Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 50 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


55 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ardrey Kell High 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
We moved from NY to Charlotte last year and my daughter completed 10th grade @ Ardrey Kell. We are very impressed with this school. The academics are rigorous but my daughter was able to maintain excellent grades while working part time and staying active in athletics. I concur with other reviews that the principal, Mr. Switzer, is amazing and I hope he stays @ Ardrey Kell until my other children graduate. You won't find a better High school in the CMS system. PS....I do see why people call it a jail though. It could use some paint/landscaping/architectural enhancements??

Ardrey Kell High 5

Posted June 21, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about AKHS. We love, love, love this school. Mr. Switzer, the principal, is amazing. This school has something for everyone: academics, athletes, artists, musicians, etc. Your child will be so glad to be at this school! Even the kids here have a ton of school spirit. It's unlike anything I've ever seen!


Ardrey Kell High 1

Posted May 18, 2014
- a student
To some, this school appears to be great. It'd diverse and the teachers are young and great. However, the way this school is run makes the learning environment impossible to learn in. The administrators seem to care more about girls' yoga pants and butts than academics and student satisfaction. The drug and cheating problems at this school are unbelievable and the rules are ridiculous. If you care at all about your child's education, don't send them hear! This was my first year at AK and after my experience it is also my last. The learning environment and the ridiculous rules may work for some people whom I have met, but for most students I have talked to, this school is exactly what it looks like...a prison.

Ardrey Kell High 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Ardey Kell is a great high school, filled with lots of diversity. Since day one, the staff and faculty has been very welcoming and inclusive. My children have received an excellent education, as well as being involved in a great athletic community.

Ardrey Kell High 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a parent
Both of our children attended AK and they loved it. In addition we as parents enjoyed the experience WITH our children as they were very involved.


Ardrey Kell High 5

Posted December 17, 2013
- a parent
Principal Switzer and school staff do an excellent job in motivating and educating all students in this phenomenally growing district. Their care to encourage and incorporate every family to enhance a student's growth is second to none.

Ardrey Kell High 5

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
As a parent of a current student and AK graduate, I am extremely pleased with the leadership of Principal Switzer and his top notch teaching staff. The curriculum is challenging and there are extensive opportunities for students to get involved in extra curricular activities (sports, clubs, community service). The student body is diverse and includes a large Exceptional Children's program. Teachers go out of their way to assist students achieve their academic goals. The school is extremely safe. Parent involvement is encouraged. Communication between the school and parents is excellent.

Ardrey Kell High 3

Posted December 06, 2013
- a student
I just moved here and attended as a new student at Ardrey Kell last week. Honestly, everyone is so unwelcoming, the classes are too long, and the whole school looks and feels like a prison. Sure, the staff may be nice but the kids are so judgemental and materialistic and it's difficult to make friends since everyone's already in their cliques. The homeroom schedule is extremely confusing and they don't have many elective classes to offer. I can't stand the thought of attending school here for 3 more years, I have no idea how this is the "Best School" in all of Charlotte. You're better off homeschooling or moving back to where you came from.
1 person found this helpful


Ardrey Kell High 5

Posted November 19, 2013
- a parent
Ardrey Kell High School is without a doubt the best school in Charlotte Mecklenburg. The school is always in the lead in academics and test scores. We have a diverse and confident student body. The athletics at Ardrey Kell are OUTSTANDING. The school has won the Wachovia Cup Conference (now the Wells Fargo Conference) 4 years in a row! This is an award for the All Around Best Athletics. The actual school is wonderful, it is one of the newest in the county. The Exceptional Needs program at the school is fantastic also. I have experience with this area and it is really hands down the best. The principal and staff at Ardrey Kell are unsurpassed. This is sometimes stressful to the staff due to expectations but they do deliver. Earlier principals did not achieve these high results/scores as the current principal. He is demanding of the students and staff. He accomplishes this thru strength of belief in a great education, fairness and compassion. He also shares a love and enjoyment of his students and they of him. There is a lot of team spirit and closeness amongst the students, parents and staff. I couldn't be happier with the education my 2 kids rec'd from Ardrey Kell.

Ardrey Kell High 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a student
My school is best because... # any and every teacher sends reply to all our questions even when it is midnight, they send us from documents to suggestions at that time of day. # school has very active clubs to keep the students from pursuing their interests. # our music and band teacher Mr. Butler is so excellent that he takes time and helps us play every note for various instruments per kid very patiently. # debate team is another great area a student can excel, and football team is perfect to play and enjoy a game own Friday night. # my counselor is too good that I shoot him a mail and he gives a detailed reply to that, I am only a freshman and am surprised to find teachers and staff this dedicated to improvement of the student that not even a elementary or middle school has done so far. # we do have something called Knights program in which the student can take time with a teacher and revise any topic that they need or be in the class in which you are weak yet. Therefore my school is the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ardrey Kell High
10220 Ardrey Kell Road, Charlotte, NC  28277
(980) 343-0860
Last modified Ardrey Kell High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ardrey Kell High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews.