Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Renaissance High School At Olympic

Public | 9-12 | 467 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2010

Strange school. The campus is shared by 4 other schools and it is supposed to be the drama and leadership school. It is the only one who has kept its principal which seems to be a rare achievement. The scores are way up but parent participation is terrible and student discipline is weak. Its a trade off but better than most.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

This school cannot get anymore. the teachers really care for there students and so does the principal!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

For a FOCUS school (mid level poverty) this school has made enormous gains. Led by a strong and compassionate principal (Ms. Melody Sears), the school has raised EOC scores in every subject and most recently posted 100% pass rates in Biology, US History and Civics/Economics in the fall of 2009. What I find more impressive is the amazing survey results by both students and teachers in the past CMS surveys. They posted the best school environmental results for any conventional high school in their school system. Clearly, this is a school on the upswing, with a friendly, accepting atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

My son attended OHS for 2 years before they split into 5 schools. It was a nightmare back then, but once they split into 5 schools and Ms. Sears became the principal of Renaissance, his motivation, morale, and grades improved tremendously. I've never known a principal who cared more about her students. My son said that there was 'positive' peer pressure among students (that acting out was frowned upon by both the majority of students as well as faculty), which made the environment pleasant for everyone. Now my daughter is a sophomore at Renaissance, and she speaks highly of many of her teachers. Her grades also reflect her enthusiasm. How many parents can say that both of their kids genuinely love their high school? Sadly, in CMS, not many.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

This school has the most amazing and dedicated teachers. However, the student body in general is unambitious and uninterested in their education. Classes are consistently disrupted by bad behavior and the teachers hands are tied with the CMS slap on the wrist style disciplinary guidelines. Kids who want to learn will always be held back by losing valuable instructional time because of the bad behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

9, My daughter attended this school, this school has the best principal who gets involved not only with the students but also the parents, now my younger wants to attend this school next year instead of S Meck
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

The principal, Ms. Sears, as well as the staff of this school are great! They treat the students with respect and give them creative freedom while still maintaining a safe and ruly environment. The students seem to love the staff and in turn the staff seems to love them back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

Very caring principal, numerous high quality teachers, low fight total but test scores in Science and math can be on the low side but improving in 2009.


Posted December 19, 2008

I used to attend Cape Coral High School and then Waddell High School, i was the kind of student who just fell to the cracks. Bright, but unmotivated and tending to give up when faced with something i could not understand. However, in Renaissance my teachers have really helped me and given me the attention i need. For example, in waddell i was failing Algebra, here in Renaissance, Mr.Rubin has helped me raise my grade to a B and actually understand. I have As in all of my other classes as well. When i was at Waddell and Cape, I never spoke to the principal, now i talk to Mrs. sears all the time. Renaissance rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

Renaissance was AMAZING! I am soo glad that we split into 5 smaller schools because before I hardly ever saw the principal, let alone talked to her, but when I started attending Renaissance I grew very fond of my principal Mrs. Sears. She made my junior and senior year so wonderful and I wouldn't trade my experience for anything.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

6 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

6 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

6 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

97 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students33%
Femalen/a
Male40%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities33%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Femalen/a
Male60%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities67%
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Students33%
Femalen/a
Male40%
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities33%
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
86%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

61 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

95 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
>95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students16%
Female20%
Male11%
Black9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students18%
Limited English proficiency-5%
Proficient in English18%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant16%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students38%
Female48%
Male23%
Black16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students54%
Female68%
Male34%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities25%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 52%
Black 33% 26%
Hispanic 22% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4301 Sandy Porter Road
Charlotte, NC 28273
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-1107

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT