Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
3 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


River Gate Elementary 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
We have truly loved this school. Of course, no school is perfect, but overall we have been so pleased to have our children enrolled at River Gate! Ms. Odom, the principal is AMAZING! I have no doubt, she is a HUGE reason this school functions as well as it does! She cares about each and every student, and really listens to the parents. The staff emphasizes the importance of not only academics, but also character! The school has tons of specials offered (music, Spanish, technology, art, PE, and more)! The student population is diverse, which you wont get in FM. At the end of the day, for this CMS school we are glad we've been a part of it! I just wish the Middle & High School would be able to follow suit!

River Gate Elementary
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Honestly, I would love to thank all of the staff, teachers, etc. But those who have really gone above and beyond for my family this year have been - Ms. Odom, Ms. Mole & Ms. Adams! They have really shaped my children and I've super grateful for them!


River Gate Elementary
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I think the amount of homework is perfectly fair! They are mindful that the students have things to do after school, but still send home appropriate work that is not just busy work!

River Gate Elementary
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I think the teachers could be more firm. There are many students who are not respectful... which i think ultimately is a parental problem. But it doesnt seem fair that the students who are disrespectful end up getting a consequence for the entire class. It's not ok that the kids who are listening, obeying and being respectful have to be punished too!

River Gate Elementary
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
They put a huge emphasis on the Rivergate Gator Awards. These are given to students for good citizenship. They make a big deal of the ceremony and make the children feel special! They also have the Principals Pass, for making good decisions and having good character. It includes the student being recognized over the intercom during announcements, a special prize and even a call home to tell the parents how proud the school is!


River Gate Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
We were already 1/4 of the way into the school year. My daughter was having an incredibly hard time adjusting to the class that she had been assigned. We discussed this with the teacher and principal. The principal agreed to move her to another class, seeing as this would be in my daughter's best interest. That change made the biggest difference to my daughter, and also to me. RIvergate puts fairness to it's students as a priority!

River Gate Elementary 5

Posted July 31, 2011
- a parent
My children have been at River Gate since it opened, and they have had a wonderful experience with caring teachers and excellent leadership. The school is new, safe, clean, and focuses strongly on making thoughtful and consistent use of the techonology availble. This technology consists of data projectors and classroom computers in every room. Some classrooms have SMARTboards as well. Students at River Gate receive a quality education that focuses on building character and attaining real-world problem solving skills to prepare them for their future careers.

River Gate Elementary 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
This is a fairly new school. My children attended River Gate for the two years that it has been open. We have enjoyed being a part of the River Gate family! My children's teachers were the best they have had. Ms. Canzoneri, the guidance counselor at River Gate Elementary, was a God-send in helping my child who required special guidance. She went above and beyond. This school is great because of the teachers, the quality of education, and wonderful parent involvement. It will be very interesting to see how much greater the school can become now that a new principal is joining River Gate!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

River Gate Elementary
15340 Smith Rd, Charlotte, NC  28273
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (980) 344-1000
Last modified River Gate Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top