Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Winget Park Elementary

Public | K-5 | 951 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 7, 2013

My son has attended Winget Park for the last 3 years. We have been very pleased with the level of education and support he has gotten at school. He is offered more challenging work each year to teach to his level. The administration has always been very quick to address any concerns or issues we have had along the way. They also take great effort to reward children for good behavior and make a fun environment so the kids live school. Winget Park has been great for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

We love Winget Park! The teachers are fantastic, everyday I ask the kids coming off the bus, how was school? AWESOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

This is my fourth year as a Winget Park parent. When I think of Winget Park I think of dedicated educators that care about delivering a first rate educational experience for every child. I think of an outstanding art and music department, amazing technology, well stocked library, and a beautiful natural environment. I think of parents from every socio economic background, race, and religious background showing up and supporting school events and volunteering in classrooms and the media center. I see a lot of the behind the scenes volunteering of parents donating classroom supplies and taking home materials to make to help teachers. I see leadership setting a fair, consistent, and positive tone. I see children developing interpersonal skills, growing into their independence, and learning to be good citizens. I love being a part of the Winget Park Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

I have had one son graduate from Winget park and one still attending. I feel that my boys have and are getting a wonderful education. The teacher have always made themselves available to listen to any concerns and have offered valuable suggestions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

My children currently attend Winget Park and we have been extremely pleased with the information we have received during Curriculum Night regarding the Common Core. The leadership and administration at Winget Park is very supportive and student-centered. It is very disheartening to see a few parents try to 'trash' a school because of individual situations that should be handled face-to-face, and instead they air concerns through a website that does nothing to get problems resolved. I invite any parents with concerns to contact the administration instead of 'airing their dirty laundry' through a website. Our family has experienced bullying situations and problems on the bus. Those issues were resolved by talking to administration - not by posting them on this website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

My special need so went to this school for 4 years and was never given a realistic goals and they will can social services on you for anything and everything. Everything I did was not good enough and I even volunteered and they treated me as if i was a criminal and when my son was in 2nd and 3rd grades he ran away from the school didn't call me or the police I would never recomend this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2011

This is my son's 1st year at school. He never had Pre-K and has ADHD. When he started it was very difficult for him. The teachers and staff have really helped him alone the way with patience and guidance. Now he is doing wonderful. I couldn't have asked for a better school and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

Both my sons currently attend Winget Park and one has been there since it opened. He was the first kindergarten class and now is a fifth grader. We have been very impressed with teachers, staff and we currently have one of the best principals a school can have. The level of dedication all of them have towards the school and kids is incredible. I would recommend this school for anyone moving into South Charlotte.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

Winget Park exceeded all of my expectations. I transfered both of children from Steele Creek two years ago. My son has struggled with a reading disability since first grade and Steele Creek labeled and pushed my son to the side. Since enrollment at Winget, my son gained confidence and a love for learning. When he left Steele Creek, he tested TWO years behind in his Reading scores. In just two years at Winget, he is now at grade level. He loves school and his teachers, no more struggles over homework! The principal is one of the best I've ever had the pleasure of knowing. I would recommend any parent to consider Winget Park for their children's education. True teamwork and great communication. They want your child(ren) to love learning and to succeed. Go Winget Wolves!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

7 out of 10? This school is definitely a 10! I love the teachers, and more importantly so doe my son. I also love that this school is brand new and has such awesome staff and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

This school has a very amazing principal who exhausts all efforts to reach goals and does so with a grace about her. I feel most fortunate that I have a daughter who attends this school, I am fascinated with the level of education she receives from this school. This school is new, however it is definitely rockin!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female56%
Male56%
Black48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiency50%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students49%
Female57%
Male40%
Black48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiency29%
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male53%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female54%
Male44%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students52%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students61%
Female55%
Male68%
Black55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students44%
Female39%
Male49%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically gifted-95%

Science

All Students60%
Female55%
Male65%
Black47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 52%
Black 34% 26%
Hispanic 18% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12235 Winget Road
Charlotte, NC 28278
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-1063

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Berewick Elementary
Charlotte, NC



River Gate Elementary
Charlotte, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT