that horrific, but the reason is because I am in the Honors, or higher education, team. The contrast between Honors and standard or standard plus is ridiculous. The students in standard have no respect for the teachers and profanity is said like everyday words. The teachers often make threats but rarely carry them out. My last point is the comparison of students in other schools and my school. Our school has an average of 70% passing. Other schools in CMS have more than 75% for the special needs children and more than 94% on average for the other students. I was lucky because most of my teachers were dedicated.


Posted November 1, 2011

SWMS like many other CMS schools are failing our kids as it relates to academics. The school is over-populated; some of the teachers lack dedication and enthusiasm that's due in part to the teacher:student ratio, and also due to the lack of knowledge and skills. My daughter attended SWMS for the entire 6th grade, and I pulled her out to home school her after the 1st three weeks of the 7th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

SWMS is a good Middle School. The population is very versatile. There are great teachers there who work hard to try to educate the Middle School child. I have had different kids in all 3 grades and have been pleased with what they are doing in school. I hope the new administration will notice and appreciate the teachers who have jumped in the trenches over the years. I have the utmost respect for their line of work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

That's true, there were fights everyday last school year. Staff morale was really low. A few teachers were really dedicated, others not. The ones who were, have my complete respect. Children were dispersed to other classes in at least 1 class everyday, usually more, allowing for weak continuity in education, confused students and some slipping through the cracks. Discipline was very weak. With the upcoming change in staff for the new school year, things should be very interesting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

I have 2 children that have attended SWM and they have loved it. the teachers are caring and dedicated. I have experienced teachers on both sides of the academic field. One child was an honors student and one was learning disabled and they both recieved an incredible education for extremely caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

This school is really bad.... i heard there was a fight today.... teachers are nice but they dont get respect. And also, no offence, but ruido school is also poor because the 7 grade field trip is really a lot of money to spend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I am on my 4th child at SW middle and one more to come. I have been pleased with the education my children have received. The Honors teachers are great. I do think there tends to be a difference in the education received by Honors and Standard students. It seems to be like two different worlds. If my children weren't in Honors classes I might have a different opinion. Most teachers are great! In the past 7 years I have never seen a fight when I was at the school nor do my children speak of it. I would also like to add that the resource officer at SW does an amazing job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

I go to southwest now i moved to southwest six months ago and i really like it my grades have improved and i really focused on my eduction and the teachers are really nice its a way better school the Kennedy!!!!!


Posted January 14, 2010

My sons attended SWMS, but I will not send my daughter there. Fighting is not uncommon. There is blatant disrespect for teachers, staff, parents and visitors shown by students. The uniform policy is not consistently enforced. Baggy saggy pants, shirts untucked and wild patterned hoodies on the boys. Some teachers are better than others and some should NOT be teaching at all anywhere! And, yet they remain somehow. Lack of substitute teachers leads to dispersal to other classrooms. Students from 'low performing' schools are bussed here which brings a whole new slew of challenges and problems. Alternative to CMS: private school, home school or move to SC!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

My son goes to SWMS and has been given a great education. The teachers at SWMS are doing a great job teaching my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

This is by far the worst school I have seen. The sanitation is ghastly, and fights break out everytime I visit or pick up my son! Low rating!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

I attend SWMS now and I must say that it is a very well put together school. I came from Texas so this is an entirely new experience for me. I enjoy the sports programs at SWMS because you get a chance to show your 'stuff'' so to speak. Dequavien Montrose Reid
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

southwest is a great school they teach your child everything they need 2 learn
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2008

SWMS is a good, clean, newer school that has the possibilities to offer our kids a really good education. From the office admin, to the prinicipal to several of the teacher, the racial discrimency is terrible. I don't believe that they want white people in this school. Maybe that is why the bus so many kids here??
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

Great teachers and staff but the office could use inprovement. Communication is poor i'm back to myself again and have met woulderful people. Uniforms; not to cazy about but you have us in mind. Just lay off a little , please. Now i get scared every time an officail walks in. The police officers make me feel safe along with the campus security. More phisical activity. And great choice on big daddy pizza day on friday! go swms!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2007

SouthWest Middle School is very clean and have awesome teachers. They have excellent food. Safety and Discipline are taken seriously as should be. They also have a nice, clean library.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

This was my sons first year and it was a pretty good year. The school is definetly making some great changes. I see a bright future for the students and for the success of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

493 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

441 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students35%
Female36%
Male34%
Black25%
Asian50%
Hispanic27%
Multiracial40%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities14%
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female44%
Male38%
Black34%
Asian55%
Hispanic25%
Multiracial47%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students38%
Female41%
Male35%
Black23%
Asian59%
Hispanic27%
Multiracial52%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female47%
Male38%
Black32%
Asian59%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial41%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities19%
Non-disabled students45%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students36%
Female32%
Male40%
Black20%
Asian79%
Hispanic26%
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities19%
Non-disabled students38%
Limited English proficiency15%
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female46%
Male37%
Black32%
Asian58%
Hispanic34%
Multiracial31%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities19%
Non-disabled students44%
Limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students64%
Female58%
Male70%
Black59%
Asian74%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities42%
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiency31%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students93%
Female92%
Male94%
Black-95%
Asian-95%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged-95%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students93%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 40% 26%
White 26% 52%
Hispanic 25% 14%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Barry Blair
Fax number
  • (980) 343-3239

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13624 Steele Creek Road
Charlotte, NC 28273
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-5006

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT