Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
436 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trinity Episcopal School
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
I salute the students here for enduring the terrible practices and learning methods used here.

Trinity Episcopal School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
While some teachers are competent, most are not exactly what you would call the best.


Trinity Episcopal School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
Same answer as previous question, but I'm sure they like to think that they do.

Trinity Episcopal School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
Once again, these topics are covered, but faith and blind obedience are seemingly more popular choices for Trinity teachers.

Trinity Episcopal School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
While these qualities are often talked about, it's not in an engaging way, and usually just an excuse to talk about racism or religion anyways.


Trinity Episcopal School 1

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
I'm struggling to find words to describe the various problems I have with this place. First, your child won't go a week in middle school without being hounded about "racism". That's literally about 50% of the things we discuss here, and the other half is religion. Important math, science and geography classes and activities are often cut short from overextended "chapels." Other religious views are not welcome, despite what they may claim. Some of the teachers are OK, but others are rather sub-par. Trinity's policy for actual learning seems to be to just pile together the leftovers between religious and social justice learning. There seem to be Communist leanings here as well, in addition to rampant dismissal of scientific and Republican views. The uniform policy here is totally outrageous too. Students are forbidden to wear clothes without the Trinity shield on them, even SOCKS mustn't have a Nike symbol on them. Just to bring the points stated earlier into perspective, we spend as much time on religion as we do on math and science COMBINED. Of course, the word "Episcopal" is in the name, but so is "School". It can be sad to see some teachers genuinely STRUGGLING to teach students with all the time constraints placed on them by the various religious gatherings. In addition, students can be punished for alerts on their phones going off, REGARDLESS OF IF THEY WERE ACTUALLY USING THEM! Overall, the "Honor Council" is just the collection of teacher's pets, so don't expect fair treatment of your child. In addition, classes are often very repetitive, discussing topics such as metrics, slavery, and basic grammar over and over again. In addition to this, it seems that the community of students is remarkably complacent, trained since kindergarten by Trinity to simply be obedient and not to defy or question figures in authority, and it is people like these that allow problems to continue in the world.

Trinity Episcopal School 5

Posted February 10, 2016
- a parent
My children spent their early years at this school until we moved out of state. I attribute their high school and college successes to Trinity. All three of my children were leaders in their classes and on their sport teams, my boys were Eagle Scouts,and all were awarded significant merit and achievement awards. Their love of learning and concern for the environment and community was fostered at TES.

Trinity Episcopal School 5

Posted January 12, 2016
- a community member
This school feels more like a family. To see children grow in their love for learning and their heart for the world around them, it's an amazing educational experience. I know no other school as committed to embracing diversity along religious, racial and socioeconomic lines. The faculty & staff are the best in Charlotte, and are committed to engaging each child individually and empowering them to reach their full potential. The school is committed to creating better humans, and Charlotte is lucky to be the recipient of this next generation of caring, thoughtful citizens.


Trinity Episcopal School 5

Posted December 25, 2015
- a community member
Fantastic place for our daughter! Diverse, supportive, great teachers, no emphasis on wealth like many private schools (even though there is a lot of wealth among the parents but no one talks about it), very nice facility and convenient uptown location with access to great cultural options. Would absolutely recommend it.

Trinity Episcopal School 1

Posted October 06, 2014
- a community member
I would not recomend this school to my worst anyone. I am going to tell it straight this school sucks! I had to go and walk the halls every day for a year just counting down the days the hours, the minutes, the seconds until i could go home and never see that terrible place ever again. The amount of homework is insane! and all the teachers ever talk about is grades grades grades. Worst of all they do not care! You could get bullied! (like myself) and they wont do a thing because that could put there "perfect" reputation at stake. save yourself the heart ace and go running from this so called school.

Nearby schools

Trinity Episcopal School
750 East 9th Street, Charlotte, NC  28202
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (704) 358-8101
Last modified Trinity Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top