Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Berewick Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 673 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

The scores on the 2013 EOGs are low at all schools because of the new common core standards. Berewick is an awesome school with a great administration and excellent teachers. We had the opportunity to send our child elsewhere and did not! This school is awesome. Btw I am a parent, you can call me at 704 564-0012 to confirm :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2014

My boy loves his school, great teachers! The school grounds are beautiful with lots of play areas and an patio for outside lunch with vistors. The PTA works hard to invole everyone with great fundraisers and a wonderful carnival. It's great to have a neighborhood school with great kids and parents. Thanks to all the teachers for all they do! Thank You! Katie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

40%, 50%, 60%....I think I saw an 80%....LOOK AT THEIR SCORES!!! THEY TELL YOU EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW! IF THEIR SCHOOL SCORES ARE 40% ITS TELLS YOU ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW! You will be better off putting your child elsewhere. Those scores are a reflection of the administration, staff, & teachers. and, It's sad because the school is only 5 yrs old. I am highly disappointed so far. We will be moving to Indian Trail for the upcoming school year. and don't be fooled by the "positive" reviews that are placed on here after someone tells the truth. It's Just the staff trying to CYA. They ARENT real. Pay attention to the honesty parents leave on these sites or you will find out at the expense of you child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2014

This school doesn't even deserve a half a star. i had heard rumors of this school being terrible, but i didn't believe it based on the fact that it was a new area and new school. i was WRONG!!!! From the Zone Superintendent, to teachers, to principal. THEY ARE ALL TERRIBLE. I wouldn't trust them with anything, especially a child's valuable education. Its a TITLE 1 school, which means less than standard. DON'T BE FOOLED BY THE CONSTRUCTION AROUND IT, RUN!!!!!!!! And, according to other members of the community, the middle school, & Olympia High School are not Much Better. Its a reason that the rating above it 4 out of 10. Don't chance it, go to Ballantyne, Fort Mill, or Indian Trial is you want your kids to have a good education. dealing with CMS is NOT WORTH IT! Submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2013

Berewick staff does a great job. The County is a terrible commie nightmare. The promised facilities (ball fields etc) were never built. The charmeck superintendents are building new schools while others sit vacant. Apparently going to add trailers to Berewick (which is already a shared facility with a county park). The commie control focuses on _ BEHAVIOR CONTROL _ rather than education. E.g. the kids are not allowed to talk the first 15 of lunch and are trained to be informants on each other. Its quite amazing; but, I believe, is typical throughout CharMeck. Scary to be honest. Fortunately, a good teacher can more than make up for the NEARLY "FAIL" GRADE the COUNTY ADMINISTRATION earns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

Its a pretty good school. Probably one of the best in Charlotte with respect to having world cultures represented. The Kindergarten is a loooong 7 hour day (but that's the county-wide standard) with only 15 minutes of recess typically. My kid can already read Biscuit books and other such sight and sounding word books after two months in school; but, she was already well on her way having been in a SUPERB pre-K at Good Shepherd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

I am a parent of two children at this school. The staff are very friendly and my daughters are achieving well in their studies/EOGs. It's a shame that they haven't updated their stats on this site as we found out that we were by far the minorities being caucasian when we moved to this area. My oldest is the only one in her class. We're open to multiculturalism but it made it difficult for them to adjust and make friends in this new school. It's a beautiful school, teachers and admin are caring however we will be most likely changing next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2012

I am a parent of a Berewick graduate and I am looking forward to my daughter starting Kindergarten next year! The fifth grade team is great, and I feel that they really prepared my son for middle school. The block system that BWK implemented last school year really gave the kids a feel for how middle school works! BWK also has strong PTA and support staff, and parents enjoy being involved with the school. Very good experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

We just love this school the principal and teachers. Our children have done extremely well with the teachers they have. I love the fact that they look at the strengths of students and enable them to reach higher to meet and exceed their goals. The neighborhood feel of the school is superb and it is so great knowing that our children are in really good hands at the school. I am so surprised the school didn't get a higher rating because I am from the North and was very nervous to send my children to CMS but this school is even better than most of the ones up there. Keep up the good work we couldn't be happier and neither could our girls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

The motto of Berewick Elementary should be "by the people and for the children". The people of Berewick, Steele Creek and neighboring communities fought very hard during tough economic times to ensure this school was built. The school is in its third year. Principal Cheryl Turner is known throughout the CMS System as a creator of strong schools with good academic results. The school has an impressive PTA and a newly created SLT. The beauty of the school is the diverse student body. As you walk the halls you see the focus of the school is to shape intelligent and socially responsible citizens of the world! As a parent who is secretly very Type A, I searched many schools in Charlotte, Berewick offered everything I was looking for, for my children. I knew that the diversity would teach my children how to be a citizen of a multicultural world and succeed in Real Life. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2012

Fantastic school with intelligent caring teachers. Lots of opportunities for enrichment and various clubs. My daughter attends Berewick and we are very happy with our neighborhood school which provides a very safe learning environment. Whenever I visit the school, I always see parents from our neighborhood volunteering or just having lunch with their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

I was really surprised to see that Berewick only received a 5 out of 10. This is only the third year the school has been open, and my daughter has been in the school all three years. We have had three great teachers so far, and have nothing but good things to say about the school and staff all of the way up to the Principal. I look forward to having my other two children attend this school as I know they will have a great eduction in a fun and safe environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students49%
Female53%
Male46%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiency47%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students39%
Female58%
Male27%
Black29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students40%
Limited English proficiency40%
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students49%
Female44%
Male53%
Black41%
Asian73%
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female44%
Male40%
Black33%
Asian64%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities9%
Non-disabled students45%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female49%
Male39%
Black37%
Asian60%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students34%
Female35%
Male33%
Black26%
Asian60%
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students44%
Female38%
Male48%
Black43%
Asian60%
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 44% 26%
Hispanic 22% 14%
White 22% 52%
Asian 9% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5910 Dixie River Road
Charlotte, NC 28278
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 344-1010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Berryhill School
Charlotte, NC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT