Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oaklawn Language Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
If there is an issue ...proper actions will be taken, But it really isnt recognized or reported by the teacher. Parents need to stay involved and know thw behaviors or their students

Oaklawn Language Academy 3

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
The experience from all public schools during this day are all pretty much average. There are some good and bad teachera everywhere. The passion to teach just isnt there anymore.


Oaklawn Language Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
We love Mrs.Stewart the secretary at WhiteWater Elementary. She always greets everyone entering the front office, with the brightest smile and positive energy. She is always extremely helpful. Once i had packed a whole party in a box for my 3rd grader to take to the school. Upon my arrival Mrs. Stewart had a roll cart to transfer all things. I truely appreciated that kind act.

Oaklawn Language Academy 4

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
The School is constantly looking for ways to improve the curriculum. This year girls were offered a Science club.

Oaklawn Language Academy 4

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
I was so amased when I asked a question to my daughter that is in kindergarten at Oaklawn about a remark her teacher made one day and: she gave me all the explanations in a perfect spanish. if you thinking about multicultural education for your child Oaklawn is the place.


Oaklawn Language Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Oaklawn is a wonderful school with wonderful staff. This is an excellent opportunity for children to learn to be both bilingual and bicultural.

Oaklawn Language Academy 4

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school and positive learning environment! My children are learning another language, their circle of friends are so diverse, their teachers come from many different countries, as a parent who has travelled all over the world it's important that my children get a globally minded education. So thankful we found it at Oaklawn.

Oaklawn Language Academy 4

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Oaklawn is a Spanish immersion school. My student is receiving the required curricula and to be multilingual at no additional cost to me!


Oaklawn Language Academy 4

Posted December 15, 2010
- a parent
This school is a hidden gem. Those who hold onto fear in their hearts miss out!

Oaklawn Language Academy
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
It is a relatively small school where the students don't get lost in the process of learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oaklawn Language Academy
1810 Oaklawn Ave, Charlotte, NC  28216
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (980) 343-0400
Last modified Oaklawn Language Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top