Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Community House Middle
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 26, 2016
- a community member
Good teachers. My son learned a lot. It's the administrators who are subpar. I regret sending my child to this school.

Community House Middle
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 26, 2016
- a community member
My son always finished his homework at school so I don't think it was excessive


Community House Middle 4

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
Our second year at CHMS. My child was not challenged at all in their previous school. The moment they stepped foot into this school the teachers expected nothing more than excellence from them. CHMS faculty are preparing the students for real life and college. Teaching them responsibility and independence. My child stated that they have learned more, feels respected, and believes that the teachers want them to succeed. Parents MUST advocate for their child. In my experience, It has been as easy as an email conversation, with a 48hour response time, to advocate for my child's education. Teachers are not perfect and neither are our children. We have to work together. CHMS has a large population of students and if your child has special needs, or behavior problems you must work very close with the staff (daily or weekly emails in addition to meetings) to have positive results.

Community House Middle
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
I want to say thanks to the 7th grade guidance counselor. Guidance counselors are such an important part of the school staff. She has been available to my child for their adjustment to 6th grade and now for their adjustment to 7th. She encourages him to reach for the stars. I am teaching my child to advocate for their own education and she listens to their concerns, and acts upon them. We need more like her!

Community House Middle
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are as effective as the parents are involved. The teachers are as effective as the administration supports them. I have had ineffective teachers for my child and I've had very effective teachers. In both situations I have been validated and supported by the VP. We worked together for the best results for the child.


Community House Middle
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
While I understand why homework exist, I'm not sure I agree that it's necessary. Studies are showing that students grades may actually increase with no homework. So IMO yes, there is too much homework but it's not a reflection of this school homework policy. It's my overall opinion of the true value of homework nationwide.

Community House Middle
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
I don't agree that it's the schools job to develop these characters in students. It's mine as a parent.

Community House Middle
Develops respect: Agree

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
I think parents need to SHOW UP for their children. When they do teachers show respect for a family that advocates for their child.


Community House Middle
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
The VP was very involved with an incident with my child giving into peer pressure. He was very nurturing to the situation, yet stern communicating possible consequences. My child is flourishing.

Community House Middle
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted December 29, 2015
- a parent
The reason I feel this school helps to develop honesty, integrity is that my child had a difficult time adjusting to middle school. The VP and the guidance counselor were patient and kind, uplifting his confidence. As a result he is doing very well.

Nearby schools

Community House Middle
9500 Community House Rd, Charlotte, NC  28277
(980) 343-0689
Last modified Community House Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top