Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mallard Creek High

Public | 9-12 | 2246 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 22, 2013

Mallard Creek HS provides your child with the level of rigor that they need to grow from where they are at academically to where they need to be, and well beyond. My children have been identified for years as being gifted and have always sought to take the toughest classes available. We thought about Lake Norman Charter for a split second but due to the small size of the school I wasn t sure that they were going to be able to provide my children with the high level courses that parents are only able to get at their local school. The number of students that attend (MCHS) provide the administration with the student population to carve out the higher level AP Chemistry, AP Environmental Science, AP Geometry, etc that parents and students want. If you were to send your child to a smaller charter school these classes would not be available to them. Many parents think that they are doing their child a favor by sending them to a private school or charter school when in fact they may be removing access to the level of rigor that they need to be competitive at the University level. Signed Parent of 2 currently @ UNC Chapel Hill, 1 @ Mallard Creek HS and 1 @ Piedmont MS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

Mallard Creek is wonderful! My child is a freshman. The school has made sure they are welcoming. Teachers and freshman counselor is there to help guide both parents & student. Mr Crawford vice principal gets back the same day you called. Student support among the each other is impressive....Eileen Wolfe
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

My experience as the parent of a student at this school has been nothing but positive. The teachers have kept me informed on a regular basis, the guidance office has been helpful in supporting our needs for college admissions and the administation was quick to solve a problem we had to deal with on campus. I wish my daughter had been able to go hear all 4 years - big mistake on my part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

I love this school! The school has many challenging courses, the sports (mostly football) are great, the theatre department is very creative and has a lot of potential, there are many fun and interesting clubs, there aren't many cliques and the students are very nice and welcoming. This is my first year at Mallard Creek, and I am very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2011

I have had nothing but great experiences with the teachers and staff at this school. My child is involved heavily in many of the extra curriculars and is honestly teaching me things I never knew. The student body is very diverse and friendly and I never hear about any crime or problems at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

My child is very happy a the school, and I'm pleased with the progress she has made there too. She has opportunities to take so many AP cousres, even as a sophomore she has taken three just in this year. She is a rising junior taking 5 AP courses next year. Student involvement in clubs and academics is great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

When it comes to schools in North Charlotte, Mallard Creek is the best you're going to get. Effective administration and teaching staff make for a decent learning environment. Culturally, this school hasn't found its place yet, but I'd give that time. For just completing its third year, it's doing well. As is true with most CMS schools, you should forget about pursuing challenging, enriching coursework; you won't find it here. Don't like the sound of this? Try Cabarrus County or South Charlotte schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2010

Academics are pointless here, I easily pass all of my honors classes without ever having to participate or do work. This school really needs to step up it's game if it wants to improve it's reputation. I feel relatively safe here, but like any other high school, accidents are bound to happen. The performing arts here are pretty good, but the theatre department has been going downhill due to a recent staffing change. I'm quite happy that I'll be transferring out next year. But on the positive note, most students are really friendly and there are very few cliques here. You won't have a hard time making friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

Mallard creek high is the best school in the entire country! Our teachers always make sure we are doing our best and if we arnt they push us to make sure we do our best. I have only been at mallard creek for one year but i would never want to go to a different one. MALLARD CREEK ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

I love the energy and the commitment of the Science Department to engage and challenge the students. Woo Hoo! Go for it, Mr. and Mrs. Rines! You are making a difference in young lives every day!


Posted July 14, 2009

The 2009 test scores do not impress me with this high school. It is the home school for my children. Two good aspects of the school are the location and safety, thus far. I hope the scores improve in the coming year, otherwise, I would be concerned about my children attending this school.


Posted July 12, 2009

Attending Mallard Creek High School has been an experience. Mallard Creek is really strict. I find that their main focus is on rules and behavior rather than education and academics. The only things I really like about the school is the location, other than that I would not reccomend this school at all. The 70 % grading process really brings down students grades and sometimes it can be impossible to retake any tests. Like I said before....I would not reccomend this high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2008

Mallard Creek High School is full of great opportunity. It's a very safe environment, but I find it overly strict. Here we have the freedom of middle schoolers rather than high school students. We even have to have an escort with us to go to the bathroom. We only have 5 minutes to get to classes, which is not always enough time to do all the things they say we should do during this time (ie. go to our lockers, use the bathroom). The retesting policy is a pain. Although I appreciate the fact that we can even retake tests, going to a tutoring session is required, which isn't always much help. These tutoring sessions can sometimes interfere with each other (happening at the same time), making some retests impossible. However, I think Mallard Creek has much potential and can improve over time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

Mallard Creek High School has quality teachers and a commited administration. In this crucial first year, the students and faculty have done a good job blending the student bodies from two different high schools. I disagree with the school's grading policy requires that 70% of all report card grades be based on test grades. The result is an over-emphasis on testing without an appropriate emphasis on learning and true application. Hard-working students who happen to be lousy test takers (even if they do their homework, study very hard, go to tutoring and retake failed tests) are at an extreme disadvantage. The 70% rule favors students who may be slackers at doing homework but happen to be lucky at taking tests. Mallard Creek's overemphasis on tests rather than true learning is the school's biggest weakness. You can't just weigh the horse--you have to feed it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2011.

526 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
78%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 82% in 2011.

410 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

597 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%
Civics and Economics

The state average for Civics and Economics was 80% in 2011.

561 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%
English I

The state average for English I was 83% in 2012.

525 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
86%
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

593 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%
Physical Science

The state average for Physical Science was 77% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
United States History

The state average for United States History was 82% in 2011.

487 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students21%
Female20%
Male22%
Black18%
Asian42%
Hispanic19%
Multiracial18%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students24%
Limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English22%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant21%
Academically giftedn/a

Biology

All Students48%
Female47%
Male49%
Black35%
Asian87%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial65%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities11%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Students53%
Female55%
Male51%
Black43%
Asian75%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial57%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 61% 26%
White 22% 52%
Hispanic 8% 14%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 3% 4%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nancy R. Brightwell
Fax number
  • (980) 343-1342

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3825 Johnston Oehler Road
Charlotte, NC 28269
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-1341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




North Mecklenburg High
Huntersville, NC



Zebulon B Vance High
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT