Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Martin Luther King Jr Middle
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted March 12, 2016
- a parent
They don't even have books so how is your child supposed to study for any test or quizes

Martin Luther King Jr Middle
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 12, 2016
- a parent
They do not care for the students they show up to work just for a pay check. And I'm not talking about everyone in the school cause their are a few teachers there that are trying to help but I can count them on my hand


Martin Luther King Jr Middle
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 12, 2016
- a parent
They do not have any respect for the students or the parents. They will talk to you the same way the speak to the kids.

Martin Luther King Jr Middle
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 12, 2016
- a parent
My son is diagnosed with ADHD and they do not take that into consideration with his attention span.

Martin Luther King Jr Middle
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted March 12, 2016
- a parent
They are not in the best interest for the child, they love to hand out suspensions for 5-10 days for the littlest incident.


Martin Luther King Jr Middle 1

Posted March 12, 2016
- a parent
They treat the children as if they are criminals and they abuse their authority by suspending kids for 5-10 days for any little thing. Your child will not have a chance to learn here because they do not take an interest in your child's education but rather suspend them.

Martin Luther King Jr Middle 1

Posted March 30, 2015
- a parent
Parents please don't enroll your child/ children in this school.My child has suffered a mental health breakdown.This was caused by the hostel environment my child has been placed in. Multiple fights, gangs and drugs.The principle Jennifer Dean hides in her office most of the time.Find another alternative education solution for your child.

Martin Luther King Jr Middle 1

Posted December 23, 2014
- a teacher
This school is a military base....the children get no freedom. They have to wear the ugliest uniform, most of the children who go to this school came from elementary school which enforced the uniform rule. So you're telling me that they're gonna get 3 extra years of having to wear uniform? The children aren't allowed to wear colored socks and colored tank tops...WHAT? They don't get any outside time like they did the year before which was only 20 minutes. The staff is rude and unkind. The neighborhood is in the hidden valley area which isn't safe at all. The children are also rude, but who could blame them when they get cranky from no freedom. I'm embarrassed to say I use to attend this school. Tips I would give the principal? Lighten up, let the children be children.


Martin Luther King Jr Middle 1

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Little to no response on any concerns brought to teacher and administration attention. No returned phone calls or emails, had to show up in person to even get heard, or contact superintendent's office to even get a response. Multiple fights on buses, in classrooms, in halls, etc, but the staff denies it happens even though my child and other neighborhood children would tell me. Graffiti and gang activity at school as well.

Martin Luther King Jr Middle 3

Posted September 20, 2013
- a community member
I am trying to persuade my daughter to relocate with me to Charlotte, along with my granddaugher who is in middle school. But I was so disappointed in this particular school which is near the area where I had looked at houses for possible purchase. But this school has such a LOW Great Schools rating. Worse, however, are the numerous spelling and other grammatical errors that appear in these posts about the school. As a suggestion, this school should immediately double down in every academic subject; students should not even be graduated from this school if they cannot spell correctly, have a decent vocabulary or write coherently. Showing concern for each student is also caring whether that student learns enough to compete with students coming from other schools. Passing a student who has not met even the minimum requirements is not helpful to anyone, not even the teacher. I am sorry for having to say these things.

Nearby schools

Martin Luther King Jr Middle
500 Bilmark Ave, Charlotte, NC  28213
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (980) 343-0698
Last modified Martin Luther King Jr Middle is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top