Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elon Park Elementary

Public | K-5 | 1077 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2014

My first child was at Elon Park since the year it opened. We have had some of the best teachers who still reach out to our family years after we were in their class. The teachers do care. The administration has changed since the school opened but we have embraced the changes. Elon Park is a very big school and I feel the administration does a wonderful job in making it not seem crowded. As to the "new" Literacy programs and tests mentioned below, that is a CMS. change. Changes like that come down from state standards. Elon Park is not making these changes on a school level. Anyone who actually has a child in school, any school for that matter, would realize and understand this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2014

Elon Park is a very nice school by appearance only. All they care about are end of year test results for teacher raises etc They dont care about the children other than their test scores. Its like a military school and my daughter has zero fun in school anymore. Its so sad, they arent allowed to talk at lunch and her recess is at the end of the day (which her militant teacher is always late and the kids only get 10 mins). The homework is 2 hrs each night and she hasnt been able to do any extra activities after school this year. They dont allow the children to be children at all. Its sad to see the enthusiasm and joy stripped from my child. we are looking to move her next year. I have no kind words for the administration either
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2014

I pulled my child out of CMS magnet school due to lack of teacher concern and racial bias to turn to a school where it is more of the same. Unfortunately CMS as a whole has an issue with not teaching/ counselling educating teachers on racial bias and how it affects all children. And Ballantyne area schools are not getting a good reputation from other people of color. The teachers are hit or miss and that I get from parents of many ethnic groups. My son loved school and by 1st grade he began to hate it. And he loves learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Elon Park Elementary is an incredible school. The faculty and staff really care and do a wonderful job keeping the parents informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

We love Elon Park. The Teachers have been so wonderful and my daughter loves going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2012

This school may have good test scores, but it also has unhappy teachers. I know some of them personally and some admit they hate going to work. The leadership is very weak, some teachers are treated better than others, and cliques are everywhere. If this is the sort of environment our children are seeing, who knows what may rub off on them.


Posted March 25, 2012

I totally agree with previous reviewer on bullying. My son is in 5th grade and absolutely no help from teacher. One of the 5th grade teacher makes most of her decisions based on your race, skin color. We regret coming to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

This school shows the utmost insensitivity. In this cliquish environment, mothers who wish to volunteer are turned away if siblings are with them. Teachers are unaware or choose to ignore bullying (student scapegoating one child in the class - calling names and threatening if s/he tells). No response from "counselor" or principal when approached about this. New students have no where to turn for help with a transition (so crucial at this age). Teachers are insensitive and uncaring - giving "awards", then not taking the time explain how students can be successful. This school may turn a child who formerly loved school and spends her/his time writing books, and learning about history and current events, into someone who loathes school. When a child cries daily after school, something is wrong. The job of the teacher is to help students feel capable so that they in turn will be successful. Clearly not happening at Elon Park. Attempts to go to upper administration are futile. No permanent superintendent is in place to handle concerns or to supervise this principal, who clearly has no interest in the welfare of students. Next stop: school board. Doubtful they'll care.


Posted October 16, 2011

Overall this is a great school. Academically the level is very high and very strict regarding behavior. The school is a part of CMS and therefore some students may get lost in the beaurocratic large school district. As many schools in NC there are several rules regardless if they work for the kids or not school districts enforce them. Parents have to fight for for the services for their kids and continuously challenge school administration. Coming from Merrick NY I was very surprised at educational standards being so much higher but saw difference from more nurturing and kid friendly district in long Island NY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

I completed my student teaching experience at Elon Park and I absolutely enjoyed it. The administrative staffs were so cooperative and welcoming. Most of the teachers and support staffs that I got to know and worked with were warm and friendly. The best part of my experience was working with an extraordinary first grade teacher, whose love for her students, passion for teaching, unique ways of classroom management, creative lessons and etc. set nothing but good examples for me as a future teacher. I loved every single day that I was at Elon Park and hereby I thank the amazing staffs for giving me the opportunity to learn the best things.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 24, 2010

This is a great school with wonderful teachers and a great staff. I always see the principal. Maybe he read the comment before and started showing up more because he was at every ceremony and school activity. His concern for student safety is remarkable. A great principal and superb teachers and a friendly staff. I have no complaints about our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Great school! Teachers seem to enjoy the children and care for them. I have two boy who love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

We were pleased with my son's first year at Elon Park. Most of the teachers are very friendly and well educated. I was pleased with my son's academic progress and he had a wonderful kindergarten teacher. The principal, however, does not seem to be involved in much of anything concerning the students. He was not at any award ceremonies my family attended. He's not visible in the halls during the day or outside in the mornings and afternoons as students are coming and leaving. I was quite disappointed with the administration this year. I gave the school a high rating though because it is a good school with mostly wonderful teachers who seem to really care for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

Excellent 1st year at Elon Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
>95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
>95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female86%
Male83%
Black70%
Asian-95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students85%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
Black65%
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students82%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students85%
Female87%
Male82%
Black62%
Asian94%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students89%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students63%
Female65%
Male61%
Black52%
Asian74%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students66%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant63%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Black67%
Asian-95%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students64%
Female60%
Male67%
Black52%
Asian75%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted92%

Science

All Students70%
Female62%
Male77%
Black48%
Asian86%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students72%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 52%
Asian 21% 3%
Black 10% 26%
Hispanic 7% 14%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11425 Ardrey Kell Road
Charlotte, NC 28277
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-1440

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ballantyne Elementary
Charlotte, NC


Hawk Ridge Elementary
Charlotte, NC


Kids R Kids School
Charlotte, NC




Shining Stars Academy
Pineville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT