Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elon Park Elementary 3

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
School is getting better since vice principal from last year left. New vice principal this year is much better. She seems really upbeat, and treats the parents respectfully. The Principal is better this year with engaging parents. In the past we found him quick to want to defend staff, and not give parents and children the benefit of the doubt. Teachers still need some coaching, and need to work on their professionalism, and their interaction with a parent. Seems to my wife and I that the older more seasoned teachers are the problem. No enthusiasm, and "some" very unprofessional. The younger teachers are fantastic. They're very excited about teaching, and we love to see that in our teachers. The classroom assistants are a waste of money. Some of them think they're an extension of the teacher, and try and discipline students. We should do away with the classroom assistants, and get the teachers from behind the desk playing on their Ipads, and cellphones. Devices should have never been introduced, and our kids pay for it. Time to teach. We are spending 2-3hrs every evening having to do the actual teaching so that our children keep up. Ridiculous.

Elon Park Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The homework is consistent but not "busy work". Fundamentals like math and reading are stressed daily. I was pleased with the science and social studies projects as they can be time consuming for teachers, but the hands on learning was so beneficial to my children.


Elon Park Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
The teachers have classroom incentives for behavior and conduct, school wide character tea acknowledges select students for their good character monthly, and even fun "caught you doing good" teacher awards are opportunities the school creates for students to strive for the best.

Elon Park Elementary 4

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I have been very pleased with the principal, vp, administrative staff and counsellor as well as excellent, caring teachers. The school is large but they work hard to make it feel familiar and break it into smaller groups. I love the VP outside greeting the parents at carpool almost daily! Our old school admin would have never done that. I have a child that struggles and has been set for success partnering with both the teachers and counselor. There is a very strong PTO and great academic offerings. Talent and Development are wonderful and offer great enrichment for the academically gifted but are overstretched IMO. Sadly, I imagine this is true throughout CMS. The success of this school for my family has been the caring teachers and the staff response to my childrens' needs.

Elon Park Elementary 5

Posted February 05, 2015
- a parent
it is a great school with a principal that is strict, by the numbers and pretty matter of fact. i think that rubs some parents the wrong way, but the school's performance speaks for itself. The school has a very supportive front office and has a lot of great clubs (math, golf, computers, engineering, chess, disk golf, running, chorus, etc.) One of my son's has struggled and has gotten so much support. Love the school and believe it is preparing my 2 boys for middle school.


Elon Park Elementary 1

Posted November 09, 2014
- a parent
Hi I am one of the parent ..we faced bad situation...we are victims.Even though we did not get any support from principle . I hate the principle and assistance principle...instead of teaching good things to students they try to teach lies to students...not to get bad name to the school...I strogly support...don't send kids to this school...no safety at all..

Elon Park Elementary 5

Posted October 20, 2014
- a parent
It's all about parent involvement, and dicipline. It's a good school, and teaches kids to be organized from the beginning, yes they have plenty of homework, but if parents are involved, and kids organized they will have time to do extra curricular activities. " There is no elevator to success......they need to work hard, and take the stairs....."

Elon Park Elementary 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
I don't recommend this school . Almost 10 months back I have sent an email to the principal for an appointment but no response yet. Also went to the school and requested an appointment to discuss about my child ... But no response ... I hate their worst attitude...


Elon Park Elementary 5

Posted July 04, 2014
- a parent
Both my daughters started at Elon Park when it first opened and are now rising 7th and 6th graders. Elon Park has been an amazing foundation and I am thankful my rising 1rst grade son will get an amazing experience as well! Love Elon Park and couldn't have asked for a better elementary school for my children.

Elon Park Elementary 5

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
My first child was at Elon Park since the year it opened. We have had some of the best teachers who still reach out to our family years after we were in their class. The teachers do care. The administration has changed since the school opened but we have embraced the changes. Elon Park is a very big school and I feel the administration does a wonderful job in making it not seem crowded. As to the "new" Literacy programs and tests mentioned below, that is a CMS. change. Changes like that come down from state standards. Elon Park is not making these changes on a school level. Anyone who actually has a child in school, any school for that matter, would realize and understand this.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elon Park Elementary
11425 Ardrey Kell Road, Charlotte, NC  28277
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (980) 343-1440
Last modified Elon Park Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top