Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
695 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

At Northside Christian Academy we are committed to helping children meet individual challenges, explore individual interests and develop individual talents. This is our goal, not only in the classroom, but also on the athletic field, on stage, in after-school clubs, on school trips, and working together on service learning projects. Our Christ-centered education is based on innovative teaching and genuine concern for the well being of each child. Northside Christian Academy is here to partner with Christian families to provide a Christ-centered, biblically based education in pursuit of excellence.
December 19, 2013

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northside Christian Academy 3

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
I was a student at northside for about 11 years. I left to go to public school and honestly I would recommend to save your money. There is so much favoritism and the staff shows that. The staff cares more for some kids (mostly the ones who's parents work there) over others. The school leaders really don't care about bullying/drama unless your a staff members child. SAVE YOUR MONEY.

Northside Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
Some teachers treat some students (mostly the ones who's parent's work their) with more respect than others. But overall they do care.


Northside Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
Since they have eight classes, most of the time you will have eight homework assignments. This isn't major unless you have sports. This adds a lot of stress on students.

Northside Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted July 26, 2016
- a community member
This school has a lot of favoritism and lets some students get away with things that others can't. The school officials (headmaster and principal) really don't help with bullying and drama (like they promise to do). I rarely got in trouble but i observed a lot.

Northside Christian Academy 5

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
My son started the 2's class after being in an in-home daycare since he was 3 months old. My husband and I wanted him to interact more with peers his age, as there were more infants than toddlers. His teachers were inviting, encouraging and understanding while he transitioned from the in-home learning environment to Northside Christian. We are so very thankful for the ongoing support and encouragement we've received from teachers, staff and administration throughout our first year at Northside.


Northside Christian Academy 5

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
My son attended Northside the majority of his life (started in the child care). We had a wonderful experience! He grew to be smart, caring, and confident. It is a Great School and I recommend it highly! Go Knights!

Northside Christian Academy 3

Posted May 11, 2014
- a community member
The administration does not follow the principles outlined in Matthew 18. IPad use is for marketing purposes, no research was conducted in it being a superior method of instruction. Better curricula sit on the shelves while this is being implemented. Alumni and relatives are hired over candidates with higher levels of experience and qualifications. Money is spent on a student activity center while teachers lack the basic school supplies they need. There are no support services for students with academic struggles, because the athletic program receives all of the resources. Planning is for this school to service only the elite in academics, athletics, and fine arts. Once enrollment marks are hit, if you don't fit into one of those 3 categories, or know someone on the inside, don't plan on being accepted.

Northside Christian Academy 5

Posted March 10, 2014
- a community member
Northside Christian Academy is a fantastic school for any family seeking to instill a marriage of strong academics with a biblical world view. Having graduated from Northside in the 2000s, I was provided with every tool needed to succeed at the collegiate level. Although AP courses were offered, I was not an AP caliber student. Regardless, my first two years of University were not as difficult or rigorous as my years spent at NCA at the high school level. I do understand that NCA may not be for all families, but personal accountability and effort are an integral part of each student's success. Upon entry to NCA, students are evaluated regarding where they are academically, and are advised to course work fitting to their academic level and experience. Parents, if you are considering NCA, take my advice. An average student at NCA is a fantastic College/University student anywhere. The fact that over 90% of NCA graduates go on to colleges of their choices is a very strong indicator of where they are with regard to academic strength. - graduate


Northside Christian Academy 2

Posted December 23, 2013
- a community member
At the behest of the school my former post will be removed. Thanks Great Schools for allowing me to post. It was not my intention to rate the school at this jucture but I had to choose something.

Northside Christian Academy 5

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
NCA has provided my children the opportunity to study at a school where they are taught who they are in Christ and they have gone on to top rated Universities all while receiving many academic accolades and scholarships. It is unfortunate that some find it necessary to tear down, but I hope many will come and see for themselves that just like most things in life, you get out what you put in to it. My children excelled academically as they did what they needed to do. Most students can get in to any number of excellent colleges and universities, but the economic environment and high cost of higher education has caused some to make the decision to spend the first year or two at home to get some of the basics out of the way...I think this is an admirable decision as these students do not want $100,000 in debt upon graduating college. Whatever their reason for choosing CPCC, I do not think anyone should judge; but I do want others to know that my children and so many others had the opportunity to attend some of the highest rated universities in the country.

Nearby schools

Northside Christian Academy
333 Jeremiah Blvd, Charlotte, NC  28262
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (704) 599-9015
Last modified Northside Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top