Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Croft Community Elementary 5

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
My daughter has loved Croft and her teachers during the 3 years she's been there.

Croft Community Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
We have had wonderful experiences with all the teachers at Croft. They are like a strong family who work together very well.


Croft Community Elementary 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Croft is simply a fantastic school. The teachers are so loving and challenge our children to excel! One of our children has a learning disability and the teachers at Croft have worked with her to the point that it is barely noticeable anymore. I would highly recommend Croft to anyone who is thinking about sending their kids there.

Croft Community Elementary 5

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
This school and staff have been a godsend! My child is dyslexic and I was a little worried about enrolling him in public school after relocating to the area last year. Mrs. Wilson and croft teachers have done everything possible to make sure my child has what he need to be successful in the class room, this includes introducing technology when possible. He made honor roll 2x last year and has not made more than 1 C on his report card. They truly care about the whole child. I know CMS has had a bad reputation but this school and its staff is one of the good ones!

Croft Community Elementary 5

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is finishing Kindergarten at Croft and we have been very happy with the school. The teachers and staff are great, the Principal really seems to be on top of things including parent communications, and our daughter loves going to school and the after school program everyday. Overall, when you enter the school, there is just a great vibe- students, teachers, and staff all seem happy to be there and that is so vital to establishing a great learning environment. At family-oriented events you feel part of a very friendly community. We couldn't be happier and feel very lucky that our children have the opportunity to be a part of Croft Community School. (Now can Great Schools stop calling it Hucks and start calling it Croft? :) )


Croft Community Elementary 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Our son is currently in kindergarten at Croft and we couldn't be happier. Outstanding faculty and administration team. Thank you!!

Croft Community Elementary 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a community member
Its okay, you were one of my favorite teachers! Its the love hate relationship I have with school. I missed you guys too!

Croft Community Elementary 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a teacher
I'm so sorry you were unhappy because you seemed to enjoy your last year here. I wish you had talked to me about it and I would have done what I could to help make things better. We missed you when you moved away.


Croft Community Elementary 4

Posted September 28, 2012
- a parent
I have twins that go to Croft and have since it opened. This is their last year there and then it's off to middle school. I think on a whole Croft does a great job. It excels in parent communication, parent involvement, support of new teachers (although most are/seem experienced), and good administration. The PTA is actively involved which I think always raises the morale of a school, not to mention the extra perks it can provide. However, obviously, like many schools, tests scores are not where they should be(which has lead to Great Shools "6" rating). I think this is a district wide concern and the one area where Croft could improve, although I'm not sure how. I see the work my children do and the homework they come home with and their test scores (luckily) have been in the upper 80th percentile to mid 90th percentile, so it is not an endemic problem, but one of reaching ALL the students and meeting ALL the students needs. An ongoing educational debate exists as to the best way to do this. I just hate to see Croft get a 6 from Great Schools when to me it feels like an 8 (at least). A lot of times you get out what you put in.

Croft Community Elementary 1

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
First of all I gave my daughter's third grade teacher a written request for ADD testing because I have been told every year, "She should be making straight A's." The request was never granted. I was recently told by another teacher that they have 90 days to perform the testing. Her 4th grade teacher took $40 worth of silly bands away, wouldn't return them to me and conveniently lost them before the year was over. It seemed my child was the only one that wasn't allowed to have them because every time I was there most of the kids were wearing them, but my daughter was told if they were seen on her arm they would be taken away. This year I volunteered to chaperone a trip, and the principle told me she would get back to me "in a few days" about driving my own vehicle as I get VERY motion sick on a bus...that was weeks ago and I have heard nothing. I have been very unsatisfied with this school and the CMS school system as a whole. If we don't get into a charter school next year I will get a second job to pay for a private school! Also, I have volunteered my time to this school many times. I'm not sure what you have to do to be one of the chosen parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Croft Community Elementary
4911 Hucks Rd, Charlotte, NC  28269
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (980) 343-0370
Last modified Croft Community Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top