Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Olympic Renaissance 3

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a junior and she loves her school. She is a honors student and an athlete (Swim team). Olympic offers AP level courses and opportunities to attend cato or Levine college. A new field has been added. The school is going through a renovation process and will soon have additional space. Families with children at this school should voulunteer and get more involved. It's a personal responsibility issue. Olympic renaissance recently lost some outstanding teachers. They moved on to pursue other opportunities....the new teachers will have some big shoes to fill.
1 person found this helpful

Olympic Renaissance 3

Posted November 28, 2010
- a parent
Strange school. The campus is shared by 4 other schools and it is supposed to be the drama and leadership school. It is the only one who has kept its principal which seems to be a rare achievement. The scores are way up but parent participation is terrible and student discipline is weak. Its a trade off but better than most.


Olympic Renaissance 5

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
This school cannot get anymore. the teachers really care for there students and so does the principal!! :)

Olympic Renaissance 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
For a FOCUS school (mid level poverty) this school has made enormous gains. Led by a strong and compassionate principal (Ms. Melody Sears), the school has raised EOC scores in every subject and most recently posted 100% pass rates in Biology, US History and Civics/Economics in the fall of 2009. What I find more impressive is the amazing survey results by both students and teachers in the past CMS surveys. They posted the best school environmental results for any conventional high school in their school system. Clearly, this is a school on the upswing, with a friendly, accepting atmosphere.

Olympic Renaissance 5

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
My son attended OHS for 2 years before they split into 5 schools. It was a nightmare back then, but once they split into 5 schools and Ms. Sears became the principal of Renaissance, his motivation, morale, and grades improved tremendously. I've never known a principal who cared more about her students. My son said that there was 'positive' peer pressure among students (that acting out was frowned upon by both the majority of students as well as faculty), which made the environment pleasant for everyone. Now my daughter is a sophomore at Renaissance, and she speaks highly of many of her teachers. Her grades also reflect her enthusiasm. How many parents can say that both of their kids genuinely love their high school? Sadly, in CMS, not many.


Olympic Renaissance 2

Posted March 03, 2010
- a parent
This school has the most amazing and dedicated teachers. However, the student body in general is unambitious and uninterested in their education. Classes are consistently disrupted by bad behavior and the teachers hands are tied with the CMS slap on the wrist style disciplinary guidelines. Kids who want to learn will always be held back by losing valuable instructional time because of the bad behavior.

Olympic Renaissance 0
no rating

Posted December 18, 2009
- a parent
9, My daughter attended this school, this school has the best principal who gets involved not only with the students but also the parents, now my younger wants to attend this school next year instead of S Meck

Olympic Renaissance 0
no rating

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
The principal, Ms. Sears, as well as the staff of this school are great! They treat the students with respect and give them creative freedom while still maintaining a safe and ruly environment. The students seem to love the staff and in turn the staff seems to love them back!


Olympic Renaissance 4

Posted July 10, 2009
- a community member
Very caring principal, numerous high quality teachers, low fight total but test scores in Science and math can be on the low side but improving in 2009.

Olympic Renaissance 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a student
I used to attend Cape Coral High School and then Waddell High School, i was the kind of student who just fell to the cracks. Bright, but unmotivated and tending to give up when faced with something i could not understand. However, in Renaissance my teachers have really helped me and given me the attention i need. For example, in waddell i was failing Algebra, here in Renaissance, Mr.Rubin has helped me raise my grade to a B and actually understand. I have As in all of my other classes as well. When i was at Waddell and Cape, I never spoke to the principal, now i talk to Mrs. sears all the time. Renaissance rocks!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Olympic Renaissance
4301 Sandy Porter Road, Charlotte, NC  28205
(980) 343-1107
Last modified Olympic Renaissance is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Olympic Renaissance Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top